We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of my favourite local restaurants”
Review of Goose Fat & Garlic

Goose Fat & Garlic
Price range: $16 - $48
Cuisines: European, British, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated in the centre of historic Sawbridgeworth, Goose Fat and Garlic offers something for every palate and every occasion. A range of menus caters for everyone from the casual diner looking for a quick lunchtime sandwich, to a business meeting over an a la carte dinner. A set price a la carte menu during the week offers a great dining experience at a very reasonable price, and an authentic tapas menu is a great causal eating option - ideal for groups. The bar attached to the restaurant provides the perfect meeting place for those just wanting a drink, or for pre and post- meal gatherings, and is known for its great cocktails and extensive wine and beer choices. The ambiance is smart but relaxed.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“one of my favourite local restaurants”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

i love this place. the food is great, the bar is great, the cocktails are great, the decor is great. The only thing i would change is make the bar bigger, but i haven't been in recently and I think there has been a renovation. Its a cool place to be, without being pretentious, the food is brilliant. I've been for tapas, for seafood and for brunch and every time it was spot on. lovely.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lou P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    95
    48
    30
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
152 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Took friends and family to this restaurant for dinner and all had a great meal. Service was good and the food was tasty, well presented and good value for money. The menu is varied and there is a good wine and beverage list. Good options for vegetarian diners and a great dessert menu! A thoroughly enjoyable experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karina709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Consistently tasty”
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We went there again on Saturday evening. Goose fat and garlic seemed to have introduced a few extr bits which are fantastic. You get an amuse bouche before your starters and a sorbet course on between. This separates this great restaurant from the rest.
I have tried other places in sawbridgeworth and they are okay, but just okay. The orange tree is average at best - a pub that is trying too hard to be a restaurant, a nice Chinese, and an average Indian. But this place never seems to disappoint. The food is great, an ever changing array of dishes and exquisite specials, the service is efficient and professional from young staff, and the wine bar attached is a great addition. Keep up the great work.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Food_lover118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire, uk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very disappointed regular”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I recently brought a load of friends and family here for brunch to celebrate a special occasion after raving about it to all of them having gone so frequently. To say I left feeling embarrassed is an understatement. To list what went wrong-
-My brother had a long black hair in his cappuccino and when the waitress was informed, instead of the "very sorry sir, ill replace this for you right away" you would expect at such an establishment, the waitress offered a weak "oh...ok".
-The bagel which claimed to be warm and onion flavoured was in fact plain, cold and chewy
-The "salt beef" was actually normal roast beef. When this was queried, the same waitress said "no it's definitely salt beef". Someone please let her know what salt beef is, the 7 people on our table who happen to work in the restaurant trade, and those who didn't all knew better.
-When we called to book the table they wanted a £10 deposit per head. We declined this as we go very often and know that the brunch service is always dead with not a customer in sight. So we were certain they wouldn't be able to turn away the custom of ten people and low and behold, we were seated swiftly in the empty restaurant.

But most outraging of all: -My friend was sat directly opposite me and I watched her pull a long dark hair from underneath her bacon. When she queried this, the not so lovely Laura proceeded to argue with her and keep repeating "nobody in the kitchen has that couloir hair- It's yours". Somebody teach her some customer service will you? She persisted to argue with her and my mum plus two others and when we asked "what are you gaining by arguing." She sloped back to the kitchen. My friend in question has long, bright blonde hair and the hair was jet black. We were all flabbergasted. Nothing was taken off the bill for all their wrong doings, no apology was offered and therefore my husband and I will no longer be 2 of their best customers.

Sack this Laura and bring back Craig- exceptional service with a smile. Oh, and maybe introduce hair nets as policy in your kitchen!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank kristinalouise_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A big surprise?”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Well done yet again Goose Fat, another comfortable night with excellent Tapas a lovely crisp, dry Sauvignon Blanc and good knowledgeable staff.
The big surprise was a pear frangipane which was just amazing, I would recommend that dessert to anyone, thank you.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoottHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goose Fat & Garlic also viewed

Sawbridgeworth, Hertfordshire
Harlow, Essex
 
Sawbridgeworth, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Goose Fat & Garlic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing