We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A solid, good quality 4* Hotel”
Review of Hotel Castell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Castell
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Zuoz
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A solid, good quality 4* Hotel”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Hotel Castell can be considered as a solid, good quality 4* Hotel. The Castell, built some 100 years ago, is sitting on a little hill. The building itself was renovated 10 years ago. The rooms are modern, some of them with a wooden touch. In the Bar and dining room area, one can still see the charm of the old times. The kitchen is good, service as well and the breakfast buffet is not to miss. Staff at the reception is very attentive and helpful. The Hotel has direct access to the Zuoz ski area and is 20 minutes away from the slopes of St. Moritz. The room rate and menu prices are very decent compared to the upper Engadin price level. I can warmly recommend this nice Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    44
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
48
101
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baden, Aargau, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

There are several reasons why we keep going there: fine food, great receptionists, art works all over the places, a nice Hamam, fabulous scenery, ambiente, stylish rooms, the fantastic mountains of the Engadine etc etc

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are expensive, the others less expensive but just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 975manrey975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The hotel is located in a beautiful castle-like building. The interior has been remodeled in a most stylish way, without destroying the old charme of the building. A super nice spa, delicious food in the hotel's bar and restaurant and extremly friendly stuff make you feel cosy and relaxed already hours upon arrival. I'm never getting tired to come back here again and again for a few days of pure relaxation and pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassandra1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel has a beautiful view over the Engadin valley, a small gym on its highest floor in the tower as well as a great spa.
The staff is very friendly and welcoming, the restaurant serve great dinner.
I recommend this very much, except for the bicycles they lend out for 'free'. These are decent bikes for the road, but if you plan doing some mountain biking, these 'mountain bikes' are really worth nothing, rather bring your own bikes.
But it is just a little complaint for a very good hotel.

Room Tip: get a room with valley-side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chanzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We recently traveled to Zuoz and stayed at this hotel. We had a terrific stay. The hotel was beautifully furnished and our view of the mountains was terrific. We were also very happy that their "kindergarten" was able to watch our 7 month old baby during the wedding reception. The caretakers were very good, and Clarissa was very helpful in coordinating the care. They even stayed an hour later to watch our baby.

I had a terrific massage and the Hamam was wonderful.

We also were close to many good hiking trails. I hope to come back and stay at this wonderful place.

Room Tip: Our room with mountain view and balcony was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stcove99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We came here with another family with small children. We had a great time!! There are a plenty of play area for all weather in the hotel and staff at kindergarten is very friendly and responsible. The food was okay, not so special but the selections of local produce is excellent. The service staff is rather unfriendly for this type of hotel but okay. The rooms are nicely designed and have great views of the valley and mountains. I was disappointed about the minimum amenities in the bathroom. There were local wall nuts cake and a house-made jam as a welcome gift. The selections of arts in the hotel make your stay very special if you like contemporary art. Hamam was nice but I should have stayed longer for
Massage and outdoor bath experience. We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed there with my whole family for an extended weekend and just had a wonderful time. Excellent Service, friendly staff and the hotel is very charming. The food as well the newly opened Hamam are great. Nothing to complain about and we are definitely are coming back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_G017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zuoz
0.6 mi away
Hotel Allegra
Hotel Allegra
#2 of 5 in Zuoz
35 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Crusch Alva
#5 of 5 in Zuoz
46 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Engiadina
Hotel Engiadina
#3 of 5 in Zuoz
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Bernina 1865
Hotel Bernina 1865
#2 of 5 in Samedan
322 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Crusch Alba
Hotel Crusch Alba
#1 of 7 in Zernez
161 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Chesa Stuva Colani
Hotel Chesa Stuva Colani
#1 of 2 in Madulain
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castell

Property: Hotel Castell
Address: Via Castell 300 | 7524 Zuoz, Zuoz 7524, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Zuoz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Zuoz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Castell 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Castell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castell Hotel Zuoz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing