We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch in paradise”
Review of Alcaufar Vell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alcaufar Vell
Ranked #1 of 4 Sant Lluis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2011

My wife and I went again to the Hotel Alcaufar Vell for lunch and it was the best meal we've ever had in our lives: quality, presentation, service, ambience etc. Incredibly we were the only people there...a travesty. I can only commend it to anyone resident or visiting. We've a place on Menorca and have been going regularly for 10 years, eating at most of the best restaurants on the island. This is the best.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
10  Thank JEC45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 175 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2011

We'll will definitely come back to this marvellous hotel. All rooms are really spotless, with a jacuzzi bath. Personal service is exceptionally welcoming. Some of the rooms are located in the main building with outstanding sea views, others are situated in adjacent buildings with a wonderful terrace, where you can lay down under the sun while you hear the birds. As well, a swimming pool. The main building dates back to the XII century. The whole property has been wonderfully restored. That's really good value for money. Alone, a couple or the whole family, it's the place to go. Recommend it! Excellent!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank III-XI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

We spent 8 days in Menorca, 2 of which were at Alcaufar Vell. We stayed in a superior room with terrace - the room was well furnished and comfortable. Whilst the hotel is in a rural area, towns, villages, beaches and the nearest city (Mao) are all easily accessible. Sant Lluis is only a couple of kms down the road and has some decent tapas bars if you don't want to stray too far. The beach at Alcalfar is small, but peaceful with a nice restaurant for seafood just next to the beach. Cala Fonts is another option close by for bars/restaurants. The only downside was that we were disappointed with the food on the evening we chose to eat at the hotel. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank meg987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

This hotel has become one of our favorites both with and without friends. The restaurant is superb with a twist on traditional spanish food particularly the tapas. Slightly off the beaten track but a few minutes drive from the sea and approximately 15 minutes drive from the airport.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ACAMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Having just spent a weekend at this delightful Menorcan Rural Hotel I would highly recommend anybody looking for a retreat & peaceful break to try here.
On arrival we were pampered fully from reception to restaurant and nothing was too much trouble and so nice to see staff working together as a team,
Having spent two nights here relaxing in the tranquility & sunshine I can only say we look forward to our next visit to this little hideaway in Menorca.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gorgeous1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hyppo53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jürgen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Lluis
3.4 mi away
Artiem Carlos III Adults Only
3.7 mi away
Boutique Hotel Jardi de ses Bruixes
2.0 mi away
Biniarroca Hotel
Biniarroca Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sant Lluis
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hotel Torralbenc
Hotel Torralbenc
#3 of 10 in Alaior
229 reviews
24.0 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,371 reviews
24.2 mi away
La Quinta Menorca Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcaufar Vell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcaufar Vell

Address: Carretera Alcalfar, Km.8, 07710, Sant Lluis, Menorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Sant Lluis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sant Lluis
Price Range: $157 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alcaufar Vell 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alcaufar Vell is situated within one of the most beautiful and tranquil natural reserves in south-east Minorca, surrounded by lovely beaches with clear waters and fine sand, it also has a leafy, wooded ravine, an ancient watchtower looking out over the Mediterranean, a kilometer of virgin coastline, and almost 250 acres of land for long walks. It has an enjoyable, friendly and family atmosphere with the comfort and independence of guests given maximum priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alcaufar Vell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcaufar Vell Hotel Sant Lluis Es
Alcaufar Vell Sant Lluis, Menorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing