We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of Railway Hotel

Railway Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Railway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sawbridgeworth
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Was just out for a drive and was looking for somewhere for lunch when we saw the Railway Hotel. Food was excellent and such great value for money, friendly staff and very clean. The beer was great too so they obviously take care of their pumps. I will definitely be back - lots of parking too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 33 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is the second time we've stayed here, the staff remembered us from last year and made us feel more than welcome. Rooms, food and service were all excellent again.
Don't let the proximity of the railway station put you off, the electric trains are very quiet and add to the atmosphere rather than detract from it.
We're very much into bird watching, the leafy courtyard had the added bonus of Blue Tits nesting in the wall mounted ash tray this year, with a notice saying Do not use, birds nesting :-) Also saw a Jay and there was a Cuckoo nearby.
Arrived a day early and saw that Laterooms said that the hotel was fully booked. They were lying, if I had phoned I could have got a room. Thanks a bunch Laterooms.
Looking forward to our next stay at The Railway Hotel :-)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ziggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

we travel from liverpool often to see our daurter and family somtimes we stay at her house butwhen she first moved house we always stayed at the railway all the staff put themselves out to make it a good stay and we still like to stay there for a chonge now and then and our grandaughter megan is like one of the family there she loves all the meals and stays in our room just to have there great breakfast that carnt be bad for a 6yr old they know her from birth looking forward to booking again in the near future love to all the staff ron&marie from liverpool xxxxxx

Room Tip: we need to take wheelchair and there are no worries at all charging it up they are very helpfull im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Great for watching football, reasonable beer prices too. Very clean and friendly atmosphere. I have not stayed in accommodation but heard that it is nice. It's dead close to the station as well so that was handy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The Railway Hotel is a welcoming place, we arrived too late to eat but they were happy to cook us a quick burger and chips which was welcoming. The room was large and had all the basic facilities expected. We was in room 3 which is on the ground floor, the room was extremely hot and being on the ground floor, I wasn't happy to leave the windows open all night.
The staff were helpful and very friendly, and nothing was too much for them. We stayed for one night as we was attending a birthday party. The hotel is located next to the railway station.

Room Tip: If you want to leave the window open at night, ask for 1st floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I used this hotel to meet a friend over from Cyprus for a few days. It was a Monday lunchtime, so fairly quiet. We entered the pub to find a large, clean bar-room with plenty of tables and chairs. The optics and pumps were gleaming. This to me along with clean toilets, is the sign of a well-run pub. After ordering a drink we perused the fairly comprehensive English pub food menu. We both settled for a sausage and onion baguette, this was served with salad and chips. We both thought they were very tasty. The staff were friendly and chatty which gave the pub a nice atmosphere. Although I didn't stay there myself, I would recommend it based on the quality of the pub alone. If you need to stay local, stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Downloader141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I booked the Railway hotel based on the reviews of others and I'm happy to say the Railway hotel was good. The hotel has apart from the rooms also a restaurant + pub area where a lot of people includings locals were staying on the night we stayed. On arrival we were welcomed by a friendly owner and shown to our bedroom
The room we had was very spacious and tidy and allthough close to the railway we were not disturbed by any noise. The double room we had did not have a very large bed, if this is important to yo ask for a twin room The hotel has a large carpark also handy if you have car and trailer with you on your travels. Next morning we had a cooked breakfast (not included in the roomprice) which was plentyfull. The staff at breakfast was friendly and helpfull.
Would stay again.

In Sawbridgeworth there are a couple of restaurants, the trains from the next door stations take you into London.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marten1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sawbridgeworth
2.7 mi away
Down Hall Hotel & Spa
Down Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
1,700 reviews
2.2 mi away
Green Man Hotel
Green Man Hotel
#4 of 8 in Harlow
303 reviews
1.4 mi away
Little Hallingbury Mill
Little Hallingbury Mill
#1 of 1 in Little Hallingbury
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Cock Inn
The Cock Inn
#1 of 1 in Sheering
175 reviews
1.6 mi away
Manor Of Groves Hotel
Manor Of Groves Hotel
#1 of 1 in High Wych
659 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hunters Meet Hotel
Hunters Meet Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railway Hotel

Address: Station Road, Sawbridgeworth CM21 9LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Sawbridgeworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sawbridgeworth
Hotel Class:3 star — Railway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railway Hotel Sawbridgeworth, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing