We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Queens Head
Ranked #1 of 2 Belton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We have been twice in the last month, once for a bar meal and once for evening dinner in the restaurant.
We have been more than happy with the food which is locally sourced.
The service was good too.
This pub/restaurant has been through a few changes recently and it is great to see it back on top.

Well worth a visit

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJT_9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 97 of 97 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have been now on a few occasions opening night, catch up with friends Christmas party and also New years day for brunch , I have to say the attitude and customer service of the manager has left me unsure whether to visit again but the food has been lovely, I found that some of his comments where not very welcoming and at times request for bread or the choice of food from a different menu wasn't acceptable in this day and age id of thought bending over backwards to accommodate would have been a better way to promote his business even on new years day there was no welcoming feel from Front of house apart from a lovely young lady, Id also suggest front of house need some training as when asked about what was included in he brunch and could I have pouched eggs the young lad looked confused and unsure of the menu. we asked for a filter coffee and was advised he couldn't do that but only 5 mins later the table next to us where served a pot of coffee , I have also found the children's menu to be a little pricey compared to other establishments, whilst its great to see the pub and restaurant back open I do think there is improvement needed

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Webster33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

First class weekend. Stylish and comfortable bedroom and a delicious dinner especially the vegetarian option, all served up by friendly and helpful staff. Both Bob and Erica did everything they could to make our stay an enjoyable one Look forward to our next visit

Room Tip: The French room was large and stylish
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovett357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Visited Saturday night with friends the food was brilliant and the service to match. Overall a great evening the new team have done a great job, it will take time to perfect everything and we will be back

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Jasb972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We have visited the Queens Head 3 times recently.

At the opening, which was totally shambolic - only one person serving in the bar, supposed to be a buffet, but none visible, the guy running it walked in and out of the bar several times did not speak to anyone. Left after 30 mins with a bad impression of his hospitality and still not managing to get a drink.

The 2nd visit was to meet friends. The bar area very cold and unwelcoming, no fire lit, the bar service extremely slow despite we were the only people in the bar - basically not interested. We asked for crisps to go with the drinks, the bar man said they had not organised them yet, but they were coming, but did not know when. If you order beer or lager, they have to walk into the main bar area, and then walk back with your drink sloshing on the floor -totally crazy.

The 3rd visit was with friends for dinner to check if the chef was going to impress us more. Drinks from the bar again very slow, dinner menu rather small. A very young girl took our order, when asking questions about the menu, she had no idea. The meal was okay, nothing to shout home about, very basic cooking - but pleasant. Obviously does not know how to keep wine, as it was not cold enough. The dining area is very cold looking, not inviting, we were the only diners in there.

The mine host, we were later told his is called Bob walked past several times, but did not speak until he came to collect the plates from the main course, but only said 'can I take your plates'.

Apparently he has been in the hospitality business for a considerable number of years - but it does not show. You would think just opening the restaurant in Belton, he would like to chat with diners to find out if they live locally, and what they thought of the food and the restaurant., and if they would be returning.

But he could not be bothered to be this friendly,

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raffiella11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica D, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

As a new business, feedback is very important to us and we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. We would like to address each point made. Having the Opening Night described as shambolic comes as somewhat of a surprise, as the general consensus from customers has been extremely positive, describing the night as an enormous success. This being the case, even though there were four members of staff attending the bar, unfortunately it was discovered later that people had to wait sometimes to be served drinks.
The Opening Night (8th Nov 2013) had been widely advertised, with emphasis made on the buffet beginning at 7.30pm. We found that most people were able to find the buffet with ease and if they couldn’t, they only needed to ask a member of staff.
The wood burner not being lit is usually a reflection of the ambient temperature. Although a lit fire is aesthetically pleasing, some people had indeed complained of being too hot when this was the case, especially if the bar area was full.
We regret that bar snacks such as crisps and nuts were not available from the outset, but this has now been addressed and these items are now freely available to purchase at the bar.
It is clear that the main bar area serves beer and lager and the restaurant bar is where wine is served from ~ making it easier for staff to serve tables. All our white wines are kept and served straight from the chiller cabinet.
We are very proud of our chef and the wonderful dishes he has produced and we have worked very hard to design menus that not only use ingredients that are locally sourced, but are of a high quality and a price affordable for the location. At the same time as being apologetic, we are distressed to hear our dishes described as very basic cooking. As for the menu being too small, other customers have brought this to our attention and we are looking to increase the selection of dishes on our A la Carte menu for the New Year.
We are only into our 6th week of trading, and we take on board the fact that the younger waiting staff were perhaps not adequately trained in answering questions about the menu. We would hope that basic things like what the fish of the day, or soup of the day are can be answered immediately. Our younger staff are now finding their feet (and confidence) and have been asked to approach a more senior member of staff should they not know the answer to a customer’s basic question. Should there be a complaint from a table, such as the wine not being cold enough, then we would have been more than happy to address the issue had it been mentioned at the time.
Finally, we would like to stress how sorry we are that after three visits you were still not happy with the service. We are assuming you live locally and would ask that you make yourself known to us so that we may try and rectify these issues, as we take customer reviews on Trip Advisor very seriously indeed. We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I have stayed in many places,through work and simply the enjoyment of staying away and seeing the world,I don't often feel compelled to tell the world about the place I chose to stay,it all becomes much of a muchness,however...
On a corperate meeting at Donnington,I decided to relax,see the sights,and check in somewhere with my partner,maybe take it easy for a couple of nights.I HAVE NEVER BEEN SO IMPRESSED.May I just start out by telling you,if you come from the city,and have never seen Belton,You Should!! Whan a refreshingly charming place,after the long drive,the Motorway,not much to see,then I was lucky enough to find this place,I seriously believe I could retire here,there is everything one could need,at a pace that is still relaxing.
Just by chance,I was captivated by the immaculate exterior of the Queen's Head,so we parked up in the ample car park,and walked inside.We received a genuinely warm welcome,with only the intention to have maybe a couple of coffies.The staff(In particular Erica,who manages this place)where just so engaging,nothing was too much trouble.Also,nothing was false,like so many Pub Chain Inns and Taverns.Both my girlfriend and myself felt like we had known Erica for many years,and asked if there where any rooms available for the evining.Lucky for us there where.
We had a choice of rooms.I must emphasise,the onus here is on Quality.A real bath Tub,not just a shower,and not something crammed into the smallest space available to maximise the amount of rooms.Our room was spacious,lovely and warm,the furniture here puts my own to shame.Sadly we only stayed the one night,but we will certainly be coming back again.I never needed to eat the next day,after trying the delicious English breakfast.Again,as with everything else here,the emphasis was on quality.Service with a smile as always.The staff here strike the perfect balance of attentiveness,without being intrusive.This is a lovely old Inn,but totally modern.This place has everything and more.I so look foreward to booking a few days off of work,and enjoying my second stay,this time,not happening upon it by chance,but actually coming specifically to stay.Everybody we actually met here enjoying their meal,or the fantastic Ales,where just so lovely.This is the kind of place you hear people speak about,in " The Good Old Days" it's still available folks!

Room Tip: Don't plan to eat out,you will have a feast here,Infact,you possibly won't even want to go a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilBurford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Queens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Head

Address: 2 Long Street, Belton LE12 9TP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Belton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Belton
Price Range: $78 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Queens Head 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation based on Room Only Rate - One Superior, two double and one twin room. Built in the 1700's, the Queens Head's bedrooms each have their own unique olde worlde charm. Free Wi-Fi, toiletries and tea and coffee. Each room has ironing facilities, central heating, LCD TV with Free view and DVD, extra pillows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your The Queens Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing