We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique Little Gem!”
Review of The Glencoe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Glencoe Inn
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Unique Little Gem!”
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Stayed for two nights over a very busy Valentines weekend. Room was a great size with stunning views of Loch Leven. Yes, as others have said, bathrooms are a bit dated but clean and functional.
The bar and restaurant area are really nice, food is lovely, though there was a bit of a shortage of a number of items. Although it was disappointing I took it to mean that food was fresh and not kept in a freezer ready to defrost when guests ordered.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, cheery and welcoming. My daughter and her family who were non-residents were able to come in with their dog which was great!
Breakfast is served fron 8-9. The only downside to this is that the beds are so comfortable that you don't want to get up to go down for it!
All in all a great weekend away.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    199
    98
    67
    50
See reviews for
120
344
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fraserburgh, Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Stayed for the Hogmany break. This is a small hotel that gives out a homely atmosphere from both staff and management. The food was excellent and we have paid a lot more for a lot less both in quality and service. The rooms as said elsewhere are adequate but not particularly spacious. We had a good nights sleep in our three nights stay here with a hearty breakfast to follow. The management provided entertainment over the period and it was really up to the customer/guest as to how much they wanted to participate in these activities. The bar was reasonably stocked with a favourable choice of popular beers/lagers and spirits and of course wines of your choice. We met in with some very nice people from Luton who were also on the same package/break and others also that really made the difference to our overall enjoyment of our short stay. Agree as said in other appraisals with regard to not getting what was advertised by the way of fireworks but really this didn't dampen our overall experience of the Glencoe Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kinfatric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMattheglencoehotel, General Manager at The Glencoe Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent break with us I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. I have passed on your kind words to the rest of the team and look forward to welcoming you back to see in 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

we booked the hogmanay package and had a great time. We were lucky and got a family room with a great view of the loch, very clean and spacious. The food was great and the staff very friendly. We felt it was great value although my only niggle was that there were no fireworks at hogmanay as had been advertised, but hoping to rebook next year and might pack a few sparklers!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottishlassx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMattheglencoehotel, General Manager at The Glencoe Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent break with us I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. I have passed on your kind words to the rest of the team and look forward to welcoming you back to see in 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Starting positively - during the festive season there was a nice energy about this hotel and staff seemed to work hard to ensure guests were comfortable and 'happy'. I could not fault staff other than there was a fairly long wait for breakfast - although staff did apologise for this.
My issues were really with the room - a double room, that was clean and tidy but terribly small. I don't expect to spend lots of time in a hotel room, but when I am in it I do like to be able to move around - and be able to sit on a chair - just to relax and unwind a little.
The shower room / toilet was also tiny and in much need of an update - the pink sink and loo are very tired and the pine toilet seat was not fitted securely and often wobbled.
I would recommend a stay here to folk just don't have expectations of grandeur or luxury - expect a basic but nonetheless friendly stay and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinyscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMattheglencoehotel, General Manager at The Glencoe Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your break with us over the festive period. I'm sorry that you were disappointed with your room. Had you let us know on check in that you would have preferred a larger room then we would have tried to accommodate your requests. The bathrooms were not part of the initial refurbishment; however we are currently looking into a programme of refurbishment for them over the coming months. I am glad, however that you were impressed with the attitude and work ethic of the staff - I have passed on your comments to them. On your next visit, we will ensure that you are accommodated in a larger room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2010

As previously stated, the internet website for this Hotel is totally misleading. The pictures displayed in the gallery paint a picture of an idyllic, warm and comfortable hotel. In actual fact, the hotel is crumbling, cold and damp, and is situated right on the edge of a busy main road. The attempt to hide the musty smell through the hotel, through the use of little bags of lavendar, did not work. Although admittedly the rooms appeared clean and fairly spacious, the bathrooms left a lot to be desired. They are in desperate need of renovation, as they are cold and shabby. This was supposed to be a special weekend for us, as we had taken two friends, who were visiting from France, with us. However, it was, infact, a massive disappointment, especially when we awoke to no heating, no hot water, and were forced to leave!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdgl15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMattheglencoehotel, General Manager at The Glencoe Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, I'm sorry that you feel that you were disappointed with your stay. On the dates of your stay, as you state, we did not have any heating or hot water, this was due to a problem with our boiler. We did try all that we could to make your stay more comfortable for you; however you decided to check out early. The bathrooms were not part of the initial refurbishment however we are currently looking into a refurbishment programme for them. Once again I would like to apologise for the problems you incurred during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glencoe Village hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We had a lovely relaxing time here, the food was great and the staff very friendly and accomodating. We were on the Summer Sunshine deal which included DBB with wine for two people for two nights, great value for money. The hotel was exactly what we were looking for - comfortable and cozy - and I liked the style and colour scheme of the refurbished bedrooms (we were in 101 with a great view of the loch). We found all arears of the hotel immaculately clean and the decor and colour in keeping with the welcoming ambience, especially in the bar/lounge area where the fireplace was a great feature, especially when it was lit and the views from the restaurant were at any time, but especially in the evening, just stunning. Will definately be back and looking forward to it. It would be hard for anywhere to beat this location with both hill and woodland walks on the doorstep. Big thanks to all the staff for making our much needed break all the more enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forrestwalker27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMattheglencoehotel, General Manager at The Glencoe Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2011
Thank your for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Glencoe Hotel. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and that the break away was just what you were looking for. I have passed on your kind words to the rest of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lothian
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Stayed through Crerar Summer Sunshine Deal and it certainly lived up to being an excellent value break. Hotel was a nice cosy place to sit in the evening, with a good atmosphere. Staff were all attentive giving great service with a smile and the food was amazing, especially the mussels. Breakfast was superb with a great choice and without any supplements. Four in our party and all had something different. Cannot believe we got all this for what we paid. Rooms were adequate and warm with everything needed however the bathroom though functional could do with an upgrade. This would not deter us from coming back and hopefully we can get back for a return visit in the not to distant future!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenlark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMattheglencoehotel, General Manager at The Glencoe Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2010
Thank your for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Glencoe Hotel. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us. I note that you mention that the bathrooms need some attention, unfortunatly they were not part of the initial refurbishment however we are looking into a replacement programme in the near future. I have passed on your kind words to the chefs and the rest of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencoe Village
23.0 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,768 reviews
3.2 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,197 reviews
0.9 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
5.2 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glencoe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glencoe Inn

Property: The Glencoe Inn
Address: Glencoe Village Tyndrum Road | West Highlands, Glencoe Village PH49 4HP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Glencoe Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Glencoe Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glencoe Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Glencoe Village, this traditional highland hotel offers informal and friendly hospitality where nothing is too much trouble. We serve delicious homemade local food all day. There is an excellent atmosphere in our well stocked bar each evening. There is a great choice of family, twin and double bedded rooms available - many with stunning loch views. A friendly welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Glencoe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glencoe Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing