We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If this is not perfection, it resembles it to an uncanny degree.”
Review of Biniarroca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Biniarroca Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sant Lluis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2010

We have lost count of how many years we've been staying a Biniarroca, my wife, and I. It's one of those dreamlike oases that draw you back, again and again. We were last here for a long weekend in August this year, although we'd already spent nearly three weeks at the hotel in July. Like all the great hideaways, it's hard to put your finger on what makes it so special: the labyrinthine gardens (like being lost in a sub-tropical Monet), the viridian swimming pools - two of them - or the comforting, tenebrous tranquillity of the house itself. A house whose exterior is pure rustic Menorca, but whose interior is English Country House luxury in the corner of a foreign field. Every detail has been considered by the two charming owners-in-residence, from Sheelagh's collection of vintage crocodile handbags in the library to the wall display of antique bird cages in the restaurant and at every turn there are Lindsay's dreamy, vibrant canvasses that seduce the gardens back into the hotel. Breakfast is a delight, from the freshest of seasonal fruits to quirky local specialities, like sobrasada rolls, queso de Mahon and ensaimadas, and at night the head waiter, Juan Carlos (a man whose charm seems like a branch of the martial arts) guides you effortlessly through a menu where Menorcan cuisine - a tricky beast to track down - is elevated to international standards; this is a destination restaurant, and it's no accident that it featured on the cover of House & Garden's hidden gems supplement last year. The bedrooms - we have stayed in four different ones (including one of the secluded garden suites, converted from an old cowshed) are exquisitely furnished and appointed, with - do not be fooled by the period detail - highly efficient air-conditioning (still a rarity on the island) and wi-fi. As to the staff, all of them somehow manage to make you feel that Biniarroca is their home and that you are their most welcome guest. As to the guests, you do tend to see the same hedonistic recidivists each year - whose faces all bear the same genial expression of pampered bliss; Spanish couples on a romantic hideaway, English literati seeking a quiet spot to finish the next chapter - and the restful absence of children. As one of our fellow guests remarked as we floated gently in the pool, sipping our pomadas - if this is not perfection, then it resembles it to an uncanny degree.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antipasto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 269 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2010

Lovely country house with attractive interiors and super garden and pool. We stayed two nights in a pretty room with a comfortable bed.situated on the ground floor; we also had an almost private terrace. Breakfast was good and all the staff we met very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was only open to residents, with a restricted menu which seemed aimed at the British palate. The lamb cultets were dry through being overcooked and covered in some sort of breadcrumbs - there was no jus , our nice head waiter did find some when asked. The boeuf bourguignonne (why in Spain?) was missing baby onions, bacon lardons and garlic! At over 30 euros for two courses, seriously overpriced and a disappointment. On our second night we went to the Sa Pedrera d'Pujol in the little village of Torrett, just outside Sant Lluis. Excellent 30 Euro menu with fine Minorcan cooking.
We would return as the Biniarroca makes a fine B&B, and this we would be happy to recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maisie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Stayed here for four nights at the end of September and really enjoyed the experience. Simple but very comfortable bedroom totally in keeping with the country style of Biniarroca. Ate dinner the first night, good food and wine with excellent service. Lovely breakfast with great service. The gardens are really beautiful and lots of cosy corners to relax in. A great stay and will certainly return.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shuttleworth_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

The whole team at the Bianirroca are wonderful and genuine and could not do enough for us which really made our stay. (I wanted to leave after the second night)
Breakfast was mediocre at best. Freshly cooked eggs, Menorcan cheese and meats and some cake was really about it.
Lunch by the pool was outrageously expensive with a toasted cheese sandwich £8.00 and a small bowl of fries £4.00.
The food in the restaurant for dinner was very good even though the menu (and the price) could be straight from any hotel in London, which I found somewhat disappointing. As a well travelled Chef I was looking forward to dining at the Biniarroca as it regarded as one of the best restaurants on the island. I suppose it comes down to personal taste as my opinion certainly does not echo that.
The Hotel has a lovely relaxed feel to it and the pool area is really very nice with ample shaded areas should one need to have a break from the sun.
The room was a huge let down and was not even on par with what I would expect from a B&B. It was tiny, damp and dated. I know the Hotel is in a converted Farm house but it really needs updating. The bed was two singles shoved together and they were just old and tired and so uncomfortable one needed a few ports to fall asleep.
The decor in the room and the bed being so bad I felt like I was waking up in a camp bed in a dining room.
The location is rural and a car is really needed to get around. We did not have a car and got taxis around which was not so bad but a car would have allowed us more freedom for sure.
We were the youngest guests by about 15 years and that did impact on our stay a little. I also have to agree with a previous comment that most of the other guests seem to be rather pretentious which is a shame. I would say the location, tariff and restaurant have all been put together to attract that age group and type of clientele.
We dined out a lot and had some really great seafood and Tapas in a couple of places recommended by Alicia and Juan-Carlos from the hotel and a couple of places we found on our own.
We may return to the Island at sometime in the future but not stay at the Biniarroca. It really is overpriced for the standard of the accommodation and I am sure there is better available in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Roaming1Rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Have just returned from a stay at Biniarroca. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday, the weather was fantastic and the beaches were great. The hotel, however, was somewhat disappointing. Our room ( admittedly the cheapest on offer, but still 160 Euros per night for bed and breakfast ) was pretty basic, no English TV channels, no tea/coffee facilities, and no comfortable sittiing area or balcony. Other rooms with balconies or terraces were over 200 Euros per night.The staff were friendly and helpful, breakfasts were good and the pool area was beautiful. Unfortunately the majority of the guests were English and we felt that the atmosphere was somewhat pretentious. Dinner was very expensive and we found it much cheaper and far more enjoyable to go out to Es Castell or Mahon where there was a good range of restaurants on the harbourside. The hotel is conveniently located just outside Mahon and not far from the airport, but although the location is 'rural' it is definitely not in one of the most scenic locations, the surrounding countryside being very flat and comparatively uninteresting.
We would go back to Menorca, but we would definitely not go back to Biniarroca.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jlh201084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

We just had 10 fabulous days here at this inviting, tranquil, beautifully styled small rural hotel. Set up by two English women they have achieved so many delightful touches, not least the Italian inspired garden and the wonderful pool area which was much used by the British guests.
The staff, many of whom are English, are the best. Friendly, attentive and just great people.
People flock from around the island to eat dinner there. It is a delightful restaurant with a fabulous Maitre D, though we also ate out some nights when we wanted simpler food or tapas.
We will return without doubt.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiggyWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Just returned from a long weekend stay at Hotel Biniarroca and it has to be the best hotel stay we have ever experienced. The hotel was within 15 minutes transfer from the airport but we didn't see or hear an aircraft during the entire stay. The staff were thoughtful, friendly, helpful and cheerful and we would rate the whole service as 11/10. The food was excellent and well worth the cost. We read a few negitive comments before we went and we honestly don't know where they came from. If you are looking for a discreet, quiet, friendly, chill out place to stay to unwind and relax, this is the place to go. Know that it will be more expensive that your usual hotel and budget accordingly and you will enjoy the whole stay. Thank You Sheila, Lindsay, Alicia, Mati, John and all the staff at Biniarroca, we look forward to seeing you again very soon. Jon and Vicky - Room 8. PS. Try and get there for a Fiesta Weekend, it was truly a fantasic atmosphere in the Town.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonLaw3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Lluis
23 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,375 reviews
1.9 mi away
Artiem Carlos III Adults Only
23.2 mi away
La Quinta Menorca Hotel & Spa
La Quinta Menorca Hotel & Spa
#1 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hotel Torralbenc
Hotel Torralbenc
#3 of 10 in Alaior
229 reviews
1.8 mi away
Boutique Hotel Jardi de ses Bruixes
12.8 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Biniarroca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biniarroca Hotel

Address: Cami Vell 57, 07710, Sant Lluis, Menorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Sant Lluis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sant Lluis
Price Range: $175 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Biniarroca Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Biniarroca is a small stylish boutique hotel, just outside the village of Sant LLuis on the island of Menorca. An oasis of calm, wellbeing and rejuvenation. Extensive gardens, 2 swimming pools and lime stone terraces encourage a relaxing environment to chill out, meditate, paint, write or to simply indulge in delicious cuisine and fine wines in beautiful surroundings. This hotel promotes an adults only environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Biniarroca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biniarroca Hotel Sant Lluis Es
Biniarroca Hotel Sant Lluis, Menorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing