We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Montagu Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tynemouth
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“5 star”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

An Amazing art deco hotel. The location of this beutiful hotel is simply unbeatable, right on the sea front.This by far is an extremely good hotel with great service and helfull staff. It is also very big and has a variety of function rooms. Yet it also very exciting as in the bar there is an open mic night every friday which is really enjoyable.I would stay here again and deffinatly recomend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pjc110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    87
    89
    81
    186
See reviews for
89
173
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed here on business trip beginning of August 2012. When I arrived, I could not find receptionist and after 15 minutes, I had to get someone from the bar. She actually should have been in the restaurant. When she finally got to reception, it was as if there was no note of my booking yet it was done through my company’s travel organiser.

When I got to my room, I found it was very small and dated and tired with wallpaper peeling off. Paintwork was dirty and tatty. Carpets dirty and tired and a very small old TV. Bath was scummy with an over bath shower.

All the floors creaked down the corridor when people walked past; the restaurant was not open, except for a large 2-coach party of older people on a set menu. This was not mentioned when it was booked. Same for breakfast

The hotel seems to be for the cheap coach trips

Positives – a lovely sea view

This is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJSKentnomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tynemouth hotels

Alnwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We booked several rooms for our daughter's wedding and were pleased to be allocated sea views. However, a large coachload of men on a drinking weekend were also booked in. They returned to the hotel after midnight and continued drinking in the bar through to breakfast. Obviously enjoying themselves, they were shouting, singing and banging furniture in time to the music all night. Consequently we had no sleep at all as our rooms were above the bar. My wife submitted a complaint form the next morning with a promise from reception that the manager would ring us within 24 hours - he didn't call at all. I e-mailed with our complaint, but no reply. Very disappointed and we will never return.

Room Tip: Avoid any rooms above the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The family booked the Park Hotel for our wedding anniversary party.We had 50 guests some of whom stayed overnight as we did. The hotel staff were lovely - (especially Joseph!) extremely helpful and really couldn't do enough to to help us. On arrival there was a minor problem with a room that was sorted out immediately. Our room overlooked the sea and the view was wonderful. The room was very comfortable - large with a settee tea and coffee available. The bathroom was a good size and spotlessly clean. We ordered afternoon tea for a group of us which was served promptly and the cream scones were delicious. Several people asked for ice cream which wasn't on the menu but was brought immediately. Breakfast was buffet style and as much as we wanted. Cereal,fruit, fresh juice, toast + hot cooked food and as much tea or coffee as we wanted. I was given bouquets that would have been the worse for wear after a night without water. Containers were made available and they were stored in the fridge overnight and when we left were as fresh as when they had arrived. The whole group found that all staff were very friendly and helpful and all in all this was a lovely experience and made our anniversary very special.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the sea are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6Maureen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed here for a wedding in July 2012, on arrival the setting was amazing right on the sea front shame about the fog though. When we went to reception it was as if they had no note of our booking bit of a rush and hurried scrabling about to find us a room..... and what a room ! mouldy hole in roof in the bedroom, shower had a large screw holding it together almost impossible to turn on and off. Windowsil very bad with condensation. Very small old TV only 3 chanels and no remote, complained to reception about this and they did change TV to a more modern one with remote. Room very dated tired decor, although my sister got a room for the wedding and it was much nicer obviously recently renovated and it was charged at a cheaper rate...! only found this out when left the hotel and was heading home. No wifi in room although our room was right next to office and there was a wifi hotspot but they would not give us the code.( it was an emergency situation as my mum had been taken into hospital suddenly and our room phone did not work nor did we have any mobile signal so skype was the only was to keep in contact unless we sat in the bar or reception which was several corridors away from our room) Had a wardrobe malfunction asked if they had a sewing kit no joy had to go out and buy one, Iron in room very tiny with no steam hole not suitable to do a kilt but give them their due did get us an ordinary iron eventually. Carpets in all corridors dated and missmatched. back corridor paper peeling on walls. Breakfast ok but no-one came to tell us about the help yourself hot buffet which was in another room, had to ask for coffee from the rather bored looking waiter. All in all very poor only stayed as it was a family wedding. We did get a slight discount on price as it was a wedding but not worth the money, we stay away in hotels a lot and this was poor. Noise from metro trains all night long and due to the bad weather fog horns from the boats al night too (not really hotel fault there though)

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room they do have them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Park Hotel as we were attending a birthday party at the Tynemouth Sailing Club. When we arrived there was already a wedding party in full swing. However the hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. We checked in and went up to our room (210). Upon opening the door to our room we were impressed by the quality and cleanliness of the room which appeared to have been recently upgraded. We unpacked and went down to the bar in order to have a snack. Although the wedding reception was in progress the staff were happy to fulfil our request for food, which was excellent and very tasty, and also very reasonably priced. The reception staff arranged for a taxi to take us to the sailing club, and we went to our room to shower and get ready. After the party we arrived back at the hotel and went up to our fabulous room where we spent a very comfortable night's sleep. The breakfast in the morning was buffet style, and the food was once again very good and as much, or as little as you wanted. When we came to check out we once again found the reception staff very friendly and jovial. We would definately return to this hotel again, and would recommend it to everyone. All in all a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerWatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This place should be closed down by environmental health!! After looking at photos of the rooms on their web site thought It would be nice to stay in hotel following our friends evening reception which the hotel made pleanty of mistakes with!! Giving we only live 5 miles away we thought we would treat ourselfes........ Never again at this hotel!! We got there to be greeted by a rather rude man at reception who denied there was a sea view room booked for us which we had booked weeks in advance, after kicking up a fuss we got a part sea view room. (which we paid more for!!) The 3 corridors we went through to get to our room all had old, diffent coloured carpets and each corridor had it's own awful foysty smell. The room was dated and dirty, I actually didn't want to take my shoes off!! The view was lovely but that is it, we ate that evening at the reception which in return give me a bad stomach do refused to go for lunch!! I guess the pics of the rooms on their web site are of the £200. Night rooms!! I can honestly say I have stayed in nicer travel lodges for half the price I payed for this dump!! Bah

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Happylassy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tynemouth
1.4 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
699 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
406 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Chedburgh Hotel
The Chedburgh Hotel
#7 of 10 in Whitley Bay
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#3 of 10 in Whitley Bay
118 reviews
1.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
#9 of 10 in Whitley Bay
330 reviews
3.2 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#28 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montagu Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montagu Park Hotel

Property: The Montagu Park Hotel
Address: Grand Parade, Tynemouth NE30 4JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Tynemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tynemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Montagu Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Art Deco hotel overlooking Tynemouth Longsands with 55 en-suite bedrooms, 6 function suites, bar and restaurant. Our multi-purpose function suites can hold weddings from 70 to 1000 people. For corporate and entertainment events we can hold up to 2000 people depending on the type of event. We are situated in the historic coastal village of Tynemouth with its award winning beaches and charming village front street. We are in a great location if you wish to explore the spectacular Northumbrian coast or wish to shop in Newcastle city centre or the Metro Centre. We have 200+ free parking spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, LateRooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Montagu Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Tynemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing