We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand "old" hotel but very tired bedrooms and poor breakfast!”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tynemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Grand "old" hotel but very tired bedrooms and poor breakfast!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at the Grand whilst attending a function . As a local to this area we were very familiar with the establishment but have never ventured into it until now. The function facilities were ok and the bar staff really accommodating and friendly so 5 stars to you guys. But that is where the positives end. Our standard double bedroom at the rear of the hotel (£111 per night B&B ) was small with a reasonable sized bathroom, the wardrobe facilities were very limited and if you were staying any greater than a couple of nights you would struggle for storage. The rest of the furnishings inc. bed and carpets were tired and the bed small for a double as I am only 5ft 5 and my feet met with the base board. The trouser press in all 3 rooms we and our friends were in did not work . Finally the walls between rooms must be wafer thin as you can actually make out conversations in neighbouring bathrooms so don't plan a romantic stay. Breakfast was also poor ,basics like natural yogurt and muesli were not available and the mixed fruit looked awful and clearly straight from a massive catering tin as they were swimming in congealed syrup, whilst we could choose from a varied menu this fell down as the wrong orders arrived nearly 15 mins later and it took another reminder 15 mins later to get the last two missing breakfasts as they had been "forgotten". My advice to the management would be stick to a buffet style as this would be far more user friendly.
In all an ageing bedroom, poor breakfast and an expensive rate. We have stayed at better B&B establishments for half the price. My advise if you are attending a function here book elsewhere (you can stay at the Hilton for £99 and get a set fare taxi (£11.50 foxhunters taxis ) for a much better experience and surroundings. Sorry Grand must do better!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simma55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    198
    82
    39
    22
See reviews for
178
272
16
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sandnes
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here for four nights in October for a wedding. We had a standard room on the third floor looking north. The bathroom here could do with a bit of refurbishment as the tiles were cracked and would benfit from under floor heating as bathroom was often cold. The whole room was often cold also but there was a cold spell of weather. The room itself was practical and spacious.

The breakfast was very good and the service as well. The hotel could do with an extra person seving as some items at the buffet went empty and at peak times it took a bit of time to get orders. With our two small children howevere they were a good help and quick to help us with food for them. We didn't eat at any other time apart from the wedding.

The hotel lift is slow, but the stairs are certainly 'grand' and wide. Parking wasn't a problem outside at the front or side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saggabott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Grand-Hotel, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
I was pleased to hear that in the main you had an enjoyable stay with us.

It is clear from your review and other similar ones that some work needs to be done on breakfast service especially during the busy times. I am working with the restaurant teams to find ways of improving this experience for guests.

We are an independent hotel and the staff here always try hard to provide good service so that it is nice to see this acknowledged in your review. We hope that we have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricandbex
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Having just stayed at the grand hotel this weekend for a wedding.

I have very mixed reviews , location amazing , reception area's , bars and hall ways leading too bedrooms amazing.

Hotel rooms and breakfast service poor.

First the positives great location and looking hotel, with a great bar with reasonable beer prices . The lads behind bar in copperfields and all the locals are very friendly and welcoming too.

Now the negatives.

The Saturday morning for breakfast after getting seated we waited 15 min just to get asked our order , after this we waited 30 min with no sign of breakfast. It was a laughing joke in the end with the two tables next to us. They also had the same problem!!

After 30 min the lady next to us ( who had been waiting 20 min to get order asked ) called waitress over and directed her straight to us stating how long we had been waiting ,

with this no apology our way I asked could we have some toast as was starving waiting. 10 min later no toast in sight along came our breakfast could of been a lot Warmer on the verge of being cold , with this we asked for the toast we ordered 5 min later it arrived.

This time with no butter and when I noticed no waitress in sight.
So I had to go find some ( near entrance door of restaurant near cuttelry tray if anyone else needs any in future )

On the attempted top up of drink , there was no orange juice or apple juice left , and the area looked like a bomb had gone off.

Didn't bother asking for anymore as frankly had , had enough of my breakfast expirence.

The only think I can say is i did feel sorry for the waitress, as she seemed like she was on her own ,

And there was 3 people just standing chatting behind reception , who would of been better helping her !!

The next day the wife and I didn't bother with a cooked breakfast as had heard off fellow wedding guests that they had been sick / trotts, from a meal they had the Friday night in the restaurant where breakfasts served in the hotel , we didn't want to risk it with wife being pregnant

we went to a Italian down the road. So can't comment on this but it was about 7-8 or them who were ill

Now on to the rooms.

They were very dated decoration wise. Although I did like the bathroom shower and fixture and fittings.

Bed was a sleigh bed and being 6ft 2 was annoying as couldn't stretch legs out properly.

Nice tv channel selection and flat screen (freeview plus few more)

No suitable plug for kettle on dressing table so plugged it in on the floor where trouser press was.

Rooms definatly need a make over although hallways leading to rooms look lovely ,

Also saw a couple of other rooms from our wedding party. One which was tiny and frankly wouldn't pay £50 a night for it let alone £100.

The wedding

The wedding it's self was lovely and very well organised.

And the food this time was a lot better than the breakfast experience !

And the young waitresses were very smiley and friendly !

All in all would love to come back for location and view , and the nice bar

But with out improvement's would stay elsewhere as rooms and service were not worth £100 a night,

Although I would visit copperfields for a beer ,

One last point having read a few of the other reviews Regarding food ,I would take note and not try to defend in your reply to people ,

I am a very honest person and never complain and try to compliment as much as I can in this post. Also having a father in catering I know how hard it is when you are busy etc , and people are quick to complain but not so quick to compliment !

Well done on all the positives of your hotel, hopefully you will see this as a honest helpful review

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricandbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Grand-Hotel, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for your balanced review regarding your visit to the hotel.

It seems that there has clearly been a breakdown in communication during the morning you visited our restaurant for breakfast and this is something that I am currently working with the team to improve. You have my sincere apology for the experience that you received.

Breakfast service can be extremely hectic at the weekends due to most guests wanting to dine together towards the end of our breakfast period and this can put a big strain on the kitchen who prefer to cook each breakfast to order rather than put out a hot buffet breakfast which has its own drawbacks.

I do feel that it is not really appropriate for this reviewer to comment on another guests experiences with regard to the alleged food poisoning especially when you do not know all of the facts surrounding this issue. As mentioned in my response to the guest in question on a separate review, any allegation of food poisoning, extremely rare that it is, is always fully investigated as was the case with these guests. After investigation we do not believe that the illness of these guests was attributable to anything that was consumed at the hotel.

We are pleased that you liked the bathroom and shower and are surprised to hear that you did not like the sleigh bed. In keeping with the history of the hotel, some of our rooms do have period features and the sleigh bed is normally welcomed by guests who stay in those rooms - I do accept that it is always difficult to cater for all tastes especially when it comes to decor.

Apologies once again for the aspects of your stay which you felt were disappointing, I do hope in reflection you will see all the positives that the hotel and staff have to offer. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel sometime in the future where our aim, as always, will be to provide a perfect stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We booked a late deal a few days before without either of us knowing much about the area.

Initial impressions of Tynemouth are very positive, with the hotel being ideally placed for great views across the beach.

It was relatively easy to park, but spaces are at a premium, although the reception is very helpful in giving you a car parking voucher to display foc.

Lovely bars and restaurant with very helpful and friendly staff.

We stayed in a superior room with a very large jacuzzi....lovely bed, clean and well presented room with excellent tea and coffee facilities.

Tv reception excellent, etc.

Food quality is very very impressive with stunning presentation and very good wine list.

Breakfast was also very high quality with excellent service and great choice of fruit, cereals and juice as well as cooked option.

We would definitely return and its ideal location for the beach cannot be underestimated!

Room Tip: Superior rooms very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDLNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Grand-Hotel, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for your review. It is always great to hear about positive guest experiences at the hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Grand Hotel is Grand, but if you stay here you could be in for a shock.
The Grand has a lovely entrance, bars and restaurant areas. All decked out nicely, in a manner thay you might expect. First impressions are good. Comfy chairs, a bit of marble, some mahogony. This is all nice but you don't sleep in these areas. On the website and trip advisor you will see some loveley rooms, and i've no doubt they are available. So what does the standard traveller get for his £100 a night? Not much, let me tell you. Some double rooms measure just 11x10 foot, with the bed against the wall.( go to room 109, management). A small dressing table, tiny alcove in the wall for a wardrobe, as any other furniture would not fit. Terrible beds and pillows, worse than a travel lodge. Decor out of an old peoples home. The Hotel Inspector would love this place. So maybe it was just unlucky if you get this broomcupboard. Room 231, maybe will proove better value for £100. Barely. Slightly bigger. Bed not against wall which is a good start. Old crt tv with broken aerial point. No plug for kettle, has to be on bedside table. Dark. No better decor. Flowery Curtains useless as the wall is at an angle. Again terrible pillows and matress, but this time with an awfully squeaky bed to wake you up at a slight movement. Wow, were not doing well so far. Maybe breakfast will make up for it? Cereal & croissants very nice. You can order a "full" english (which came out cold) or wait endlessly for a round of toast. Or get up for 7am for breakfast before anyone else is there, which seems the most pleasant option.
Oh there is another thing to do with the food, it could make you feel unwell. Is it a coincidence that 10 poeple we stayed with all got the tom trotts? Children, oap's and adults not immune. Is it the cleanliness of the kitchen? Does the chef wash his hands? I've no idea but its not right and not acceptable from any hotel with the word "Grand" in the title.

You see the thing is I dont mind spending good money on good things. But for value, service and enjoyment, this hotel leaves a lot to be desired in my opinion.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Grand-Hotel, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Naturally it is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel but do feel that it is extremely unfair when reviewers are so damning about aspects of their stay.

Yes, breakfast service can be extremely busy over the weekend and of course a cold breakfast is simply not acceptable - had we been informed of this at the time we would of course offered a replacement.

Our breakfast service runs from 7am until 9.45am each day. At the weekend, most guests choose to come down for breakfast between 9.15am and 9.45am at the weekend which does bring about its own challenges for the hotel as our breakfast restaurant can only accommodate up to 70 guests at any one time. Occasionally guests may need to wait a short while for a table to become available. In proportion to other hotels, (bedrooms to restaurant capacity) our restaurant is relatively large. I can confirm however that I am currently in talks with the team to review our breakfast timings on weekend days however it may be the case that increasing times will simply push back the busy period to a later time.

With regards to the allegations of food poisoning, these guests reported this incident to the hotel at the time they were feeling unwell. A table of 8 guests not 10 attended the restaurant on the Friday night. The only common item that all guests ate on that night was the duck appetizer which had been freshly cooked and prepared that day by the chef. On the same night we had 32 diners to our restaurant all of which ate the same duck appetizer and there were no other reported incidents of guests being unwell. Whilst we do accept that the guests may have been unwell, due to the severity of the allegations a full investigation was done at the time and we strongly refute that the illness was due to the food that they ate at the hotel.

Our standard rooms are the smallest in the hotel. Due to the historical layout of the building these rooms vary in size. Whilst some may be compact all rooms offer full ensuite facilities including the same in room toiletries found in all of our other rooms. We do find that our standard rooms are more than acceptable to the majority of our guests however if a larger room is required we would recommend upgrading to one of our executive rooms.

You do of course have our sincere apologies with regards to your disappointing stay at the hotel and hope that you may be willing to give the hotel a second chance should you be visiting the area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stay at this hotel fairly regularly through work and love it. The rooms are mostly very good and are always well maintained. If you're fortunate enough to get a sea facing room, the view is spectacular. The food in the restaurant, the bar and even room service is fantastic and more than enough (Scampi & chips - 17 pieces of scampi). Breakfast is cooked to order and nothing is too much trouble. Staff are very friendly and well presented. VERY GRAND

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJSKentnomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Grand-Hotel, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
The hotel staff work extremely hard in an attempt to make every guests stay a very enjoyable one. It is fantastic to receive such a positive review in recognition of the hard work of the team at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

A very grand entrance and show-stopping staircase. Very Grand. Stayed in a suite over-looking the sea which had a lovely window seat. Comfiest bed ever. Lovely relaxing lounge and bar. Can't fault this hotel and breakfast was delicious too.

We would definately stay again and recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a suite with sea views, you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Grand-Hotel, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Very pleased to hear about your faultless experience at the hotel. Our sea view rooms really are special, Longsands beach is literally just across the road from the hotel. Even on cold and windy days it is fantastic to relax in the warmth of your room and watch the waves as they roll in.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tynemouth
1.1 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
713 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
411 reviews
1.9 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#4 of 10 in Whitley Bay
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,111 reviews
3.5 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#28 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,382 reviews
1.6 mi away
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
#10 of 10 in Whitley Bay
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: 14 Grand Parade | Tynemouth, Tynemouth NE30 4ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Tynemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tynemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tynemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing