We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and good value”
Review of Ecclefechan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ecclefechan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Ecclefechan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Made very welcome by Joe,Mary and Steve who I knew as I stayed in the village for a year while working in the area a few years ago. Refurbishment of the hotel is ongoing and the rooms have been done to a very high standard as is the bar where refurbishment is ongoing and when finished will add to the character of the building. There is always a wood fire burning in the bar where Joe will keep you entertained during your stay. I recommend Marys full breakfast which will set you up for the day and meals are available during the day. I recommend the "Fechan" hotel as a base to stay as it is situated ideally for exploring the Dumfries and Galloway area which is very picturesque with interesting places to visit and is also right off the M74 which will get you to Glasgow or Edinburgh within just over an hour or so.

Room Tip: Best rooms to the front with a view of village
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MinackVisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 178 of 178 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2011

We only stayed the one night while passing through on a road trip, as the hotel has an excellent location close to the M6.
Joe, Mary and their family are such warm welcoming people that we felt like we'd known them for years and wished we could have stayed longer. The room was immaculate and we had a very peaceful nights sleep. Joe's friendly nature made us feel very at home and Mary's cooking was wonderful.
We'll definitely be going back at some point and taking friends. We've been recommending the Ecclefechan to everyone!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GDMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

This is the best hotel i have been to. The people there are amazing and the staff make sure you have the best night of your life. Down at the bar the atmosphere is absolutley great! I will deffinatley be visiting again some time soon!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank applefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank mrsbobbynette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HGLFlensburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ecclefechan
0.2 mi away
Cressfield Country Hotel
Cressfield Country Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lockerbie
150 reviews
12.5 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
5.8 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
917 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
664 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecclefechan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecclefechan Hotel

Address: High Street, Ecclefechan DG11 3DF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Ecclefechan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ecclefechan
Price Range: $70 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ecclefechan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ecclefechan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing