We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ecclefechan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ecclefechan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Ecclefechan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were a family of four who had been to France on holiday and were travelling up to the Highlands from Euro Tunnel. We had been using motorway services to stop for refreshments etc and were thoroughly sick and tired of the impersonal and sometimes extremely poor facilities available. We were at our wits end when we decided to pull in at Ecclefechan in hope of finding some pub grub. I cannot tell you how ecstatic we were to get such a warm and welcoming reception! We were ushered to a table and soft drinks ordered and delivered immediately. We ordered four different meals which were all delivered freshly cooked and hot. We cannot speak highly enough about the friendly reception plus the quality of the food. They completely restored our faith in good hospitality. We left with a warm glow and will definitely return. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highlandfamily888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    39
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
28
80
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Do not be put off by the exterior.The whole hotel is being refurbished. You will enjoy being looked after by Joseph and Mary and in this case there is no question of there being no room at the Inn and you having to sleep in the stable. The bedrooms are excellent and a sign of the standard of improvement being set for the rest of the establishment. Wonderful value for money with good cooking from Mary. You might even be lucky and enjoy an impromptu cabaret with Joe on his guitar.Would I stay there again ?. YES. YES. YES.
John
Mumbles, Swansea

Room Tip: Frint of house is good for viewing the comings and goings in Ecclefechan but any room is OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnW131225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

I have recently completed an End-to-End cycle ride, and this is one of the B&Bs I stayed in. My plan was to stay in privately owned facilities, rather than chains.

On arrival, my cycle was quickly secured in the garage. I was shown to my room, which was simple, spacious, airy, with lots of light and new furniture and linens. The bar and restaurant service were great. I was made to feel welcome, and that nothing would be too much trouble for the family that own/run the hotel. I went to bed early (9pm on a Saturday) and did not hear a thing from the bar, despite it being busy with a very welcoming crowd of regulars
It is clear that the hotel has been under some refurbishment, and that it is still a work in progress, but it is still a great facility with great character and personality. I rate this hotel as a “Good” to “Very good” facility in June 2013, and I’m sure that by this time next year the ratings will all be excellent – hence the five star rating. It is good value for money and when I travel north again, the Ecclefechan Hotel will be on my list of places to stay. Highly recommended

Room Tip: If you need a twin, the top floor room is worth the extra flight of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMJ1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

My wife and I stopped here for lunch on our way to Glasgow for the start of our 8 day break in the highlands. Although they do not usually open untill 4.pm, we found the door open and a warm welcome within. They had obligingly opened to accomodate a party for lunch so we were able to take advantage of their hospitality, and very hospitable they were too. We lunched on 'fechan burger' and fries with fresh salad, all freshly cooked to order and washed that down with a pint o real ale which they tell me changes fairly regularly. A good pint it was too. They are on the cusp of renovations and once these are complete, this will be a place to visit once again as it 's just about half way from Yorkshire. Malcolm S Stott 7/10

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ybpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We called in here based on the fact that it was roughly half way to our destination, we were hungry and who could ignore the awesome name of the town..???
We weren't expecting how pretty Ecclefechan is to start off with - it is a really lovely place to visit and we may have to book in a stop in the future, to perhaps stay here - lovely feel to the town.
The hotel served a reasonably sized menu with decent prices and none of us could pass up on the Fechan burger - served with chips. The whole meal was really quite good and would rival any big town burger offering.
The staff were really pleasant and co-owner Steve had a nice chat with us which was a nice country touch.
Would defiinitely recommend stopping in here for some food as you pass by - it only is a minute off the highway.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Deemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is our fourth stay at this hotel and the quality & friendly hosts (Joe, Mary, Steve and Denise) made us feel welcome as always. The food is first class. The comfortable rooms were spotless.
We will be back at the end of May.
Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night only, and really enjoyed our stay. The hosts are incredibly warm and friendly and there is a real family vibe about the place. The charm of the hotel and hosts is what keeps people going back, I'm sure. We had an early start the following day so could only stay in the bar area for a couple of drinks, however after speaking to a guy at breakfast it would appear there was much fun had by all!!! We would recommend this hotel to anyone, and we will use the hotel again if we are ever needing a halfway house.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ecclefechan
0.2 mi away
Cressfield Country Hotel
Cressfield Country Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
5.8 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
12.5 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
5.0 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
8.3 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#7 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecclefechan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecclefechan Hotel

Property: Ecclefechan Hotel
Address: High Street, Ecclefechan DG11 3DF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Ecclefechan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ecclefechan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ecclefechan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Ecclefechan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing