We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible terrible terrible”
Review of Mandarin Bay

Mandarin Bay
Ranked #1 of 69 Restaurants in Cramlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed August 14, 2019

I must say it's sad for me to write this review as we have visited the Mandarin bay on many occasions and its always classed as a "treat" as it's a little bit more expensive for the location but its usually worth it.
We booked for the buffet menu for 12 people for a birthday celebration the buffet is £17pp and you can order what you want from the menu.
The service was appaling we had 1 waitress who was not polite and made us feel very uncomfortable when we were ordering our food and drinks she was raising her eyes and grunting and left one member of our party waiting 40 mins for a drink. The food was less than average and way below standard of what we had expected and we wer ordered to clear all plates of food before we could order another leaving us feeling very uncomfortable when she demanded I finish the last piece of chicken on my plate. I know it's in the buffet rule ro finish your 1st course before ordering the next but that was very extreme especially when she started sifting through the rice we had left with a chopstick.
Our total bill came to £270 not bad for a Wednesday in cramlington. Sad to say that we will never return

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank Simone M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jess L, Manager at Mandarin Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2019

Hi there, we are so sorry about your bad dining experience with us at Mandarin bay, due to unexpected busyness of the night. Therefore, the number of staff we had on the floor and kitchen that evening could not keep up with the level of service which we expect and you were entitled to. Sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 338 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2019 via mobile

Having lived near by for a while I tried the reasturant to celebrate a family birthday with quite a big group.
£17 pounds per person for all you can eat.
What got me with this place was the distinct lack of service, to cut a long story short you can pay less in the centre of newcastle for better quality buffet food without the attitude from waiting staff because you've left a noodle on your plate. I will pay this time for my visit without question but will 110% not be returning.

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank kylemccarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jess L, Manager at Mandarin Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2019

Hi there, we are so sorry about your bad dining experience with us at Mandarin bay, due to unexpected busyness of the night. Therefore, the number of staff we had on the floor and kitchen that evening could not keep up with the level of service which we expect and you were entitled to. Sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2019

Went last Friday night and really enjoyed it. We all had the special offer of all you can eat starters and mains. Brilliant selection, the duck in plum sauce is delicious! For the money it is exceptional value, and service was excellent as well, very efficient. Will definitely return in the future.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Johnlobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2019

Went for buffet meal, no buffet in sight?
Told to order from menu at set price of £17.50 each...scandalous!
Can't wait until August 14th, as that's when Smithy Square takeaway is back open!

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Mac122694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jess L, Manager at Mandarin Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2019

Hi there,
We think you must have misunderstood our buffet style that we offer. We do cooked-to-order ala carte menu. We cook the food from fresh when you order from the menu and you eat as much as you can. The buffet dishes are not laid out on warmers as most buffet restaurants do, so you will always have hot freshly cooked dishes. The menu is very popular, and well known by local residents. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2019 via mobile

Decided to give Mandarin Bay a visit while on holiday and went on a Wednesday evening. On arriving discovered they offer a cook to order buffet on Wednesdays in addition to their normal a la Carte. All 4 of decided on this and have the joy of sampling a number of different dishes all cooked fresh. Good selection of starters, chicken, beef, pork, duck & vegetable dishes. All we had was delicious and offered great value. The service was fantastic & very friendly. Will definitely visit next time in the area

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank kevinsY1419SL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandarin Bay also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Morpeth, Northumberland
Cramlington, Northumberland
 
Cramlington, Northumberland
Seaton Sluice, Northumberland
 

Been to Mandarin Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing