We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all the boxes”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cramlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burradon Farm Houses and Cottages
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Burradon Farm is ideally located for visiting the coast or Newcastle. It is very easy reached from the A1. It is a quiet semi-rural location with clean, well equipped cottages. Burradon also allow you to take your dog and have a number of pathways which you can walk your dog off the lead. These are all plus for us. We visit our daughter who is in Newcastle at Uni so being able to stay here gives us flexibility of seeing her and doing other things without being stuck all the time in the City Centre. We will be re-booking!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank fcmoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 32 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here during a snowy week in January when the temperatures were sub zero. However, in Rose Cottage, I was extremely warm and cosy.
The cottages are traditional rather than contemporary but everything is pristine and I wanted for nothing. The location is ideal. Although a Newcastle suburb, fifteen mins from town, there is a rural feel with some nice views.
Recommended if the main focus of your visit is going to be visiting Newcastle.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank LoveFoodWithFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We have stayed at this cottage twice now. Very clean & comfortable & cosy in bad weather! Enclosed garden ideal for dog. A good base to travel to coast & to Newcastle city centre. Very spacious inside. Really peaceful with plenty walks from there. One of the best cottages we have stayed in & we've stayed in a lot over the years!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cloudy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed here for about 9 months due to work and I was very impressed.
Great cottage with everything you need in it.
The views are great all round and there are loads of walks to do in the area.
Plenty animals around too. Great for kids or families.
It is close to loads of ameneties.
I would recomend to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Burandon Farm Accommodation is exactly that - a good size group of stone cottages that have been fitted out in varying levels of size and facilities. We have just enjoyed 4 nights in the self-catering Chaff Cottage. It has sleeping for a couple in one double upstairs en-suite bedroom and three singles in the other upstairs en-suite bedroom. We would rate the beds as having an average to good comfort rating and better than most B&B's that have the 'industry' bed which can be hard.

The Chaff Cottage has an extremely well equipped kitchen which includes a dishwasher, washing machine and dryer which was really helpful on our travels, a large fridge/freezer and plenty of saucepans, knives and other essential kitchen needs. You only need the food.

Opposite the kitchen is the lounge-room which has two 'weel-used' and rather flat double couches and a nice recliner which sit around a central rug with a bigger than usual flat panel TV in the corner. There is also a mini stereo system with DAB radio and iPod dock.

The big disappointment we experienced was the Shower over the bath which had absolutely hopeless water pressure although the water was plenty hot enough but difficult to adjust the temperature. Get this right before you get in! The other thing you may want to take along is some fly spray as there are flies. No surprise here as it is a farm! Owner Judy and staff were very pleasant to deal with when we had a few queries.

Would choose Burradon Farm Cottages anyday over a B&B in a street in either Newcastle or the Whitley Bay/Cullercoats area or worse still, the Whitley Bay Caravan Park!

Room Tip: I think it is worth paying the extra for one of the bigger Cottages as amenities seem to be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geordielass2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The cottage layout was good but needs a good clean especially carpets. Also bit shabby .
Good location and comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Pick a cottages that has been recently renovated if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshine481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

we stayed here for a local family wedding, the location is beautiful and the cottages are easy to get to.
we had other family members staying in the cottages and found that our cottage, number3, was not as up to date decor wise as the larger, more expensive ones which looked as though they had recently been done up to a high standard.

all the facilities you need are provided, even down to tea, coffee and even a pint of milk on arrival. all bedding and towels were immaculate and all staff were friendly.

one thing to watch though, we had my grandparents with us who could not manage to make it up the stairs to the bedroom, as the wooden stairs were quite steep. thankfully our cottage had a sofa bed downstairs and the bathroom was also on the ground level so they were able to remain comfortable downstairs, just a word of warning for anyone with limited mobility as we did not realise this before we arrived.
on this note, we would have liked a tv in the bedroom upstairs as we had to leave the sitting room when my grandparents were in bed and the only tv was in this room.

we would definately stay here again if we were down for another family event, but would prefer to stay in one of the cottages recently done up.

Room Tip: i would check in advance if someone in your party has limited mobility as i note from other reviews...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loljase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Burradon Farm Houses and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burradon Farm Houses and Cottages

Address: Burradon Road | Burradon, Cramlington NE23 7ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Cramlington
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Cramlington
Hotel Class:4 star — Burradon Farm Houses and Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 4 to 5 star luxury self catering houses & cottages that are conveniently situated only a few miles from the spectacular Northumbrian coastline and with easy access to Newcastle upon Tyne and all major road routes to tourist attractions. There are spacious houses that will sleep from 5 to 8 people, quality ground floor cottages for 4, pretty one double bedroomed cottages, fully accessible disabled friendly cottages and best of value farm cottages that will sleep 4. Wifi internet access in all. Sleeps: 2-8. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing