We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Montagu Park Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel(Tynemouth)
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Little Haven Hotel(South Shields)
$72
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Athol House(South Shields)(Great Value!)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chedburgh Hotel(Whitley Bay)(Great Value!)
$66
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Metropolitan(Whitley Bay)
$80
$66
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel 52(Whitley Bay)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (550)
Filter reviews
550 results
Traveler rating
58
103
99
91
199
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
103
99
91
199
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 550 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we approached the hotel from the wrong side ? , the coach was full and went totally into silent followed by a cry from the back " i'm not sleeping in that " and then the whole coach was in a gasp , me included . we had arrived to a builders site with skips , rubbish ,yellow and black safety barrier tape flapping everywhere, half painted front walls, tatty old builders vans and an old leather sofa in front of the bars entrance door ,
the coach driver apologized on behalf of national holidays and went into inside to see what was happening as it looked derelict from the outside .....
He came back and said its not that bad inside , they have new chairs , a bar and somewhere to eat ........
to be honest it shouldn't be open yet until its finished but our room was all new, excellent bathroom , the second floor corridor to our room all new and very nice ,
so don't be put off if you want somewhere to stay for a cheap night as when its all finished it will be excellent if its finish to the same standard as the areas that have already been finished but the prices will have to go up ...lol
couldn't fault the enthusiastic funny staff and food quality , now we are back home its funny and would go again when its finished as it was like a sketch from faulty towers and we had a laugh , its was clean and safe ...
our room had a sea view including a free blue skip lol !.....give it a visit in 6 months time we will...

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank gary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was being renovated, which it did need. Our rooms were on the third floor (no lift) which was a bit of a hike with a suitcase, but they were clean and comfortable, had no hot waterwhen we arrived but when we reported this at reception it was soon dealt with. The evening meal and breakfast was very good, best I've had on one of either national or shearings.

Room Tip: Not third floor think last to be renovated.
  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Shabby reception area, long march to room which had been refurbished but obviously not completed. Plastic covering on floors in corridor. No bedside cupboards or drawers in room, no mirror. No towel rail in bathroom and difficult to reach bath taps as fixed shower screen in the way. All exterior and room doors shut with a loud bang. Outside resembled a building site.Breakfast served in a shabby large room and was ok but budget quality.
Hotel has a long way to go to be acceptable as a good place to stay.Wifi didn`t work.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lily s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here on Saturday 26th May, it was booked last year as hubby & friend were doing C2C.
The night before arriving I read through the reviews on here & was mortified, so arrived filled with trepidation.

Approaching from the Tynemouth side the car park is closed to residents & does resemble a building site, you have to enter via the cordoned off path area. There is masses of parking with an overflow car park further up.

The new bar area & restaurant is not yet open & the current reception is below average, there is a temporary bar to the right & a room set aside for dining, we didn’t eat here so can’t comment on food.

Upon arrival we were advised our rooms 236 & 237 were in the refurbished block so that was a relief, however if you’ve mobility problems, make them aware as there is no lift. As the reviewer before me pointed out I’m not sure of the rationale behind being open to the public as there is still a lot of work underway.

Once through the doors at the top of the stairs, the exposed brickwork & chandelier are stunning & the new carpet is lovely, the corridors are bare as there is nothing on the walls as you approach the corridor to 212 etc the floor is covered in plastic protector & there are no door stops so the doors do crunch against the walls which will require further remedial work, there are a number of pipes without radiators & one window is adorned with a horrid net, some of the ceiling lights are not working either.

The door facias are very much in an art deco style in keeping with the period of the building. Upon entering our room I was stunned at how lovely it was, the plush grey carpet was gorgeous underfoot, large tv opposite the bed great, each room had a fire below the tv. The tv was set into a tiled feature wall which was more of a bathroom tile & would have been better with exposed brick, the builders have damaged some of the tiles as pieces were chipped & patches of grout were missing so either being done on the cheap or pressure to release more rooms to generate income, only an observation!

There was no mirror in the bedroom so you have to use the bathroom one & this isn’t easy if you’ve recently showered, there are no bedside cabinets just chairs as they’ve yet to arrive. Plenty of storage, tea & coffee facilities but no phone yet & I think they may be waiting for fridges too as there was a gap in both rooms around this size, but could be wrong.

The bed head wall was papered in a lovely Art Deco period paper with two 3 ball light fittings hanging which were in a copper finish but didn’t really work as you’ve a really modern tiled wall with chrome fittings opposite this, feel like the designer has lost their way a little as the two really don’t fuse together. Everything could’ve done with a wipe down with a damp cloth as there was dust on the paper & all over the light fittings as well as the radiator in the bathroom.

The window was wide open as it was rather warm, the curtains were black out ones but blended into the wall as they were the same shade of grey.

The shower was fantastic & towels looked new, appeared to be missing a hook or rail to hang them on once used though, we had a fantastic nights , I’d love the job of working with the builders to address the snags as this renovation has so much potential.

Yes it was unfinished but the room was habitable & nicely furnished, the staff were very pleasant & found a place to store the cycles overnight.

The areas you’ll be staying in are not being worked on so I’ve attempted to make you aware of what to expect & if booking a room ensure you do have a refurbished one as a couple of people we bumped into didn’t have & were very unhappy, reception said there were 8 yet to do, there was no noise from the builders or adjoining rooms but you can hear the metro . We really enjoyed our stay, compared to the hotel we stayed in on Wednesday night this was paradise!

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank SharonJT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

When booking you will find a short notice to the effect that “refurbishment” is being carried out. For “refurbishment” read “major renovations”.

As others have written, the exterior looks awful (but will be very nice once repainted and the exterior works are finished). Inside is bare in the public areas and currently there is no bar or restaurant, although a room is set up for breakfast (which was poor).

Our 2 rooms were in a part of the building that has not yet been finished. The corridors have pipework for radiators sticking up and there was no carpet on the hall floor, just plastic covered underlay. The rooms were nicely fitted out, obviously just finished, but had no furniture - no chairs, no bedside cabinets. When I queried whether or not we had been allocated the correct rooms the lack of furniture was glossed over by the receptionist with “it’s not arrived”. I asked for a chair and was given one from the lounge to take to the room myself. The new TV hadn’t been set up properly and reverted to the home screen every 60 seconds. The bed was excellent - very comfortable. The bathroom has a superb shower but is a bit poky and has no shelf for your bits.

So .. why is this hotel open when it clearly is not ready to take guests? I have no doubt that once it is finished it will be fine but at the moment it is not a place I would recommend.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled with friends
1  Thank ScotsGrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews