We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kirkconnel Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Ecclefechan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stewkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

John and Babs very welcoming nothing too much trouble. Have been staying twice a year for the last four years. Accommodation and food fantastic. Home from home. Will be back again this year and next. John and Babs work extremely hard to keep everyone happy and will go out of their way to accommodate your needs. First class hospitality. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NigelBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thanks hugely for the kind words Nigel, we do enjoy when you and your friends stay with us, especially the fishing stories from the day! See you all again soon & hopefully you will have better luck with the fishing next time!!!!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    33
    17
    7
    7
See reviews for
28
80
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Didmarton
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Definitely a quirky hotel, but spotlessly clean and was made to feel most welcome. We ate a meal in the dining room in the evening and also had the continental breakfast in the morning the food was delicious.
We did find our room was a little chilly, but the duvet worked really well to keep us warm overnight. Would we use this hotel again?...... in a heartbeat!! It was lovely!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janice466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you very kindly for the kind review, we are disappointed to note that you were a little chilly through the night! We hope that won't deter you from staying with us again in the future, and if you do let us know and we will supply another blanket for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York Beach, Maine
Level Contributor
472 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

John and his wife were the perfect hosts in their lovely charming hotel. John's wife cooked our delicious dinner and breakfast. What an efficient lady as she prepared wonderful meals for our group of eighteen. One is treated as though you are a very special guest in their home.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are absolutely exquisite while others are clean but quite utilitarian.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRH0PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
What a lovely review you have forwarded to us, that is much appreciated & we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay & the quality of our service. We hope you will vist us again in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Myself & my husband stayed here 3 nights through booking.com whilst we were house hunting in the area. The hotel is very quirky as john the owner is a collector of many beautiful & odd pieces! The room and public areas were spotlessy clean and even though a continental breakfast tea and toast were as much as you wanted nothing was too much trouble. John was an amazing host and even sorted out a solicitor for us, it was like being in his home rather than a hotel. The steak pie for dinner was outstanding!! We will definately reccomened this hotel and now we will be 'nearly' neighbours will be popping in for a cuppa with john!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prison1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review & the kettle is primed & ready for your return!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night on our way from Hampshire to Morayshire. What a lovely place, very welcoming and nothing too much trouble. We ate in the hotels restaurant and we were not disappointed, the food was freshly cooked and of an excellent standard. Would very much recommend the Kirkconnel Hall Hotel to anybody. It is a little eccentric but very interesting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suer1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us & we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2013

After reading reviews on line I was expecting the worst but it wasn't as bad as I'd imagined. John was very welcoming and friendly.
The room could do with freshening up, there were some odd stains on the carpet and the wallpaper was lifting in the bathroom, nothing that wouldn't take much fixing.
I was a bit concerned that their 5 year old granddaughter was wandering around and joined us in the bar at nearly 9pm.
Overall, it wasn't a bad stay but I expected a bit more for the money. I'd paid £90 and would have liked a more substantial breakfast and a fresher decor for that price.
If you don't mind the eccentricities (such as the reception room, a Fox stole in the dining room) then you're in for a reasonable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolacube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hello,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel & bringing 1 or 2 minor issues to our attention which you encountered during your stay with us, we sincerely hope that they did not detract from your visit to the Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, and will not deter you from returning again in the future.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossley Lancashire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed on the way back from the Isle of Mull and couldn't have had a warmer welcome after 6 hours in car. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners - so accomodating. Rooms are light, clean and spacious but it is the ambience and relaxing atmosphere that really make this place special. Food is excellent, home cooked and great value for money and the bar is well stocked with pub rather than hotel prices!
Our dog had graet fun with both Louis and Felicity!!
We cant wait to come and visit again - well done John for creating a unique but refreshing product in this market of corporate bland hotel chains!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSargeant, General Manager at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind & complimentary review, it does mean a great deal to us that our patrons enjoy their stay & our hospitality.
We hope you will visit us again in the near future.

John & Babs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ecclefechan
1.0 mi away
Cressfield Country Hotel
Cressfield Country Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
5.0 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
11.7 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
4.8 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#6 of 7 in Lockerbie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
8.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkconnel Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkconnel Hall Hotel

Property: Kirkconnel Hall Hotel
Address: Ecclefechan Lockerbie | Near Gretna, Ecclefechan DG11 3JH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Ecclefechan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ecclefechan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kirkconnel Hall Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirkconnel Hall Hotel has a highly visable location adjacent to junction 19 of the A74M on the edge of the country village of Ecclecfechan. It is only 10 miles north of Gretna and is well located in an area of south west Scotland popular for both short breaks, weddings, functions and business conferences. Originally home to the Arnott family Kirkconnel Hall dates as far back as the 15th century, providing the property with great historic interest. It was home to Napoleon's physician in the late 18th Century and although extended in the 1870's and again more recently, it retains much of its period charm. Aquired by its present owners Kirkconnel Hall is now a family owned and run business and we look forward to welcoming you and hope that you have an enjoyable stay with us. Kirkconnel Hall has 11 en-suite bedrooms which are decorated to a high standard, bar, lounge, restaurant and extensive and well planned conferencing facilities. Kirkconnel Hall has extensive gardens and grounds extending to approximately 3.75 acres. The hotel has ample car parking and to the rear, accomodating bus tours, there are areas of lawn, a children's play area and grounds which have a range of mature trees and shrubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kirkconnel Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing