We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kirkconnel Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Ecclefechan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

We have just come back from a two day stay at this hotel.We were welcomed by a lovely man, nothing was to much trouble, the rooms were very clean, a log fire going every night which was very welcoming, very good breakfast.

The room was a little cold mentioned it,before my husband got back to the room, there was a heater brought to us, and before long the heating was on and very warm.

The lady of the hall was very welcoming and friendly

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bertie732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, the lady & gentleman of the hall in question are overjoyed at a mention on trip advisor!!!!!

Our aim is to provide friendly & homely hospitality to all our guests and we are so pleased you felt compelled to convey these kind words.

We do hope you will visit us again in the near future, possibly when the Scottish heatwave arrives!

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    33
    17
    7
    7
See reviews for
28
78
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Myself, wide and elderly aunt spent two nights here and on entering the hotel were surprised at the the decor which although was not what we expected was a very pleasant change from what you usually see in hotels today.
The hotel is very homely with a lovely log fire in the reception where you can sit and relax.
We stayed in rooms 17 and 18 and our only complaint, which is not really a complaint, was that the fans came on for a couple of hours when the kitchen was in use and the noise they made in our room, 17, was really loud. Having said that I am aware they are required.
John or host could not have been nicer or any more helpful and nothing was to much trouble for him.
I did read that there may have been some issues with motorway noise and nearby train noise but we never experienced this.
Breakfast is ordered and presented to you as you require it and was delicious.
Would we return again? Yes without a doubt.
Well done to John and his wife.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wull92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
We are so glad you, your wife & your aunt enjoyed our hospitality & hotel during your two nights with us.
As you have already mentioned the fans are a moderate disturbance for a short period whilst the kitchen is in use & I offer our apologies for that, however if they were not in operation the noise would be substantially louder with fire engines arriving!!!!!
We thank you for your kind review & sincerely hope you visit us again in the not too distant future. (I will ensure the fans are on silent mode) :)

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Had to cancel our booking last minute and then reinstate at near on midnight to be told no problem. We arrived to a warm reception, shown to our room and had a great nights sleep. Breakfast was served promptly and perfectly cooked. So hospitable. All rooms we saw spotlessly clean. Would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna3057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
We are so pleased to read your most kind review and are glad that you found our hospitality to your liking.
We hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
86 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stopped over here on the 2nd January having stayed here a year or two ago. Again we were made to feel really welcome. Our double room cost £65 and was well worth the money- spotless, well equipped and a really comfortable bed. We sat in the bar that evening in front of a roaring log fire- there were a couple of dogs dozing in the bar and it really did have a cosy feel, a bit like lounging in your own house. Dinner was excellent and well priced. Breakfast the next morning was also very good with a good selection of cold choices as well as a full cooked range. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbiek37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you very much for the kind review & we hope you will visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

John and Babs very welcoming nothing too much trouble. Have been staying twice a year for the last four years. Accommodation and food fantastic. Home from home. Will be back again this year and next. John and Babs work extremely hard to keep everyone happy and will go out of their way to accommodate your needs. First class hospitality. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NigelBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thanks hugely for the kind words Nigel, we do enjoy when you and your friends stay with us, especially the fishing stories from the day! See you all again soon & hopefully you will have better luck with the fishing next time!!!!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didmarton
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Definitely a quirky hotel, but spotlessly clean and was made to feel most welcome. We ate a meal in the dining room in the evening and also had the continental breakfast in the morning the food was delicious.
We did find our room was a little chilly, but the duvet worked really well to keep us warm overnight. Would we use this hotel again?...... in a heartbeat!! It was lovely!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janice466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you very kindly for the kind review, we are disappointed to note that you were a little chilly through the night! We hope that won't deter you from staying with us again in the future, and if you do let us know and we will supply another blanket for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York Beach, Maine
Level Contributor
463 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

John and his wife were the perfect hosts in their lovely charming hotel. John's wife cooked our delicious dinner and breakfast. What an efficient lady as she prepared wonderful meals for our group of eighteen. One is treated as though you are a very special guest in their home.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are absolutely exquisite while others are clean but quite utilitarian.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRH0PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
What a lovely review you have forwarded to us, that is much appreciated & we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay & the quality of our service. We hope you will vist us again in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ecclefechan
1.0 mi away
Cressfield Country Hotel
Cressfield Country Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
5.0 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
11.7 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
4.8 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#6 of 7 in Lockerbie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
8.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkconnel Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkconnel Hall Hotel

Property: Kirkconnel Hall Hotel
Address: Ecclefechan Lockerbie | Near Gretna, Ecclefechan DG11 3JH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Ecclefechan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ecclefechan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kirkconnel Hall Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirkconnel Hall Hotel has a highly visable location adjacent to junction 19 of the A74M on the edge of the country village of Ecclecfechan. It is only 10 miles north of Gretna and is well located in an area of south west Scotland popular for both short breaks, weddings, functions and business conferences. Originally home to the Arnott family Kirkconnel Hall dates as far back as the 15th century, providing the property with great historic interest. It was home to Napoleon's physician in the late 18th Century and although extended in the 1870's and again more recently, it retains much of its period charm. Aquired by its present owners Kirkconnel Hall is now a family owned and run business and we look forward to welcoming you and hope that you have an enjoyable stay with us. Kirkconnel Hall has 11 en-suite bedrooms which are decorated to a high standard, bar, lounge, restaurant and extensive and well planned conferencing facilities. Kirkconnel Hall has extensive gardens and grounds extending to approximately 3.75 acres. The hotel has ample car parking and to the rear, accomodating bus tours, there are areas of lawn, a children's play area and grounds which have a range of mature trees and shrubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kirkconnel Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing