We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“40th birthday party in function room”
Review of The Gibraltar Rock

The Gibraltar Rock
Ranked #9 of 50 Restaurants in Tynemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Gibraltar Rock Tynemouth offers quality food and drinks in a warm and cosy environment. Our Carvery and special desserts are what we're famous for and why lots of you choose us for eating out on special occasions. Our main menu offers a generous selection of dishes and puddings. With prices starting from as low as £5 for a main meal we have something to satisfy everyone's budget. The Gibraltar Rock is the perfect venue for all occasions. Weddings, christenings, birthdays or just a get together with family and friends. Our Priory bar offers stunning views in a more informal setting. A wide selection of beverages and the same great food as our ground floor restaurant. Ideal for private functions or parties. Why not take advantage of our free WiFi facilities and hire the space for a working meeting or a business lunch. Call in today and see for yourself what we have to offer or give us a call and book for another time.
Cullercoats, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“40th birthday party in function room”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I recently organised my husband's surprise party in the Priory Bar at the Gibraltar Rock. The buffet was fantastic and very reasonably priced. The staff were all really helpful and kept checking to make sure we were happy, or to see if we needed anything. I gave them some photos on a USB stick and they played them on the flat screen TV. We had about 60 guests which is probably the right number for that room. The evening went without a hitch and my husband and all the guests thoroughly enjoyed it. Thank you to Barbara and the rest of the staff for making it a very special occasion which we won't forget.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    155
    49
    33
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“spacial birthday weekend”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This is a very good carvery restaurant pub a little different to others and you can choose to have a meal freshly cooked from the kitchen instead of the carvery. very good food and value for money.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank billmitchison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boldon, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

After our day out, starving we stopped off in Tynemouth, and after a rather long walk came across The Gibraltar Rock!
!st impression - heaving!!!
Had to wait for a table (this was 2:45pm), but as so popular we thought this was a good sign. Staff seemed a little stressed and pub not very big, so felt a little hectic. However we got a pint each and persevered.
Well worth the wait - we were lucky enough to get a table in the Bar Area, this was less hectic and much cooler than restaurant area.
We opted for the Carvery: Choice of 3 meats, we had all 3, plenty piping hot fresh vegetables, most amazing Roast Potatoes (obviously done in old fashioned 'dripping'), the inevitable Yorkshire Pud and delicious gravy. It was delicious. My hubby couldn't believe how much I ate, but I didn't want to leave a scrap.
We declined sweets as we were totally stuffed, but they looked amazing.
Already agreed we will go back, even though about 20mins drive from our home, and try the menu meals!
The pub over looks the sea, on a good day beautiful, unfortunately started raining heavy while we there. The Castle and Priory are literally next door, so handy if you want to visit them.
All in all an enjoyable experience!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent as always - must try the ribs !!'”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

We have visited the Gib Rock a number of times usually get a carvery which I have to say is always spot on - nice to know that the food is fresh and made on the premesis unlike some of the carvery franchises around at the minute.
This time we went for something a bit different my partner got ribs which I have to say were amazing !!! excellent quality a massive portion of juicy ribs, homemade slaw and potatoe skins - half the price of any other American diner I have been to. I got fish and chips which were huge and fresh !!
Staff attentive and friendly great family run business.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalie500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good service”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Great service .. Ok food but was happy and staff were very friendly. Would defo go back took my gran for a family dinner. Desserts were very good

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank pieandbeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gibraltar Rock also viewed

Tynemouth, Tyne and Wear
Tynemouth, Tyne and Wear
 
Tynemouth, Tyne and Wear
Tynemouth, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Gibraltar Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing