We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would NOT recommend this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kirkconnel Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Ecclefechan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North of England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I would NOT recommend this hotel”
Reviewed October 22, 2009

Our stay here was awful. We were initially booked into the chalet but it was uninhabitable - no heating or hot water and television broken. The family room we were then given was adequate. The breakfast was completely inedible and the service we received following our stay when we were trying to track down some lost property was absolutely appalling.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicandsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    35
    18
    8
    7
See reviews for
29
83
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
northumberland
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Apalling customer service....room was shabby and in need of refurbisment...food awful and i dont like the idea of dogs in the dining room greeding of your table when you trying to eat....sorry but ive got nothing good to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

John, the proprietor was friendly and made us feel instantly at home, nothing was too much trouble and despite being close to the motorway our room was very quiet with a nice outlook. This place is definitely a hidden gem!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Briarglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

We stayed for two night and we had a wonderful stay. The owner was very friendly and could not do enough for us. Good food, good service and our room was wonderful and exceptionally clean. The interior of the building was decorated to a very high standard and we would not hesitate in staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HobbitLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

We spent a very wet friday afternoon here,and that was the only bad thing about our break.The house itself is lovely and full of history,with lots of nooks and crannies to explore! The room we were given was very clean and the bed was very comfortable.The owners of this hotel are obviously very proud of its history because they leave booklets in your room full of information about the hotel and the surrounding areas,making your stay and the planning of your trips very easy.The only tiny fly in the ointment was the breakfast!Next time,and there will be a next time i will stick to the cornflakes.Definately recommend this one.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coljulie32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelso
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2009

one man operation owner,porter,reception,barman.cook,cleaner,and yes waiter
i work in a hotel and have seen nothing like john and his dogs yes dogs they help as well
totally over the top if you are a dog lover you would love this place
food not brilliant but cheap and large portions
everything else warm and friendly
well done john
we will be back just to see you and the dogs
sheer hotel fun

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wulliemcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2009

Well this is the best kept secret in Scotland i feel!
John the proprietor is just an amazing guy!
We stayed in July when My Brother and Law and Sister in Law got married in Gretna with all the family and decided before we left that we would love to go back!
We asked John about staying New Year and availability. He said that if we wanted to go then he would sort it... i do not think he was initially going to open the hotel!
We all arrived ( and extra people who had not planned to go) and John just let us run his hotel.. he has 11 rooms all of which are clean and homely! we organised ourselves and John had arranged an amazing dinner for us on the 30th and then did a Buffet on New Years eve which as he suggested would be better as we had a few children with us!
The hotel is just like being at home... its full of happy people and comfy things!
I would like to thank John and all his staff for making our New Year .... and sorry for keeping u up till 5 a.m.
Hope to see you in the summer!!!!

  • Liked — The whole experience of feeling welcome and feeling like your visiting friends not staying in a hotel
  • Disliked — Cannot think of anything... maybe a walk in shower but now i am just being picky!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ecclefechan
1.0 mi away
Cressfield Country Hotel
Cressfield Country Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lockerbie
141 reviews
11.7 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
6.1 mi away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
291 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ravenshill House Hotel
Ravenshill House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Lockerbie
41 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkconnel Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkconnel Hall Hotel

Property: Kirkconnel Hall Hotel
Address: Ecclefechan Lockerbie | Near Gretna, Ecclefechan DG11 3JH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Ecclefechan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ecclefechan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kirkconnel Hall Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirkconnel Hall Hotel has a highly visable location adjacent to junction 19 of the A74M on the edge of the country village of Ecclecfechan. It is only 10 miles north of Gretna and is well located in an area of south west Scotland popular for both short breaks, weddings, functions and business conferences. Originally home to the Arnott family Kirkconnel Hall dates as far back as the 15th century, providing the property with great historic interest. It was home to Napoleon's physician in the late 18th Century and although extended in the 1870's and again more recently, it retains much of its period charm. Aquired by its present owners Kirkconnel Hall is now a family owned and run business and we look forward to welcoming you and hope that you have an enjoyable stay with us. Kirkconnel Hall has 11 en-suite bedrooms which are decorated to a high standard, bar, lounge, restaurant and extensive and well planned conferencing facilities. Kirkconnel Hall has extensive gardens and grounds extending to approximately 3.75 acres. The hotel has ample car parking and to the rear, accomodating bus tours, there are areas of lawn, a children's play area and grounds which have a range of mature trees and shrubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Kirkconnel Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing