We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunday lunch at the Grand”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tynemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Took my elderly mother and her friend for Sunday lunch at the Grand. They love it there as it's "good old fashioned service". The building is lovely and the restaurant is very comfortable. The food, as usual, was very good and the roast beef was absolutely delicious. We were told it was cooked medium and we could have it more well done if required but we all opted for the medium and it was fantastic, melt in the mouth with so much flavour. The waitresses were all lovely, friendly and helpful. Take cash to tip though as you can't add tip on to debit/credit card. Lovely place to dine.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BMM47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (725)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

529 - 535 of 725 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I booked in to The Grand as were visiting friends in Tynemouth for the weekend. My husband had stayed there before and really liked the hotel so we were looking forward to our stay. When I booked the room I was advised that there was a function on at the hotel so I asked for a quiet room away from the function suite. On arrival we discovered that the function was in fact a wedding. Our room was fine for the price, perhaps in need of a little updating but perfectly adequate for one night. My husband and I had a few drinks in the bar and a bar snack before heading out. The service was friendly, the food very reasonably priced and good quality. After an evening out with our friends we returned to the hotel around midnight. Although the music had stopped there were still a lot of people milling around, many of whom were drunk. We settled down to bed but were woken repeatedly throughout the night by people knocking on doors, coming in and out of their rooms and doors slamming. This went on until around 3.30am. We woke in the morning having had little sleep and were too tired to go to breakfast. We did complain on checkout and the duty manager was very understanding. He agreed that it was not fair for us to have to pay for our room given that we'd had virtually no sleep and no breakfast. We settled our bar bill and left the hotel a little disappointed. I understand that weddings bring revenue to hotels but they do cause disruption to guests who aren't part of the wedding party. I'm not sure what the answer is. Perhaps allocate a block rooms in a certain part of the hotel for non wedding guests ?. Given previous good experiences and the fact that the manager was very understanding, we will return to The Grand, but definitely not on a wedding night !!

Room Tip: Don't stay on a wedding night. These tend to be Thurs, Fri and Sat. Best to check with the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikki27102016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My son got maried on the the 27th of April and had the best day and night the food was great the staff could not do enough for us thank u all ps we had a room with a seaview it's worth paying s bit more for Mr Ian bowery

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tosspots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Really liked this hotel and it was such a shame we were only there for one night. Lovely room and nice sea view. We stayed there as we were due to travel with DFDS Seaways the following day and the ferry terminal was only about a 5 minute journey away.

At breakfast we had the continental and the selection was very nice.

Unfortunately it was only a short visit so didn't really get a chance to fully experience all the Grand has to offer but would happily go back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

When working in Newcastle `I've always stayed city centre in the past. This time, as a colleague lived close by (Whitley Bay), I experimented with a change. Tynemouth was a great surprise, small, clean, interesting and a selection of great (very reasonable) restaurants. Also a great sandy beach 10 miles from City Centre. The hotel is a re-fiurbished Victorian special. Clean and well done. Rooms were good, OK on space, very comfy bed and a great modern bathroom with rain shower. Breakfast was service not buffet good choice and freshly cooked - with a great sea view. For food, in house they have a restaurant and an attached pub. The pub food was brilliant. Pan-fried sea bass, crushed potatoes, green beans and chorizo at £7.95! Travel is 25/30 mins in a car peak time or same on the metro (closely). Great alternative to city centre at lower prices!

Room Tip: Most seemed similar but upper floors probably better as lots of event rooms and meeting rooms on low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We enjoyed our one night in Tynemouth. The hotel was as the name suggests, very grand in places with a great sweeping staircase and excellent bars. Room was ok comfy bed no real view but only one night so not important. Would try for sea view in future. Didn't appreciate th fag ends on the balcony. Don't want to sound too negative because we did enjoy this hotel which I believe was the home of the Duke of Nurthumberland at one time. Terrific breakfast, excellent service in a beautiful part of the world.

Room Tip: Sea view a must for longer stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pertick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here for four nights to attend a wedding reception which was held in the hotel .
The service by the staff was second to none, friendly and helpful in all departments The room we had had just been re-furbished and was superb. Nice clean, comfortable, modern design with an en- suite wet room.

The hotel is situated right on the front at Tynemouth with superb views across Whitby Bay.

The breakfast were wonderful. Individually served, not Buffet style, which has become the 'norm' in many hotels these days. We also sampled the bar food which was really nice and not overpriced.

The wedding reception was brilliantly organised and we all had a fabulous time.

Simply a great place to stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front and you will have fabulous views over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theburvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tynemouth
1.1 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
749 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sunderland
756 reviews
3.5 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
436 reviews
7.3 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,175 reviews
1.9 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Whitley Bay
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: 14 Grand Parade | Tynemouth, Tynemouth NE30 4ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Tynemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tynemouth
Price Range: $98 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tynemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing