We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Club Sur Menorca
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sant Lluis
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

we stayed here last week with our 2 children, the area is very quiet, which we liked, there is a very frequent shuttle bus to punta prima where there are a few shops and a beautiful Beach.
The food was good, plenty of choice and the restaurant area was nice and spacious.
The staff are all very friendly and we would like to give a great big a thanks to the 3 entertainment staff who were fabulous when looking after our kids in the kids club, but also throughout the days and evenings, keeping everyone smiling, we thought the hotel was nice, clean and relaxing, bear in mind it is 3star, if the other reviewers were not happy perhaps they should think about paying a little more money and going 5 star.
We would have to make a comment as other reviewers have done about the influx of French people, they were rude, noisy,obnoxious, showed no regard for the other guests and were generally not very nice, Hopefully this was a one off and the hotel management will review its policies, all in all though a great holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view, it is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    640
    343
    102
    85
See reviews for
827
445
18
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

I stayed with a friend at this hotel in May last month on an all inclusive basis for £300 each inc flights and was pleasantly surprised!

Most of the staff were very friendly, the younger bar staff were very nice, the food was quite the same but delicious, only one day out of 7 could we not find anything nice to eat.
The WIFI is free in reception which we didn't figure out until the last day.
The pool is often full of kids and there is a team of three people who are paid to wear them out with dancing which was still on at half 10 and it was the same every night but didn't really bother us, some nights I even joined in! The all inclusive was good for getting local gin etc and also they serve food pretty much all day which is terrific if you want to do something at a specific time. If you want a packed lunch the following day you need to order before 1

We took the free bus to punta prima and had a really nice day visiting the shops and beach there although there is only one row... And when you stay at this hotel don't expect to just walk round the corner and find a good bar because there is nowhere around at all!!!
The bus into Mahon was cheap and we had a look round the market stalls which were all knock off sunglasses and wallets so we went to the nicer end shops and found some nice things.
You can rent bikes as well to do all the bike trails across the island
I don't know if I would go back but it was a pleasant get away.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Travelled to sur menorca again this time it was not so good.. The garden area next to the kiddies pool was all overgrown,old sun loungers strewn around,The entertainment was very poor it was left mostly to the young animation team who work extremly hard all day long.The highlight of the week was the drifters who were very good.. As the world cup was on most british people had put England flags on the balconies, monday,tuesday,wednesday, the football was shown come thursday when England were playing there was a notice put on the tv, OUT OF ORDER......All the holiday makers were really angry, and had to find a bar in the resort that wre showing it...Saturday night about 150 French visitors arrived come 11pm as the bar was closing they all stood on the tables and chairs chanting football songs.. Families with young children and people leaving early morning could not get to sleep and everyone was complaining to the hotel staff, one young French waiter even said "sometimes i am ashamed of my country" we were lucky as we were leaving on monday morning.. Also there are plans to build a water park just opposite the hotel which will attract mostly young familys... On a higher note we could not fault the staff especailly Anna on the reception, the mini bus driver, and the cleaners..... will i return a 5th time next year iam not to sure ....

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glenolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Booked this hotel via Thompsons/First Choice and paid £1100 for 10 nights All-Inclusive for the two of us. No problems with Thompsons or flights/transfers.
We were already aware that beach towels were not provided which we thought strange for an AI deal so had to add weight to our already restricted baggage allowance.
Checking in was swift (in other words the hotel gave us very little info) and we headed to our room. The corridors were a bit drab and the carpet worn out and stained in places. The room was quite small but adequate and bathroom had just a 800 x 800 shower tray with sliding doors. This leaked onto the floor each time we showered and we did our best to mop it up with the bath mat each time. Rooms were cleaned daily and the bed linen was changed regularly. Fresh towels were provided but on one occasion they only left one bath towel. I tried to contact reception but there was no reply so I walked down to ask for another towel. Unfortunately I couldn't get anywhere near the desk as they were checking in a whole coachload of guests. So we made do with one towel and mentioned it to the cleaner the following morning. Apart from that the room was OK. Just about.
We were there on the night of the first England World Cup game due to start at Midnight local time so I checked with reception if it would be shown in the TV lounge but they said "NO! - you will have to walk up the road to the bar as they will be showing it". As you can imagine, there were a number of guests (20-30) who had to make this pilgrimage up the road to the bar. OK, as it was quite late, although disappointed by the hotel's stand on this I reluctantly accepted it. We watched several other World Cup games in the TV lounge after that including Spain's defeat on the Wednesday night. It was England's next game the following evening (9pm KO) but during the day I noticed a sign on the TV "Out Of Order". I challenged the guy on reception who said it had "broken" after Wednesday night and may not be fixed for a few days. How convenient.
This is the first time EVER that I not been able to watch World Cup football on a hotel TV whilst on holiday and I found it quite annoying.
Whereas up until the following weekend, we could always get a lounger on the grassy area behind the pool and there was only ever about 6 people waiting at the (one and only small bar) we were then invaded by a further 300 guests. Although the restaurant seemed to cope quite well, the bar was constantly 30-40 deep with people waiting to be served. This is unacceptable.

There were some good points regarding the location just outside Punta Prima but the hotel itself was a let down and we will not be going back.

Room Tip: None at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dodger2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sant Lluis hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is ok, clean and fairly well maintained , although our balcony door stuck quite a lot but not really a problem. Shower head had no hanger so you had to hold shower or risk flooding bathroom. Worst part of the stay was the French guests who took it upon themselves to pull a group of tables together and shout and sing loudly at every opportunity, families with children who want to sleep can pretty much forget it. We were in the bar at 11 pm when the all inclusive finishes( a bit early if you ask me ) and we couldn't have a conversation because of the racket made by the French . So we went to bed early and could still hear them well into the night . Internet is expensive as are the room safes, I would have thought they would be included or at a reduced price for all inclusive. A 3 star maybe, just about, have been now and wouldn't return , nothing to do and I mean nothing.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snatcher01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Hotel had clean rooms and a clean pool area. It is an ok hotel for a 3 star. Staff are friendly. All inclusive opens at 11 and closes at 11 no bottled water included in thre all inclusive and if you have kids ice creams etc only available at certain times. Food reasonabley good. Hotel spoilt by loud boistrous french people who where quite rowdy. Very little to do other than whats available in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreab001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

The island itself was lovely, the only thing that let us down was the hotel.

I know not to expect much from a 3 star but Hotel Sur Menorca really did disappoint us. If your a couple avoid this hotel!!!

The Room:
Our room was very dated, marks all over the walls, stains on the curtains and an odd smell in the bathroom that never went away. Also 30 euros for the safe key!

The Hotel:
Long dark corridors with no windows, missing smoke alarms and stains all over the floors.

Food:
We paid for all inclusive though after one evening meal we decided to eat out for the rest of our stay due to minimum option and it being cold. The breakfast was slightly better, though again the English Breakfast option was always cold.

Entertainment:
Was awful, bingo was repeated more than once during the week. Felt like being at Butlins.

Pool:
The only good thing about this hotel was the pool area. Clean and plenty of sun beds.

Location:
In the middle of no where, you need a car to escape and to seek better evening entertainment!

Overall I would not return or recommend to any of my friends, plenty of better resorts to stay on the island!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Lluis
14.9 mi away
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Club Hotel Aguamarina
#3 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
2,507 reviews
0.5 mi away
Occidental Menorca
Occidental Menorca
#3 of 6 in Punta Prima
2,381 reviews
2.2 mi away
PortBlue San Luis
PortBlue San Luis
#1 of 2 in S'Algar
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.1 mi away
Globales Binimar Apartments
Globales Binimar Apartments
#12 of 56 in Ciutadella
394 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grupotel Mar de Menorca
Grupotel Mar de Menorca
#1 of 1 in Cala Canutells
1,266 reviews
11.5 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Club Sur Menorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club Sur Menorca

Property: Hotel Club Sur Menorca
Address: Cala de Biniancolla, 07710, Sant Lluis, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Sant Lluis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sant Lluis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Club Sur Menorca 3*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Club Sur Menorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sur Menorca
Club Hotel Sur Menorca
Hotel Club Sur Menorca Sant Lluis, Minorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing