We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great start and good to see Northumberland on the map”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Northumberlandia

Northumberlandia
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Cramlington
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
north-east england
Level Contributor
177 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A great start and good to see Northumberland on the map”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

As we live reasonably close, we visited Northumberlandia for a bit of fresh air. The sculpture is fantastic and I thought the paths being graded (easier, medium, hard) was a really good idea.

I think there's still some work to be done (no signposts, no idea what my £2 donation was paying for, no toilets, cafe, picnic benches or play area) and it will look better once some wildlife appears and the plants around grow back. I'd probably give it 5 stars after that.

They seem to be having some trouble with the walls and paths - but I expect that is due to the shocking weather we've been having lately - and I'm sure it'll soon be sorted out.

Overall, the sculpture is fantastic, the views are impressive, and it's really good to see something being made of an area formerly damaged by mining. Well worth a visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank redhead49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    195
    74
    20
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A Lady to go with the Angel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

An interesting and impressive piece of art work on the NE coast, north of Newcastle, to complement the Angel to the south of the city. From the head of the Lady can look to the west and see the traditional NE, open cast coalmines, to the east the future, wind turbines. On a blustery November day there were 16 cars, and this before the place is sign posted!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Two2bThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a walk - to let kids run around - or for a picnic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Unusual and interesting place for a walk - up to 4 miles of path I think so you can have a good walk. Good for walking the dog but you can't let it off the lead. Kids will love running up and down. Can be quite steep in places but you can just choose not to walk on those parts.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank aimeemuirhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
210 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Good way to hide the mine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

I've visited here a few times as I live nearby and really like the whole concept. The first time I went wasn't long after the opening and it was very busy. Anything that gets more people outdoors and exercising is a good thing in my books. Great views from the top and a good way of hiding the mine behind.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank misspink34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Having just returned from the naked lady of Northumberland hats of to Banks and Blagdon Estates
For bringing sure an excellent sculpture to the North.

The car park is free which is a plus when you want to encourage visitors let's hope it remains free

If you are going for look around would recommend you wear good walking shoes or boots as the paths are quite muddy and descending from the top it was quite slippy.

The views are excellent as there were no leaflets available I would recommend you look at the notice describing the art work before setting of on your visit leaflets are available on the web site as are a lot of photographs.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mickley22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northumberlandia also viewed

Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
Cramlington, Northumberland
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to Northumberlandia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing