We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay.”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tynemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One night stay.”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We enjoyed our one night in Tynemouth. The hotel was as the name suggests, very grand in places with a great sweeping staircase and excellent bars. Room was ok comfy bed no real view but only one night so not important. Would try for sea view in future. Didn't appreciate th fag ends on the balcony. Don't want to sound too negative because we did enjoy this hotel which I believe was the home of the Duke of Nurthumberland at one time. Terrific breakfast, excellent service in a beautiful part of the world.

Room Tip: Sea view a must for longer stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pertick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    198
    82
    39
    22
See reviews for
178
272
16
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here for four nights to attend a wedding reception which was held in the hotel .
The service by the staff was second to none, friendly and helpful in all departments The room we had had just been re-furbished and was superb. Nice clean, comfortable, modern design with an en- suite wet room.

The hotel is situated right on the front at Tynemouth with superb views across Whitby Bay.

The breakfast were wonderful. Individually served, not Buffet style, which has become the 'norm' in many hotels these days. We also sampled the bar food which was really nice and not overpriced.

The wedding reception was brilliantly organised and we all had a fabulous time.

Simply a great place to stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front and you will have fabulous views over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theburvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights for my brothers wedding which was held at the Hotel, from the moment we arrived we received a friendly welcome, and staff were always very helpful. We are a family of 5, with 3 children aged 12, 9 & 7, we were given rooms in Laurel House which is the property next to the Hotel, this means leaving via the main entrance every time you needed to get to your room, this was not a problem for us, though an umbrella would be handy on rainy days! Once in our room it was well worth it, we were on the top floor, we had 2 bathrooms and 3 bedrooms, 2 of the bedrooms had superb sea views, the master room was enormous and we could easily spread out without all feeling on top of each other when usually you are squashed into one room with your children, the other 2 bedrooms are up stair case, they were newly refurbished with excellent bathrooms, Room 536 is highly recommended for a large family. The breakfast was lovely and served quickly, a lovely choice and smiles from the staff each morning. The drawing room can be used during the day for relaxing, comfy sofas, amazing views of the sea and you can enjoy afternoon tea which was very popular, the children were relaxed and very welcome in the Hotel, we did enjoy a meal in the Pub at the back of the Hotel which accepts children until 6pm. We enjoyed a meal in the Victoria Restaurant one evening with family, there were 20 of us on a long table the service was excellent, the food superb, with a lovely sorbet between courses. The staff organised an amazing wedding day for my brother, the wedding breakfast room was beautiful with views of the sea, accessed via the sweeping staircase from the main entrance. The Toastmaster was a real Gentleman and truly fantastic. A truly Grand seaside Hotel I would recommend to anyone who wants a relaxed atmosphere with amazing views, excellent service and a traditional afternoon tea and cakes !!

Room Tip: Sea View rooms well worth it, Laurel House family rooms are perfect for large family staying more th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in early April for a wedding. Rooms were spotless; newly refurbished and very spacious (we were in the adjacent townhouse). Breakfast excellent, nice pub in the back with a good selection of ales, Peroni on tap throughout, prices reasonable. Staff were very friendly throughout our stay and made us feel very welcome - all in all, nothing to complain about at all! Would definitely stay again - if only they could move the hotel and beautiful beach a bit closer to Surrey .. ;-)

Room Tip: Adjacent townhouse very spacious and newly refurbished. Sea-view rooms in the hotel apparently v. ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1MP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Having got married here a few days prior to staying we were already used to the fantastic service that the grand hotel offers, however, they amazed us even more during our stay! Every member of staff were polite friendly and attentive making sure we were happy and taken care of at all times!

Our room was spotless upon arrival and the view was to die for!!! The 'Victoriana' look might not befor everyone but here in this setting is very fitting and adds a bit more character to an already charismatic hotel!

We opted for the 'breakfast in bed' option rather than goin downstairs to the Victoria restaurant which was ordered via selecting what you wanted from a list and hanging this on the outside of your door before 2am... Breakfast was always brought up at the time you specified on your card and was delicious!

Room service was lovely with a nice selection available. Always served hot and tased amazing! Again the staff were fantastic and friendly.

A brilliant hotel and brilliant staff made this an unforgettable trip... Would highly recommend for weddings and getaways.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asherd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monkseaton
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

12 of us went out for a birthday meal with family on a Saturday evening. It was bitterly cold outside but the restaurant was warm and inviting. The staff were friendly and attentive, the menu had a good choice to cater for all tastes and the service was excellent!
We didn't have to wait long for the food and all the plates that were brought to our table looked excellent. The food was perfectly cooked and hot.
There was a lovely buzzing atmosphere with the dinning room full.
Would definitely recommend and will also look forward to going again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeejMonkseaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

As a local guy who's long left the area, I've always wanted to stay here - and got the chance when a friend had a milestone party nearby. Seemed too good a chance to miss out on staying in the hotel.

The location, right looking over the Long Sands - recently and justifiably voted the 4th best beach in the UK - is great. Parking is not convenient however, with only a few 'first-come, first-served' spaces.

Reception were extremely polite and professional. The public areas are also looking pretty good and the staff very helpful. The bedrooms though a looking tired, especially the bathrooms. I'm never a fan of that "Victoriana" look - but it looks to have been down either a while ago, or cheaply - perhaps both. My partner was particularly disappointed.

On the positive side, I've recently - on a separate visit - eaten in the restaurant for dinner and the food was fantastic. Exceeded expectations. Breakfast on the recent visit was average however; how difficult is it to deliver a warm English breakfast?!

In summary: its a local landmark hotel; the public areas (Copperfields bar aside) are tastefully done. Just wish the hotel management would update your bedrooms/ bathrooms. All that being said, if you're coming to Tynemouth and want to stay in the village, there is no other credible hotel option.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJM1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tynemouth
1.1 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
712 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
411 reviews
1.9 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#4 of 10 in Whitley Bay
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,111 reviews
3.5 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#28 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,377 reviews
1.6 mi away
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
#10 of 10 in Whitley Bay
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: 14 Grand Parade | Tynemouth, Tynemouth NE30 4ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Tynemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tynemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tynemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing