We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy, homely cottage has everything what you need”
other travelers have booked this property
Cottage from across the Loch
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage from across the Loch
Frontage of the cottage with parking along the side Main room from the kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
36 reviews
Cottage from across the Loch
Frontage of the cottage with parking along the side
Main room from the kitchen
Comfortable chairs in main room
Comfortable sofa in main room, perfect for reading
We have a fully fitted kitchen
Fully fitted kitchen with electric oven and hob
Double bedroom at the front
Three beds to the back bedroom
View across the bay to the cottage
All aboard the Hogwarts Express from Fort William to Malaig
BenNevis from the Hogwarts Express
Neptune's staircase a series of canal locks
View of the bay from the same side of the cottage
The famous Glen Coe is nearby
Aonach Mor gondolas lead to the Nevis ski range
Loch Ness from Urquhart Castle
Water fall in GlenCoe
Black Rock Cottage Glen Coe
Castle Stalker, Appin
Duror Cycle Track
Cuil Bay
Rannock Moor
Bishops Bay, Ballachulish
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Glencoe Village, Glencoe, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Desiree07...
Dinslaken, Germany
1 review
“Cosy, homely cottage has everything what you need”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

It was a wonderful stay in the cosy cottage with the view of a beuatiful bay. Every morning I woke up, opening the window before the bed in the sleepingroom and looking out on the bay. The street before the house do not disturb. It is noch loud becouse it is not so much traffic. And you can get in the house from the backside. In the cottage is really everything what you need. It is clean and homely. The serrounding area is really fantastic!! Glen Coe is close. You can have wonderful enjoyalble walks in all directions. It is just a half hour by car to get to Fort William, wich has nice localities to eat and drink. I would love it to come back soon.

Thank you very much for a great time.

Desiree

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianeluke
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for 3 nights with my friend and our 3 kids, beautiful little cottage, the trip advisor pictures do not do it justice. Everything you need inside, Enough room for our 3 boys to run about wild. Main busy fast road at front but back garden secure 2 of our kids are under five so common sense to not let them out the front on their own i was concerned after reading it was in a main road but the main road was not an issue when we arrived as we came and went from the back door, back garden lead to a lovely walk, the cottage is surrounded by beautiful scenery the mountains behind the cottage have waterfalls, beautiful sights. The cottage is a ten minute drive from glencoe village good location. I was very happy with our stay good value for money and I'll defo go back to this cottage. No signal on ee when at the cottage, vodaphone had a sif all,however there was free wifi enabling us to use other methods to contact friends and family.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming, cosy and well equipped cottage in pleasant location”
Reviewed October 14, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Cottage is located in quiet but pleasant location looking out on Loch Linnhe and well placed for exploring the Western Highlands.
Accommodation is comfortable ,well equipped and adequately heated (for those considering a winter stay). The only slight reservation is that the decor and furniture whilst in good condition might be viewed as a a little dated by some (or charming by others).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm and cosy
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackfitti...
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice cottage....shame about location”
Reviewed September 15, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This is a very nice cottage...well equipped for cooking. Bedrooms fine, clean and tidy.
I would not stay here again due to the location...it is bang on the very busy A82...with the majority of ythe cars breaking the speed limit...the cottage is just beyond the bend ...so there is difficulty getting out.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susan f
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely charming”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This holiday cottage is absolutely charming and lovely. Cosy, with a beautiful view from every window, and incredibly well equipped. It is also in a great location for exploring the west highlands. We were very sad to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely feel to the cottage
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabetha T
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Homely Cottage in Beautiful Surroundings”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We had a wonderful stay in this very sweet and homely cottage. The cottage is fully equipped with everything you need for a stay away and has beautiful views overlooking the loch. There is a main road which passes in front of the cottage but it's silent at night and busier in the day.

It's well connected to the surrounding areas, turn left to reach Glencoe and left to Oban where there are charming white sandy beaches. We climbed a mountain, hired bikes and went cycling down Fairies Foad, saw a wonderful waterfall, went on the Harry Potter railway, found a deserted castle surrounded by water and the most westerly point, plus a ride up to the Ben Nevis range in the Gondolas. We were very lucky with the weather and had sunshine most of the week. A perfect place for escapism. This is a great place for young and old, we're only in our twenties but could fully appreciate the beauty of the landscape and all it had to offer as an escape from a very hectic London life.

Thanks for having us stay Scotland.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
d4v3g
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A warm, comfortable, well-equipped base from which to explore the region.”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Context:
We're a South African family of 4 on a tight budget (everything here s twice as expensive as it is back home) and were looking for a comfortable, reasonably priced self-catering cottage to base ourselves at while we explored Loch Ness, Ben Nevis and the surrounding areas.

Getting there:
We were driving a hired car and brought a GPS with us, so followed the GPS to a lat/long I’d got off Google Maps. The place is easy to overshoot in the dark.

Cost:
We paid about 180 pounds for 5 nights, which we believe was very reasonable.
Bear in mind it was 'off-season'.

Value:
Good value in our opinion.

What sort of place was it:
The cottage appears to be kitted out as a holiday home, so has pretty much everything you need for a short stay; comfy beds, central heating, stove, oven, microwave, washing machine, tumble dryer, cutlery, crockery, clothes horse, satellite TV. Double bed in one room, bunk beds in the other. The only thing we battled with was getting a decent mobile data signal from EE. Placing our MiFi at the upstairs bedroom window resulted in weak and erratic connectivity. If you’re “getting away from it all” this will be a non-issue; if you’re tourists wanting to research outings, it can be a bit frustrating. Closer to Fort William the signal improved.

How long were we there?:
5 nights.

Would we go back?:
If we wanted to be located in that area, most definitely yes, but if we came back to Scotland the chances are we’d be exploring parts we did not see this time.

Pros:
Comfy, warm, well equipped, reasonable priced, quiet (despite being on a fairly busy road between Oban and Fort William). Our breakage deposit was paid back promptly but to a PayPal account, which may or may not be an issue for you.

Cons:
No broadband and tenuous mobile data signal. The stairs may be a bit steep for older folk.

Tips:
Don’t trust TripAdvisor map references - we were led to believe Castle Stalker (of Monty Python fame) was only a mile away when it was 10!) - rare tours of the privately owned Castle have to be booked well in advance. Urquhart Castle we found well worth the visit (there’s an entry fee). For 50 pounds or so you can get a good 4 hours fishing on Loch Ness if you plan in advance. Old Inverlochy Castle is free to visit and worth a photo opportunity. The National Ice Climbing centre seems to have some good walks. The ski lift at Ben Nevis closes down for maintenance November/December, so check before you visit. December is too early for snow it seems, but way early enough for heavy rain!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: warm, comfy, well-equipped.
Liked least: lack of internet
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing