We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kirkconnel Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Ecclefechan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!!!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Myself & my husband stayed here 3 nights through booking.com whilst we were house hunting in the area. The hotel is very quirky as john the owner is a collector of many beautiful & odd pieces! The room and public areas were spotlessy clean and even though a continental breakfast tea and toast were as much as you wanted nothing was too much trouble. John was an amazing host and even sorted out a solicitor for us, it was like being in his home rather than a hotel. The steak pie for dinner was outstanding!! We will definately reccomened this hotel and now we will be 'nearly' neighbours will be popping in for a cuppa with john!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prison1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review & the kettle is primed & ready for your return!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    35
    18
    8
    7
See reviews for
29
83
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night on our way from Hampshire to Morayshire. What a lovely place, very welcoming and nothing too much trouble. We ate in the hotels restaurant and we were not disappointed, the food was freshly cooked and of an excellent standard. Would very much recommend the Kirkconnel Hall Hotel to anybody. It is a little eccentric but very interesting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suer1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us & we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2013

After reading reviews on line I was expecting the worst but it wasn't as bad as I'd imagined. John was very welcoming and friendly.
The room could do with freshening up, there were some odd stains on the carpet and the wallpaper was lifting in the bathroom, nothing that wouldn't take much fixing.
I was a bit concerned that their 5 year old granddaughter was wandering around and joined us in the bar at nearly 9pm.
Overall, it wasn't a bad stay but I expected a bit more for the money. I'd paid £90 and would have liked a more substantial breakfast and a fresher decor for that price.
If you don't mind the eccentricities (such as the reception room, a Fox stole in the dining room) then you're in for a reasonable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolacube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hello,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel & bringing 1 or 2 minor issues to our attention which you encountered during your stay with us, we sincerely hope that they did not detract from your visit to the Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, and will not deter you from returning again in the future.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossley Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed on the way back from the Isle of Mull and couldn't have had a warmer welcome after 6 hours in car. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners - so accomodating. Rooms are light, clean and spacious but it is the ambience and relaxing atmosphere that really make this place special. Food is excellent, home cooked and great value for money and the bar is well stocked with pub rather than hotel prices!
Our dog had graet fun with both Louis and Felicity!!
We cant wait to come and visit again - well done John for creating a unique but refreshing product in this market of corporate bland hotel chains!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSargeant, General Manager at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind & complimentary review, it does mean a great deal to us that our patrons enjoy their stay & our hospitality.
We hope you will visit us again in the near future.

John & Babs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We needed to arrange a last minute trip to Scotland and after searching found this hotel.
We booked one night on their own website.
However the following morning they cancelled our booking because the room was not available as it had been rented out by phone.
No help to find another room in the same area and not even a phone call to cancel just an email.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
As explained on the intitial email to you, a telephone call was attempted as is our policy & when this failed we immediately contacted you by email within 24 hours of your booking being processed and over 72 hours prior to your arrival.

A full refund was immediately processed and this was highlighted on the correspondence to you, both emails also stated to contact us if you required any further assistance and you chose not too.

As you can clearly see from our other reviews, we have had excellent feedback from all aspects of our customer service and on this occasion we apologised to you profusely for the error and I offer our apologies to you again.

I hope you enjoy your trip to Dumfries & Galloway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grangemouth
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our second visit was for a single night on the way home from a visit down south. It was lovely to go back and find all as we left it before. John couldnt do enough to make us comfortable and the food was excellent at both dinner and breakfast the following morning. We had been given a large room at the front of the hotel this time and it was lovely to have spacwe to move around and a really comfortable bed again. Johns grand-daughter was there and poor wee Louis was being walked off his feet...lol. Clean as a whistle throughout and something interesting everywhere you turn....We'll be back!

Room Tip: Both we have had were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSargeant, General Manager at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Firstly thank you very much for your most generous review of our property, it put a smile on my face and also that of my team.
We appreciate the fact you chose to return to stay with us again and hope you will choose to do so in the furture, you will be glad to know that Louis survived is marathon walking sessions and has been sleeping ever since!!!!!

Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We were amazed to read Ledgie1's description of Kirkconnel Hall.
We have stayed 3 times and have popped in for coffee twice and we have never had anything but good service and a warm welcome.
Kirkconnel is a 3 star hotel. It doesn't pretend to be the Ritz. The whole ambience is totally relaxed and friendly and rests on the personalities of John and Babs, the owners. They do appear to have other staff but John is always front of house, which is what gives Kirkconnel Hall it's unique flavour. We always find that he cannot do enough to make guests comfortable and happy - what more could you ask for? Babs works quietly behind the scenes, cooking delicious food and overseeing the domestic arrangements and has a lovely, welcoming approach, as well.
Whenever we stay at Kirkconnel we curl up in the huge armchairs and read by the log fires. It is a totally individual hotel. Long may it remain so!

Room Tip: We have always slept well at Kirkconnel Hall. However, as it is close to the motorway people who are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hutchy68_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Many thanks for your very kind review of our property, and we do indeed hope you continue to visit us many more times in the future.
We pride ourselves on being individual and unique as you so accurately portrayed in your review, and we are overjoyed you decided to share your experiences with our travellers.

Many Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ecclefechan
1.0 mi away
Cressfield Country Hotel
Cressfield Country Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lockerbie
141 reviews
11.7 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
6.1 mi away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
291 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ravenshill House Hotel
Ravenshill House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Lockerbie
41 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkconnel Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkconnel Hall Hotel

Property: Kirkconnel Hall Hotel
Address: Ecclefechan Lockerbie | Near Gretna, Ecclefechan DG11 3JH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Ecclefechan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ecclefechan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kirkconnel Hall Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirkconnel Hall Hotel has a highly visable location adjacent to junction 19 of the A74M on the edge of the country village of Ecclecfechan. It is only 10 miles north of Gretna and is well located in an area of south west Scotland popular for both short breaks, weddings, functions and business conferences. Originally home to the Arnott family Kirkconnel Hall dates as far back as the 15th century, providing the property with great historic interest. It was home to Napoleon's physician in the late 18th Century and although extended in the 1870's and again more recently, it retains much of its period charm. Aquired by its present owners Kirkconnel Hall is now a family owned and run business and we look forward to welcoming you and hope that you have an enjoyable stay with us. Kirkconnel Hall has 11 en-suite bedrooms which are decorated to a high standard, bar, lounge, restaurant and extensive and well planned conferencing facilities. Kirkconnel Hall has extensive gardens and grounds extending to approximately 3.75 acres. The hotel has ample car parking and to the rear, accomodating bus tours, there are areas of lawn, a children's play area and grounds which have a range of mature trees and shrubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Kirkconnel Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing