We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kirkconnel Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Ecclefechan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We were looking for a relaxing break with easy access from the motorway en route to Glasgow. This was just the ticket, made to feel very welcome by the hosts John and Babs. The hall is a large space with plenty to see looking around are the wonderful antiques . exquisite fireplaces. The bedroom was light and airy with good quality bedding for a relaxing night's sleep. Lovely and warm heating on and fires all lit perfectly. Home made food with a lovely choice of vegetables and salads Every-thing was there to give a comfortable stay with good company. I took a bath to relax and there was plenty of hot water and towels. Very clean hotel i was impressed by quality of service.
Easy access to Carlisle , Lockerbie , and shopping at outlet shops at Gretna Green. Highly recommend this hotel. So nice to be with such nice people.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkconnel, General Manager at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review, and we are all so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, especially your baths!!!!!
We hope you will visit us again in the near future, possibly when the weather is slightly better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 159 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I received KGB deal voucher as a gift which expires on 30th April 2013. Tried to book weekend in April 2013, staff kept me on the line for a while whilst they debated amongst themselves in the background what to offer me, generally huffing and puffing and whispering (yes I could hear). When they eventually came back on the line they said they only had 16th - 17th of April available. This is midweek, my husband and I work in Leeds, so we were looking for a weekend Fri / Sat or Sat / Sun. They said they were fully booked for all weekends. When I went online to check availability the only weekend that was booked was 19th - 21st April. Will be asking for money back from KGB and suggest travellers to this particular accommodation keep their wits about them, if the staff are going to lie at the booking process who knows what else they are less than truthful about.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Good Afternoon,

I would firstly like to state that I am very upset and disappointed that you were dissatisfied with the level of customer service you received from our telesales team, our intention during the telephone call you have described was to secure a suitable booking for you. The 'huffing & puffing' you described was due to the lack of availablitity and our team therefore having to inform you that specific dates you had requested were not available, we attempted on a number of occasions to adjust or offer a suitably acceptable alternative.

The availability we had for this specific discounted offer which was managed by a third party company was restricted to our standard rooms, any availability you witnessed online was for Honeymoon Suites, Family Rooms or Executive Suites. I undertstand an offer to upgrade your room was conveyed to you by our team, but you declined this offer, which therefore left us with the midweek dates which we offered you.

In conclusion I would once again like to pass on my apologies that you felt our delivery of customer satisfaction during the booking process was under adequate, however I completely and utterly refute any accusation that we "lied" or misled you during the process, I have also held back in posting a response to your review to ensure clarification from KGB that you have indeed received a refund, which I understand you now have.

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My daughter and i have just returned from a lovely break at the Kirkconnel Hall Hotel. Warm, cosy, comfortable room, lashings of hot water and a really powerfull shower. Most welcoming hosts, John and Babs, who went out of their way to make our stay great, giving lots of advice on local attractions and really helpful generally. The Hotel is steeped in history and we would highly recommend this place.
ps we had the the best continental breakfast ever

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkconnel, General Manager at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Thank you kindly for your excellent review of our property, we are overjoyed you took the time to post this review and even more so that you enjoyed our hospitality and facilities.
We hope you will visit us again in the future at some point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

On entering the Hotel we were met by John who said "No heating till 4" it meant the central heating was not switched on till 4pm which was check in time.. The building does not get a chance to warm up properly and remains cold including the bedrooms.If it wasn't for the log fire in the Foyer and in the bar we would have been forced to seek alternative accommodation.
However the rooms are of a good standard,clean and have been redecorated,nice big bathroom but "COLD"
Food was good on both nights we were there and breakfast fine.
Proprietor John was an excellent Host
Fix the Heating and it would have been "Very Good"
However we will be back when the weather gets warmer

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldfartfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The staff are very accomodating and welcoming, we felt completely at home.
The rooms are well equipt and clean... spacious and comfy.

The hall is lovely and well kept. Set on beautiful grounds it is perfect for a weekend away.

Roaring open fires and a well stocked bar makes it just perfect....

Will for sure be coming back

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawnheidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

A beautiful old building, lovely decor downstairs, with a roaring fire, so this boded well. However, shortly after we got there we had a couple of drinks in the bar and were soooo cold! The one radiator in the bedroom did nothing to warm the room and we actually got into the bed fully dressed to watch TV. We found a spare (uncovered) duvet in the bottom of the wardrobe, which helped, but next morning we asked for a thicker duvet which we didn't get. The second evening we asked for an extra heater, which was as much use as a candle. The windows are not double-glazed so not only did we hear every train (room 17),but the room was not insulated and every morning water ran down the window onto the already rotten window frames. The curtains, whilst thick, are obviously past their best and the too-long hem is pinned up (unsuccessfully) with dress-makers pins. The lamp-shade is the table-lamp sort and the shower-curtain, which I hate, especially in a hotel, had 2 hooks missing, also there is black mould in a corner of the bath. We spent our 2 days out for as long as possible, so we didn't have to go back before bed time! We did mention the above gripes to the hostess, who only seemed surprised that we might want to watch TV in the room anyway! In no way is this my idea of a hotel, more a large B&B, and one we'll never visit again. And we'll be sure to look at Tripadvisor before we book. Oh, and this was a special offer with Travel24, if we'd paid the full price I would have been taking matters further.

Room Tip: Not sure there are any, we had a sneaky peek into some empty ones, but regardless of room, the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is an old sandstone house converted into a family run hotel. The decor is very good if you like artifacts and antiques. It's has all the original cornice mouldings and fireplaces and despite these fires burning brightly the building was still very cold. This is due to the original old sash wooden windows letting cold air in. You couldn't sit next to the windows for the draft coming through them in late February 13.

The rooms where clean, beds comfortable and had good thick duvets but they where very very cold. Even with the heating on the rooms would just not heat up. It had thich heavy curtains to keep the cold creeping in but in the mornings there was so much condensation on the windows you could not see out of them! Not great for your chest, I imagine, if staying for more than a few days.

The hotel is between the M6/8 motorway on one side and the London to Scotland railway line at the rear. I didn't hear the railway line but could hear the motorway when waking in the morning.

No full English breakfast, so cold continental food to start your day, not what I expected from today's hotel standards.

Whilst the family run the hotel it seems only the owner is on hand to deal with the reception, bar and breakfast. Food was below average pub food.

Personally, I wouldn't stay here again. Too cold and not enough going on in the area to return for, and to be honest, for the price you could probably get another hotel with a cooked breakfast and warm rooms for the same money elsewhere nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colinbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ecclefechan
12.1 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
5.5 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
326 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cressfield Country Hotel
Cressfield Country Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lockerbie
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ecclefechan Hotel
Ecclefechan Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ecclefechan
181 reviews
13.1 mi away
Glenlossie Guest House
Glenlossie Guest House
#20 of 52 in Dumfries
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkconnel Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkconnel Hall Hotel

Address: Ecclefechan Lockerbie | Near Gretna, Ecclefechan DG11 3JH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Ecclefechan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ecclefechan
Price Range: $20 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kirkconnel Hall Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirkconnel Hall Hotel has a highly visable location adjacent to junction 19 of the A74M on the edge of the country village of Ecclecfechan. It is only 10 miles north of Gretna and is well located in an area of south west Scotland popular for both short breaks, weddings, functions and business conferences. Originally home to the Arnott family Kirkconnel Hall dates as far back as the 15th century, providing the property with great historic interest. It was home to Napoleon's physician in the late 18th Century and although extended in the 1870's and again more recently, it retains much of its period charm. Aquired by its present owners Kirkconnel Hall is now a family owned and run business and we look forward to welcoming you and hope that you have an enjoyable stay with us. Kirkconnel Hall has 11 en-suite bedrooms which are decorated to a high standard, bar, lounge, restaurant and extensive and well planned conferencing facilities. Kirkconnel Hall has extensive gardens and grounds extending to approximately 3.75 acres. The hotel has ample car parking and to the rear, accomodating bus tours, there are areas of lawn, a children's play area and grounds which have a range of mature trees and shrubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Kirkconnel Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing