We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kirkconnel Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Ecclefechan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Bad Deal”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The Hotel Inspectors Ruth Watson and Alex Polizzi would have a real challenge here. I cannot believe having read the reviews that this is the same place we stayed. They say that first impressions are everything. We arrived about 1745 to check in, but the reception was deserted..well apart from a model sitting on the sofa by the fireplace (see photo), and another couple of statues by the door. I noticed that on the website all the clutter has been removed for the photographs.The reception desk was extremely untidy with no organisation obvious. We rang the bell a few times over the next 15 minutes and more, and we wandered around checking the bar and the dining room, but there was no one responding. Eventually John, the proprietor came in with Louis the dog, and asked if no one was attending to us !!
Our room was passable .. there had been some attempts to cover some marks and cracks with a different colour of emulsion, or they had started to redecorate and had been interrupted. The shower was above the bath and was a good shower with good pressure but was let down by the shower curtain which tended to have a life of its own. No need for these awful curtains when you can buy a decent glass screen for under a £100 and can be fitted with reasonable level of diy skills and a drill in under an hour.
We were on a KGB deal which indicated that we would have a 3 course meal on the first night with starters up to the value of £4.50, mains up to £10.95 and desserts up to £4.50. From that information we would have expected to be on the a la carte menu and would be able to select from that and pay any additional amounts, but no, we were handed on check in a table d'hote menu with a limited choice of 3 starters, 3 mains and 3 desserts. I asked about upgrading and was told that 'this is how we do it', and that they had 200 people on the deal before us and I was the first to question it. However he did agree to upgrading. When we came down for dinner I asked if there was a wine list and was told to go behind the bar and choose what wine I wanted...there was no indication what the prices were. The wines I chose on the two nights we were there were both a reasonable £12.00 each.
I noticed from previous reviews that John refers to his team, but over the two nights we were there John attended to the reception, served breakfast, served food and drink in the bar, took dinner orders and served dinner, and the only time that we saw another person was when Louis puked on the breakfast carpet and John called on presumably his wife to clean it up.
Notes of drinks purchased and food orders are taken on scrap paper and you are not given a bill on check out. When we got home and tallied up what we reckoned we should have paid we believed that we had been overcharged by just over £15.00. We raised this with John by email but did not get a response.
The dinners were ok but not good enough that we would ever consider popping in for a meal when we were passing.
The breakfasts are continental and I would rate this the worst continental breakfast I have experienced. There are cereals and fruit and yoghurts and some cheese and meats. The first morning we were given a basket of toast and croissants, but on the second day we only got the toast... we presumed that they did not have croissants, but when we were finished we noticed that a couple who had just come in to the dining room had croissants and toast..weird.

I'm glad that we had not paid the full price as we would have been even more dissapointed.
Not a place that we will ever return to.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ledgie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Good Morning,

Firstly let me say that I was most disappointed & upset to read your review, and somewhat surprised that you did not bring this to my attention during your stay with us, as it would have given me the opportunity to rectify the issues you have conveyed.
As you have seen the reviews of our hotel are consistently of a high rating, but clearly you found our Hotel & hospitality not to your liking, in that regard I would like to ask you to contact the Hotel directly, and specifically myself in relation to the "overcharging" issue you have raised. I would not have intentionally overcharged a guest who has resided in my property, and if you feel that you have been overcharged I will refund the amount to you.
Our Hotel retains all of its period charm, and historical value and is somewhat quirky in its presentation, clearly your preference of property to holiday in is somewhat different to what we have to offer.
I would just like to reiterate that I am deeply saddened by your somewhat disillusionment during your stay with us, but my offer of a refund to the value you have intimated in your review is on offer too you, should you contact me directly.

Kindest Regards

John Sargeant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    35
    18
    8
    7
See reviews for
29
83
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed here on 23april for three nights, with my brother and wife on a KGB deal. All I can say was it was fabulous from the moment we walked in to when we left. The hosts John and Babs(Louis the dog)made us feel very welcome home from home, nothing was to much bother. Homemade food was very good(thanks Babs) our rooms were very clean and had everything we needed.It was a pleasure to meet you all,we will hopefully be back to see you thanks from the four of us. Cheers 200 out of a 100!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Firstly thank you so much for your kind review, and as always Louis our dog gets a mention, at least we got a small piece of the glory too!
We always aim to welcome every guest in the same manner, and our intention is for you to feel like Kirkconnel Hall is indeed a home from home, and I am so glad we succeeded.
I will pass your comments on to our team, and I do indeed hope we will see you all soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The food was all homemade and fabulous. The owners of the hotel were lovely and very accommodating. It was like home from home. Would we return. Oh yes:)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holseekerScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. Our aim is to make our Hotel a home from home and Im so glad we succeeded to do this in your case.
We hope you will visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

What I delightful place, full of history made we want to explore every part of it.
John was an excellent attentive host made us feel most welcome.
Food was very good serviced quickly and always hot. Continental breakfast was good.
Log fires were lovely and welcoming as the weather was very cold
Bedroom, bathroom like the rest of the hotel were spotlessly clean..
Would certainly return and recommend this hotel for a short break.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blownberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review, I am always pleased to receive a mention on Trip Advisor (especially if the remarks are good!!!!!)
We aim to be hospitable and welcoming to every guest that walks through our door, and we are ver ypleased you found that to be the case, and we hope you will visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a lovely Quirky place!

We were made to feel welcome from the start to the finish of our stay. John and his wife are lovely it was Home from Home! The food was very good and continental breakfast was quite enough, filling. Lovely grounds for our dog to run around in and she made a lovely friend in Louis the Shitzu.

Thanks for a nice stay :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smileyfacejulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review, and all our team are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, especially that Louis our dog was at his most hospitable best, he's definitely our greatest asset it would appear!!!!!
We hoep to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and i booked a two night stay for my in-laws at the hotel and they were delighted with their 2 night stay. The staff could not do enough to make sure they were welcome and looked after. My in-laws had a meal on the first night of the visit and confirmed that the food was excellent, as was the breakfast each morning. Beautiful old hotel and gardens. Would certainly recommend for a peaceful break away.

Room Tip: Room to side of hotel had excellent view of gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 143samm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review, all the team at the Kirkconnel Hall Hotel are pleased your in-laws enjoyed their stay.
If you could pass on our thanks for them forwarding this kind review and that we hope to see them again the future that would be very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My daughter booked this for me and my wife, when we called to book John was more than helpful
We arrived Friday night and were greeted by a warm freindly host once settled we had dinner in the lounge area the food was very nice and fresh
The hotel is steeped in family/ local history this is a hotel for a quiet break rooms were large warm very clean and on suite was very clean lots of hot water for a great shower (had to turn temp down)
John made the weekend with his friendly and helpfull charm
Would recommend also excellently placed for travel to Lockerbie or Gretna

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AirdrieBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hello again!

Im so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, it is indeed our in intention to greet everyone with a hospitable and warm welcome, even if the weather outside is chilly!

We do hope that you visit us again in the future, and we will ensure thewater is as hot as it was this time for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ecclefechan
1.0 mi away
Cressfield Country Hotel
Cressfield Country Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lockerbie
141 reviews
11.7 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
6.1 mi away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
291 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ravenshill House Hotel
Ravenshill House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Lockerbie
41 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkconnel Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkconnel Hall Hotel

Property: Kirkconnel Hall Hotel
Address: Ecclefechan Lockerbie | Near Gretna, Ecclefechan DG11 3JH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Ecclefechan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ecclefechan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kirkconnel Hall Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirkconnel Hall Hotel has a highly visable location adjacent to junction 19 of the A74M on the edge of the country village of Ecclecfechan. It is only 10 miles north of Gretna and is well located in an area of south west Scotland popular for both short breaks, weddings, functions and business conferences. Originally home to the Arnott family Kirkconnel Hall dates as far back as the 15th century, providing the property with great historic interest. It was home to Napoleon's physician in the late 18th Century and although extended in the 1870's and again more recently, it retains much of its period charm. Aquired by its present owners Kirkconnel Hall is now a family owned and run business and we look forward to welcoming you and hope that you have an enjoyable stay with us. Kirkconnel Hall has 11 en-suite bedrooms which are decorated to a high standard, bar, lounge, restaurant and extensive and well planned conferencing facilities. Kirkconnel Hall has extensive gardens and grounds extending to approximately 3.75 acres. The hotel has ample car parking and to the rear, accomodating bus tours, there are areas of lawn, a children's play area and grounds which have a range of mature trees and shrubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Kirkconnel Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing