We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”

Thomas Carlyle's Birthplace
Attraction details
Carlisle
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great staff”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Had a long and fascinating conversation with the member of staff on hand. Super commitment to keep this important author's memory alive. This country produces some remarkable figures and team here are owed our considerable support for their devotion to heritage and literature. Keep up the great work.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BoomShackerLacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    2
    2
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Never open!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We have tried to visit Carlyle's birthplace each time we have stayed in Ecclefechan. It has odd opening hours and although we have been there at the right time on two occasions we have found it closed. This time we saw a notice which said it is only open from June to September so I think we will have to give it a miss in future!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hutchy68_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretna, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Quaint”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stopped of to have look at his birthplace which has not been improved from his time, so it was interesting to see how the folk back then actually lived, the guide was very good with the history of Carlyle and the objects were good for looking at as was the intersting list of mourners that attended his funeral was more than a who's who of that day, enjoyable

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JamesCurrie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
Level Contributor
335 reviews
173 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Interesting but slightly disappointing”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Carlyle’s birthplace is disappointing in some ways although still of interest to visit. The house has very few actual pieces from Carlyle’s time and those that it has are mostly borrowed from the much more impressive Carlyle’s house in Chelsea where he led his adult life. The humble house of his birth is small and in itself not particularly imposing. The member of staff we met was hugely welcoming and well informed but with visitors few and far between he was very willing to engage and tell you everything about the house. From looking around I learnt more about the way of life in the time of Carlye’s childhood than about the great man himself which was interesting but not really the point. Tucked away in a little village of Ecclefechan very close to the motorway it is not far out of the way and so still worth the visit if you are passing. Probably only for Carlyle fans though. We had to push on further down the motorway to find a place for a cup of tea.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thomas Carlyle's Birthplace also viewed

Eastriggs, Dumfries and Galloway

Been to Thomas Carlyle's Birthplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing