We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“yet another great stay!”
Review of Hotel Engiadina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Engiadina
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Zuoz
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“yet another great stay!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I returned to the Engiadina after almost 2 years and had been anxious to see what had become of the hotel after its promising renovation. I was slightly worried that the initial enthusiasm following the re-opening might have faded away by now, as it so often does. However, on the contrary, the hotel seems to be continuously improving!
This time I found a new under-ground garage hidden away beneath the new, stunning sun terrace which they have just opened this summer. The view of the mountains one gets while having a drink on the terrace is quite spectacular!
Congratulations for the continued efforts and nice to see that these guys do not rest on their laurels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Salus123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    16
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
31
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was our second time at the Engiadina. Like last year, we used the Engiadina as our base for our golfing trip around the Upper Engadin. Apart from the great food in the two restaurants in the hotel, which we already knew from our last stay, we particularly enjoyed the sun terrace which they added this summer. We regularly enjoyed having our breakfast there and relaxed there after a long day on the golf course ;)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Marion, New York
Level Contributor
141 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This was an overnight stop while cross country skiing through the EngadineValley. The staff was helpful, the hotel offered spacious sitting areas, and the room was quiet, clean and offered comfortable bedding. While this is an old building, updated renovations throughout. Lovely view out to the village. Dining in their dining room was pleasant with good food and good service. I would recommend this hotel to visitors to Zuoz.

Room Tip: hotel is centrally located in Zuoz - rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bdweave02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Maine
Level Contributor
252 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spent two and half weeks travelling around Switzerland and the Hotel Engiadina in Zuoz was one of the best hotels we stayed at anywhere in the country. The rooms are generous by any standard, but feel especially large compared to the tiny rooms usually encountered here. The rooms were well-appointed and very well-kept, with views of the Alps out the windows. The bathrooms were modern and spacious. The complimentary wi-fi was easy to use and reliable. The common areas were also very spacious and equally well-kept, although the elevator was the usual tiny Swiss affair. The staff were friendly and efficient, and the food served in the hotel restaurant was some of the best we had in Switzerland. The hotel is conveniently located a block from the train station and a block from the main square, though the charming village of Zuoz is tiny enough that nothing is ever more than a couple of blocks away.

A final note for American visitors: In addition to the entry level, there is an additional floor of common areas, so a "first" floor room is actually on the third floor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaineScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
253 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We loved the hotel - it's big airy rooms, fabulous food at breakfast and dinner - but it was just a bit odd in that they have decided to demolish the outdoor pool and garden area to make a hotel car park. We were treated to building noise/works from 0700 each morning. It makes this hotel not worth a visit in the summer as there is no where to sit outdoors as the rooms don't have balconies. Also, there are huge lounge areas, but in the evenings the lights are not switched on in these areas not encouraging you to sit anywhere after your evening meal. As a group, we would have liked to sit more in communal areas but this did not seem to be encouraged. Also the staff seemed to either be fabulous or not have any knoweldge. I asked about how to get to Guarda, a local medieval village recommended by our tour company, but the girl on the front desk had to ask two people where it was which was bizarre, especially after we visited it and realised it was a fabulously special trip. So loved the rooms - large, plenty of space, beautiful double sinks in the bathrooms and large showers, but shame about the crane outside our window. Apparently this hotel used to be family owned but is now corporately owned so perhaps shows the changes away from those personal touches.

Room Tip: Check whether the building work and swimming pool demolition/car park creation are still going on an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skl2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Although originally a 19th century building, our party's rooms were furnished to a high modern standard with excellent showers, and great views over the Engadine valley (one with balcony). Good buffet breakfast. Very helpful staff. Lift.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BTJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

The staff at this hotel are not only efficient, professional and friendly, they seem to love their jobs. They made us feel like we were staying with friends. They are extraordinarily multi-lingual and quick to satisfy any requirements we had. The location is excellent in the most beautiful village in Switzerland and the 2 restaurants have very delicious, fresh and satisfying menus as well as some good wines. The rooms are cosy and very quiet although I understand there is going to be a big refurbishment. We were really delighted to have discovered the Engiadina and heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SophiaBBaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zuoz
0.5 mi away
Hotel Castell
Hotel Castell
#1 of 5 in Zuoz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Crusch Alva
#5 of 5 in Zuoz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Allegra
Hotel Allegra
#2 of 5 in Zuoz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Klarer
Hotel Klarer
#3 of 5 in Zuoz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Bernina 1865
Hotel Bernina 1865
#3 of 5 in Samedan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Chesa Stuva Colani
Hotel Chesa Stuva Colani
#1 of 2 in Madulain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Engiadina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Engiadina

Property: Hotel Engiadina
Address: San Bastiaun 13 | near to St. Moritz, Zuoz 7524, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Zuoz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Zuoz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Engiadina 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Engiadina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing