We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointing 'bargain break'!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kirkconnel Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Ecclefechan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very disappointing 'bargain break'!”
Reviewed April 8, 2011

We got this break through 'kgb deals' and only paid £59 for 2 nights b&b so were a bit doubtful about what we would get however a lot of people had purchased it so it seemed like a good deal. When we arrived at the hotel we were shown to a twin room in the extension built on to the back of the hotel. I told the lady who showed us there that we had actually booked a double room, but she said that there were limited double rooms and basically we had to take what we were allocated - no doubles were available. We later discovered that there were only 3 rooms occupied throughout our 2 night stay - so they could have easily given us a double room!
The room was fine - very clean. At night though, the floorboards in the room above us creaked and rattled and i was kept awake for hours! The same thing happened the second night so by the time we were leaving i was exhausted!
When we arrived we were informed that breakfast was continental - cooked would be £7.50 each per day extra. We opted for 'continental' - that was a laugh - some cereal, orange juice, then 3 pieces of toast arrived between the two of us!
The owner was a pleasant enough man, although maybe slightly eccentric!
Overall, i wouldn't recommend this hotel - i felt as though we were shoved in the back of the hotel because of what we had paid with this 'deal'. It is a lovely building although we didn't get to see much, being in the extension!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KIWI1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkconnel, General Manager at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Hello, we are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with us, as part of the KGB promotion. The offer we ran in conjunction with KGB was an auction style sale, effectively it was first come first served in regards to the accommodation, we also had an agreed allocation of rooms for that offer, and im sure you can understand that the excellent value of a 2 night stay with breakfast, and a free bottle of wine for two occupants at 59 pounds, would simply not be viable for a business to run that at 100% occupancy for that deal.
However, that does not detract from that fact you did not enjoy your time with us, we apologise for any discrepancies you had during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    33
    17
    7
    7
See reviews for
28
80
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

nice place . no heating in the bathroom.spare bath vents black muck shot out. food was poor / breakfast and evening meal . bar area was nice beer was good. free bottle of house wine 8% ! what rubbish. last nights chips were given to us dry and burnt so bad. wont go back . far better places further on . try moffat its onyl a little ways on and plenty of hotels.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank tonyj446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkconnel, General Manager at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Hello.
We are very disappointed that your stay with us was not entirely enjoyable for you, however if i can pick up some of the points you have raised.
> In regards to the food being poor, i can only apologise for this, however i undertsand you did not convey this to us during your stay, and therefore gave us no opportunity to rectify the situation for you.
>The point about the wine being "rubbish" we have had a number of our guests comment on the enjoyment they got from the "Free" bottle of wine, however we pass on our apologies that 8% was not enough for yourself.
In conclusion, the deal you stayed on was for 59 pounds, for 2 nights accommodation, breakfast and a free bottle of wine for 2 people, this was a massively discounted rate, and if you can find anything similar in Moffat, then i suggest you book it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Went to Kirkconnel Hall Hotel for two days break with my wife, beautiful surroundings, and immaculate room with all the facilities, and to top it all up most obliging and friendly host (John), had an incident with the car and John really went out of his way to help, we are very grateful, a place that we recommend highly and would love to go back to again, wish them all the best.
Adrian & Linda Sullivan

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themasterofmystery19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

We were travelling in the borders and needed a hotel for one night. We found the Kirkonnel Hall to be very good value for money. The room was very clean and well appointed. The evening meal and breakfast were both very enjoyable. The hosts were very obliging making our stay very pleasant.
The Hall has a historical past being once owned by Napoleons surgeon.
I believe they also cater for weddings and conferences.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnhyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

We rented the chalet which was great for young kids, blessed with good weather,our young daughters could play safely in the huge gardens surrounding the chalet. Despite previous reviews, we found everything worked fine & had a great nights sleep. My sister,nephew & his girlfriend stayed in the hotel itself, John the owner was happy to make them a lasagne despite the fact the restaurant was closed. All in all we had a great weekend there.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john_mclaughlin467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Like many people i expect, i chose this hotel as a stopping off point from driving from the North of Scotland down to Surrey and I have nothing but praise for this place

Very friendly welcome, nice clean spacious room with a good shower and the usual tea/coffee facilities. Good evening bar and top notch food (I would recommend the steak and chips)

All in all a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOPSPURS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Arrived for a 2 night stay with friends to be greeted by John (the owner)

Without wishing to sound rude I don't think that John's lift goes all the way to the top floor (if you get my drift)
They have a small dog (shiztzu type I think) that is allowed to wander free around the hotel and is allowed up on the chairs and TABLES in the lounge area.

It wanders around the dining room at food time in the hope of catching some titbits. The dog smells bloody awful but the owners don't take the hint when you try to shoo it away.

Seeing it relaxing on the tables in the lounge bar area is disgusting, NOT CUTE but they don't seem to care.

The owners young grandchild is also allowed to wander around which isn't too bad but she attaches herself to the guests and when you want a quiet drink you find you are being bothered by her.

David is the helper / son / don't know what and only seems to show his face at breakfast time - I never saw him at any other time whilst we stayed. He is more friendly than John and will happily help you.

Prices in the bar seem to be made up as you go along. I got charged 3 different prices for the same drink by the same person (John).

The hotel itself is nice inside but could do with the window frames getting a lick of paint as it looks shabby and not too inviting.

The hotel grounds back onto a trainline.

Overall it was a nice stay but only really made so by the friends who stayed with us.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WonkyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ecclefechan
1.0 mi away
Cressfield Country Hotel
Cressfield Country Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
5.0 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
11.7 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
4.8 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#6 of 7 in Lockerbie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
8.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkconnel Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkconnel Hall Hotel

Property: Kirkconnel Hall Hotel
Address: Ecclefechan Lockerbie | Near Gretna, Ecclefechan DG11 3JH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Ecclefechan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ecclefechan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kirkconnel Hall Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirkconnel Hall Hotel has a highly visable location adjacent to junction 19 of the A74M on the edge of the country village of Ecclecfechan. It is only 10 miles north of Gretna and is well located in an area of south west Scotland popular for both short breaks, weddings, functions and business conferences. Originally home to the Arnott family Kirkconnel Hall dates as far back as the 15th century, providing the property with great historic interest. It was home to Napoleon's physician in the late 18th Century and although extended in the 1870's and again more recently, it retains much of its period charm. Aquired by its present owners Kirkconnel Hall is now a family owned and run business and we look forward to welcoming you and hope that you have an enjoyable stay with us. Kirkconnel Hall has 11 en-suite bedrooms which are decorated to a high standard, bar, lounge, restaurant and extensive and well planned conferencing facilities. Kirkconnel Hall has extensive gardens and grounds extending to approximately 3.75 acres. The hotel has ample car parking and to the rear, accomodating bus tours, there are areas of lawn, a children's play area and grounds which have a range of mature trees and shrubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kirkconnel Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing