We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Return to the Glencoe Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Glencoe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Glencoe Inn
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Return to the Glencoe Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

After our first visit to the Glencoe Inn in 2012 i was offered a reduced rate for a three night stay for a mis-hap involving a member of staff who has now gone from the hotel, this was dealt with properly and efficiently by the management. i would just like to say that the offer to come back was greatly appreciated and i visited again with my brother in August this year(2013). the Glencoe Inn staff are very friendly and welcoming. our stay there was very pleasant and i would reccomend anyone visiting the area to call in there even if its just for a bite to eat or a drink at the Gathering next door. i would like to say thankyou on behalf of myself and my brother for the time we had this year and will be returning again in 2014.

Room Tip: the more you pay the better you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDayGM, General Manager at The Glencoe Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you Nick for your kind comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and food, it was a pleasure to have you back. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Kind regards, Michael Forster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    189
    94
    60
    46
See reviews for
107
331
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West calder
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just spent a 2 night stay at the Glencoe Inn on an Easy Breaks package bed, breakfast and evening meal, as other reviewers noted, the hotel has been taken over by the Crerar Hotel group and it looks like they are slowly making an effort to upgrade the rooms. Downstairs is fine and the staff very friendly, we ate in the hotel restaurant, the food was very good, the service also good, evening meals and breakfast (as much as you want). the only downside was the bathroom which had a drain type smell (room 104 at the front) the fix was to leave the bath plug in when the bath/shower was not in use, the smell then disappeared. The room and bedding very clean but the dressing table top had bad water type stains. Our friends were in room 103 which was a bit on the small side.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have traffic noise from the main road, but noise dies down after 10-00 pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDayGM, General Manager at The Glencoe Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are, as you noticed, working our way through a process of improvements throughout the Inn. I will pass on your compliments to our chef and restaurant team, they are a new team brought on as part of the expansion and upgrades and your feedback will be appreciated. I have since had someone out to look at the bathroom and the smell you mentioned. We believe we have found and fixed the issue and this will no longer cause future guests any issues. The desks in all the rooms have since been replaced and we are working our way throughout the Inn looking at improving furniture in all rooms.
Hopefully we will see you again in the future and you can experience the results of the on-going improvements
Kind regards,
Michael Forster,
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Was a one night stop over before going to Fort William for the train ride to Mallaig. Was made most welcome. Advised to eat in the restaurant as it was quieter than next door. We were celebrating a friend's 60th. We were given a lovely table and meal and service were excellent, they couldn't do enough for us. Our rooms were clean but very small compared to some hotels we stay in, but for 1 night it was okay. The cost of our overnight stay was expensive as it was the only hotel that had some rooms left last minute. Another couple had booked through another company and were there for 4 nights half board and paid the same. To finish, meal and short stay fine especially if you can get a deal.

Room Tip: Wouldn't pay the price we paid for this overnight stay but if a deal is on then a good base for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz300154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDayGM, General Manager at The Glencoe Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed our food and service and we helped make an occasion special for you. We are an historic building and our rooms do differ in size; some are large with views over the water, however unfortunately some are smaller. I am glad however you noticed our cleanliness of the rooms, it’s something we are very proud of.
We offer many deals in advance to allow customers a chance to make a saving if they book early, and would always recommend they do. When we are down to a few days before we then charge the full price amount as the demand outstrips the supply. This is why some guests during your stay were paying a smaller amount to stay. Hopefully if you find yourselves back in Scotland then you can let us know in advance and we can ensure a good deal for your return trip.
Kind regards,
Michael Forster,
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had the privilege of staying at the Glencoe Inn last year and wrote a very true and complimentary review.
We were travelling back home from Aviemore and decided that it might be nice to re-acquaint ourselves with the restaurant.
A member of staff came towards us (ringing his hands), we were under the impression he was a waiter. When we enquired about the availability of a table for two in the restaurant, we were informed that the restaurant would be open at 6.00 pm and that it was just for "Fine Dining". He, we did not know he was as he had not introduced himself, pointed towards the dining room which was the breakfast room and in no way ambient to "Fine Dining".
The hired help then went on to insult us by telling us of the Bar Meals available next door at the Highlander. We were disgusted that he thought we were not good enough to eat in his establishment.
We had intended booking a room for the night as we had enjoyed our previous stay so much, but in the light of this one person's attitude we left, upset and humiliated.
We will definitely NOT visit this hostelry again - ever.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caledi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDayGM, Manager at The Glencoe Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. I wish to apologise on behalf of my team member who has left you unwilling to return. I feel there was some very poor communication on behalf of my employee. Since your last visit we have started a program of improvements. This has included removing all bar meals and casual dining from the Inn and building a large bar and dining area next door. This has allowed us to form a new team of chefs to produce a fine dining menu within the Inn, while our current chefs focus on our relaxed seafood and grill menu next door. We have many repeat customers who arrive throughout the day looking for the old menu. They are then informed of the changes and offered the choice of restaurants. The fine dining is limited to evenings where as our new restaurant The Gathering, is open all day. Most head across to the Gathering as it provides the relaxed atmosphere they had remembered.
The way this was communicated to you was not in fitting with our standards and in no way did it meet our expectations in regards to providing a warm welcome. For this I sincerely apologise, the staff member in no way meant to offend you in the offering of the bar menu and he passes on his apologises. The floor staff have all received top up training on communication and body language to ensure this situation does not repeat itself.
I hope that this unfortunate incident does not put you off from returning, your previous visit left you with fond memories and I am sure we can help create a few more in the future.
Kind regards,
Michael Forster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

First the bad stuff. As some other reviewers have noted - Crerar need to manage this hotel properly. We were encouraged to have our evening meal at the adjoining Gathering even though there were some bookings available in the restaurant. When we arrived back at the bar later that evening the same staff member was working at check in desk, as the only bar tender and also as one of two waiting staff in the hotel restaurant.

We had breakfast on 2 mornings, on morning 1 staff were very helpful and service was a little slow. On morning 2, different staff, surley, no verbal communication ability, we were sat at an uncleared table, had to get our own cutlery. 2 other tables got their hot food before ours.

We had a double room for 2 adults & 2 children which waws bright, plenty of windows to open in the rare summer sunshine on some of the hottest days. We have no complaints about our room, I cant remember the room number.

Apart from one morning, I found the staff to be helpful and friendly. We werent in a rush so delays didnt bother us apart from morning 2 at breakfast.

Very nice spot to have a drink outside. The hotel could apply some of the level of service in the Gathering restaurant to the main hotel. Relaxed & quirky might describe the Glencoe Inn if you dont expect super speedy service.

Top marks for the Gathering, hotel needs improvement but I would return - check other reviews on what rooms to avoid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pwr_stn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDayGM, General Manager at The Glencoe Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback.

I must apologise that the service on one of your mornings did not reach our standards, I can assure you that since your visit we have spent time with all our new staff to train and give them the confidence to provide the warm helpful service that we expect.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Gathering restaurant, with its opening this summer it marked the first step in the improvement of the Inn, With that we have unfortunately suffered a slight dip in service with the influx of many new staff throughout the entire building. They are on a long program of training and I can assure you that should you return to us again in the near future then you will be able to see the dramatic improvements that have already taken place,

Your room; I believe it was 116, one of my favourites due to the view, feel free to request this room when you visit us again

Kind regards, Michael Forster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Thsi place was awful. The room was tiny, the size of a large closet. the carpet was dirty, the floor and sink both sloped. the shower was miniscule although ours was in our room. It was warm this summer in Scotland and our room with a view got a lot of sun and was sweltering even with the fan they gave us. They claim to offer laundry service but do not in fact provide it unless you hang around for 2 days. The only reason to come near the hotel is to eat at the restaurant next door called the Gathering Place; it was good with good service and seems to share management with the Inn. The front desk was unattended often when staff were helping at the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ydeng1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDayGM, Manager at The Glencoe Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you ydeng1 for your review. We are an historic building and as such our rooms do vary both shape and size, I can only apologise that you felt the room was too small for your needs. I am sure had you spoken to us, we would have, if possible, moved you into something more suitable.
Scotland is known for many wonderful things, unfortunately long hot summers are not one of them. We provide fans to help guests should we receive a rare heat wave; however we do not have the facilities to provide air conditioning.
We are a highland Inn, we have a small but friendly team and in the evenings the staff do share responsibilities of the bar and reception. As both are attached we feel we can do this without compromising our high level of service. If you feel we kept you waiting or we did not meet you expectations in regards to the reception service, then again please accept my sincere apologies.
I am pleased to see that you enjoyed our new restaurant and bar “The Gathering” it was the first phase of our improvement to the Inn and after only being open a few weeks I am happy that you found it a reason to return and that you would recommend it to others. I hope we see you again so that you can experience the other improvements due to the Inn over the coming months.
Kind regards,
Michael Forster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

One of the most unpleasant hotel stays we have had. I wish I had paid attention to the other reviews. We came to this area to climb Ben Nevis and hoped to get a good nights sleep the evening before. The first bedroom (111) was so small that the door was hitting off the bed, a small bathroom in the corner took up a good portion of the room with hardly enough floor space. We could have put up with this but the smell of fish and chips from kitchen vent of the adjoining restaurant just made it impossible.

The alternative room offered was at the front of the hotel on the main A82 road. The noise of trucks going by for the night actually caused the room the shudder. Even with earplugs sleep was Impossible.

We got up at 5am and made our way to Ben Nevis.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bridget H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencoe Village
23.0 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.9 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glencoe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glencoe Inn

Property: The Glencoe Inn
Address: Glencoe Village Tyndrum Road | West Highlands, Glencoe Village PH49 4HP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Glencoe Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Glencoe Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glencoe Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Glencoe Village, this traditional highland hotel offers informal and friendly hospitality where nothing is too much trouble. We serve delicious homemade local food all day. There is an excellent atmosphere in our well stocked bar each evening. There is a great choice of family, twin and double bedded rooms available - many with stunning loch views. A friendly welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Glencoe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glencoe Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing