We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable house in an historic village”
other travelers have booked this property
Sitting Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting Room
Sitting Room Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
46 reviews
Sitting Room
Sitting Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bedroom One
Bedroom One
Bedroom One
Bedroom Two
Bedroom Two
Bedroom Two
Bathroom
Landing
Front of cottage
Front Door
Courtyard Garden
Sitting Room
Sitting Room
Bedroom One
Approach to two chapel lane
The local pub - The Railway
Approach to St Mary the Virgin Church, Ketton
The bridge in Ketton (with St Mary the Virgin Church in background)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Rutland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
davetrean...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable house in an historic village”
Reviewed July 20, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely time. The house had everything we needed and was very comfortable. The village was very pretty and we enjoyed looking at the historic buildings, and did a number of walks all around it, and a longer walk on the peninsular of Rutland Water. We also enjoyed a couple of visits to the pub. We would recommend it to anyone.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2015
Thank- you very much for taking the time to review our cottage. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards, Gillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda m m
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely enjoyable stay”
Reviewed July 2, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage, well equipped....Very convenient for Stamford, Oakham, Rutland water...Barnsdale...and many others. Very quiet and relaxing....Have recommended to others....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage/convenience
Liked least: Had to come home!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2015
We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and have recommended us to others. Thank- you for taking the time to review our cottage.

Kind regards, Gillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane H
1 review
“Beautiful and charming accommodation”
Reviewed April 28, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Great location near to Stamford, the cottage is beautifully decorated and cosy which made our stay very enjoyable. It is as lovely as it looks in the pictures!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 5, 2015
thank-you very much for your taking the time to review two chapel lane. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and liked our cottage. Thank-you for booking with us and we hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Gillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan...
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“very happy indeed”
Reviewed March 23, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Superb little holiday cottage within in easy commuting distance of Stamford where I was working last week. Superb alternative to a hotel in the area . Downsides ? Very little indeed. maybe an outside light above the front door as the lane is very dark at night. Also, if you are a tall guest as I am, go for the main bedroom as both beds have footboards . It is a king-size and so I would have hung over the end of the other one. Also, note the facilities in the village are very limited , one shop that closes at 5.30, no pubs that serve food that are in walking distance and cell phone service is none existent apart from O2. but thats not the cottages fault.

Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2015
Thank-you very much for reviewing our cottage. We've noted your point regarding a light outside and it's something we plan to rectify asap. Kind regards, Gillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew R
Torpoint, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely little cottage in a beautiful area close to Rutland Water”
Reviewed March 11, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Lovely little cottage done to a high standard approximately 5 miles from Rutland Water. Well equiped with everything we needed for a weekend away. Would certainly recommend and stay again if we need to be in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2015
Thank-you very much for reviewing our cottage and please do recommend us to any friends or family who would be interested in booking a stay. We hope to see you again. Kind regards, Gillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snailerz8...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Look no further”
Reviewed January 15, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Fantastic, well equipped cottage in picturesque setting and good location for all local attractions. We will be returning

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2015
Thank-you very much for your kind review. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Gillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucaVenic...
Treviso, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Comfortable and cozy”
Reviewed November 27, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We spent a weekend recently at the Two Chapel Lane and were really impressed. The cottage is in a small village, it is very silent and quiet; Rutland Waters are just a few minutes drive away and a drive to Stamford takes 10 minutes. The building represent the typical old construction of the local countryside, very nice, welcoming and cozy. It is a very special retreat that we certainyl recommend for a family stay. Facilities and appliances were in perfect conditions; nothing was wrong. We had Diana to deliver the Keys on our arrival and she gently showed main features around the cottage and some local tips. All in all a great stay and we'll be hopefully back in the near future.

Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 19, 2014
thank-you very much for taking the time to review our cottage. I'm really pleased that you liked the cottage and enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Gillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing