We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A friendly smile and an ice cold beer absolutely the best welcome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glencoe Village
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lios Mhoire Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“A friendly smile and an ice cold beer absolutely the best welcome”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

After over 8 hours biking in the unusual 26 degree heat I was ready for a cold beer but I thought it would be a case of a quick shower and find a pub, but with in minutes of arrival all our thirsty team were offered an ice cold beer by Kareen . Most has already been said about Karen's wonderful hospitality and I agree on every account, The property is perfectly situated with views over lock Leven , it has a mountain chalet feel ,very modern and attractive, our room was at the back but I could still lay in bed and look at the mountains, enough room for two untidy men and a great shower. Breakfast was fantastic all the trimmings and served with sunshine and a smile. Its an absolute must to stay here if you are around Glencoe

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    21
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
106
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

There is no other host like Kareen; she is hilarious. Your stay is guaranteed to be fun-filled and wonderful. And the breakfast was scrumptious too, with eggs made to order, smoked salmon, fresh fruit, yogurt, and cheeses. Over breakfast she even told us about which of her chickens laid which egg!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlannaNoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
488 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Kareen is such a warm and welcoming person, who makes you feel right at home. She is the perfect hostess and gave us some great tips to view the area of Glencoe. The room we stayed in was clean, with a great rain shower! Breakfast was very good. I loved the fresh fruit salad and the greek yoghurt and the cooked breakfast was also very delicious. We got the chance of meeting the other guests while taking breakfast together at the big dining room table. Very pleseant to be able to exchange stories. The location nearby the lake is also perfect!

I can definitely recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolienBAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Kareen the owner of this brilliant B & B was a "quirky" lively friendly host. From the moment we arrived she was more than helpful!! We were the first to arrive at the digs so she gave us a choice of rooms which was great. The Lois Mhoire is in a fantastic spot overlooking Loch Leven so we had a perfect view. We hadn't eaten so Kareen kindly rang the local pub and made sure we had a table as it was really busy, she also drove us down there ( approx 1mile) after our twenty mile day's walking.
Our room was very nice clean and comfortable the shower was to die for the best of the holiday!!
The breakfast was lovely lots of choice lovely porridge!! Fresh fruit the works!!!!
All in all highly recommended if you can get in as I imagine she is pretty busy being sooo good!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

This was a really joyful stay! Fresh fruit and fresh stories from a smiling lady from the shetland islands. She gave us some great hiking tips too! Strange name for a bed and breakfast, but dont let that hold you back! :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavendish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Kareen is a wonderful hostess who does everything possible to make sure your stay is really enjoyable. Rooms were very spacious, very comfortable, very clean and cosy. Breakfast was delicious and the outlook across Loch Leven was just perfect. Exceptional value for money.

We spent two nights here, taking my 90 year old mother on a little holiday. She was very pleased with her stay, which believe me is praise indeed! From here we were able to easily drive up to Inverness on the west side of Loch Ness and back again on the other quieter B road. The scenery is outstanding!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Kareen made us feel so welcome. Our room was so pretty looking out over Glen Coe. It was a great size. Breakfast was beautiful. Great spot and was able to walk to the local hotel for our evening meal. Would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flos186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencoe Village
0.4 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.9 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
3.2 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Glencoe Inn
The Glencoe Inn
#7 of 11 in Glencoe Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lios Mhoire Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lios Mhoire Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lios Mhoire Bed and Breakfast
Address: | Tighphuirt, Glencoe Village PH49 4HP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Glencoe Village
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Glencoe Village
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Lios Mhoire b&b
Lios Mhoire Hotel Glencoe Village
Lios Mhoire Bed And Breakfast Glencoe, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing