We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel, brilliant experience”
Review of Santa Rosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Santa Rosa Hotel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Torrox
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I booked this hotel (the Santa Rosa's sister hotel Torre Arena) for a week away with a friend in late August and we absolutely loved our stay. We were both 19 and looking for a holiday with both nightlife relatively close by, but also the chance to relax during the day. This area/hotel definitely achieved that. For a 3 star hotel I was pleasantly surprised by the size and quality of the room, and both the breakfast and dinner. There wasn't a large selection for breakfast, but there was enough. There was a larger selection for dinner and all the food was good, we definitely didn't go hungry.
Other reviewers have complained about the lack of English speaking staff, however we didn't share this problem. All the receptionists spoke English, and we had no language barriers. Yes, outside of the hotel in the bars there weren't many English speakers, but ordering a drink or food is easy enough.
The area is quiet, which we liked, with a beach and plenty of bars and restaurants both along the beach area and along the roads and streets. The area is relatively lively at night, with families and large groups of people all out. The beach is brilliant at this time too.
One thing that we really enjoyed was La Noche, a bar held in the back garden of the Santa Rosa. The garden was stunning, with lights all around and candles on the tables, and you're practically sitting on the beach to watch the sun go down: perfect.
There are loads of bus services close to the hotel, and the hotel has all the timetables in reception. The buses go practically everywhere along the coast for extremely cheap prices. We travelled to Nerja several times to enjoy the nightlife as there are no clubs/lively bars in the immediate area.

In summary, I would definitely recommend this hotel and/or area. Everything we expected from a 3 star hotel was met, and more. The food, rooms, and staff were all great, and the surrounding area was just what we wanted. A perfect holiday experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitlin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRHoteles, Community Manager at Santa Rosa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Customer,

We love to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Torrox Costa Hotel Santa Rosa and we are delighted that you have chosen us to enjoy your well-deserved rest. As comets location of our hotel is unique and you can enjoy all the charm of the sea from our garden. We hope to have you with us.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for Santa Rosa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 159 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

We were escaping the Scottish winter in January and stumbled upon this hotel near Torrox Costa on the Costa del Sol. Impeccably clean. well located and, because we were lucky with particularly warm January nights, the only thing we heard was the waves on the beach. The breakfast was typical for Spain and offered a good variety. Really, an un expectedly good value and restful few days.The staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful and did their best with limited English. Evening meals are better taken elsewhere.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have large terraces.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atlflyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRHoteles, Community Manager at Santa Rosa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Customer,

We are glad to hear that you spent a pleasant stay at Hotel Santa Rosa this winter. Thanks for rating our value. We hope to have you with us on your next visit to Torrox. We invite you to follow us on Facebook.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was my second stay at the Santa Rosa and I felt immediately at home. It is a basic, friendly hotel, well situated for exploring this beautiful area. The staff are very friendly and accommodating and the rooms are clean, pleasant and cosy. Both times, I have been fortunate in having a sea view which was stunning. The little garden at the back of the hotel is lovely ( sunbeds could do with updating) and the beach beyond is great. I would stay here again and again. Great value for money and a personal touch.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view (stunning).
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molero12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRHoteles, Community Manager at Santa Rosa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Friend,

Thank you very much for your faithfulness. We love sber you're back to enjoy a wonderful stay with us in Torrox-Costa. We look forward to your next visit. We invite you to follow us on our Facebook page.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed in Santa Rosa 4th till 11 Sept the hotel is clean and tidy, rooms are change and cleaned every day and the staff are great they help you out all they can, they printed a bus timetable out for us and the day we left was 04-45 so they packed us a meal.Meals were not great it was a continental breakfast every morning with no change and the evening meal there was not a lot better though we did manage a meal every night.If you wanted to get any english type food there were no restaurants about for this (not even a english breakfast).We were the only two british in the Hotel 80% were Germans and they were up to there usual tricks with sunbeds & food so if you wanted anything you had to get in early.Torrex was a 5min bus ride & Nerja about 15 mins away both cost 1e-16cents on Express bus,both are worth a vist Nerja being the livelier of the two but Torrex has a good market on Monday.If you want to stay at the Santa Rosa you must make sure that it is the only named Hotel on your booking form if not you are likely to be put across the road in the Torre,we would sit on our balcony every day watching people going across the road,
Sam Epping

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EppingSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRHoteles, Community Manager at Santa Rosa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We will take note of all your comments and suggestions. We are happy that although some details have enjoyed your stay. We hope to have you back with us.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We booked the Santa Rosa from The 5th to 12th September.... on arrival we were sent across the road to the sister hotel,Torre Arena as the SR was fully booked. We arrived at 10pm and were told to leave our luggage with reception and go for dinner... bonus after travelling . The food is not fantastic....most evenings you have salad...then fish... sometimes sardines, 2 nights swordfish( extremely bony) 5 nights out of 7 there was belly pork on the menu, one night beef and one night chicken legs. There was always soup and pudding.... mostly we stuck to fruit. Breakfasts were disgusting.... one big tray of scrambled egg which had to be reheated in the microwave, selection of bread which took ages to toast( 3 times thru the machine) and 3trays of cold meat. There would be yogurt each morning but only 15 or so, therefore if u were not down really early you got none. Our room was on the 1st floor, 4 beds ( there were 2 of us ) with a view of 4 other Windows!! We asked to be moved and were told to ask on Sunday. We did, and were moved to 2nd floor, a twin room with balcony...not big enough to sit out on but enough to let you step outside, if you looked left you would see the mountains, to the right was other balconies and straight ahead was a Wall!!! The rooms were spotless, beds made up every day, fresh towels every day too. The pool on the roof is open from 11 til 7:30, but by 6:30 hotel staff were hovering, waiting to get everything closed up. The cafe on the roof is a hit or a miss,meant to be open same as pool times, . It was often closed early afternoon and not open again. There is no bar in the hotel,there are no kettles etc in your room, and the reception has no water or drink machine, so buy water etc from the supermarket immediately next door. The hotel is In El Morche, a wee quiet village on the sea . The next main town is Torrox Costa, not a huge lot there either but the sea front is beautiful. Local buses serve the village well,and are very cheap... much cheaper than hiring a car. RAFAELS bar in El Morche is worth a visit... he is right on the sea front and open until very late ie 2am,or whenever the last customer goes home..... the food is great, wine is 1Euro per glass, free WiFi, and he plays music in the background all night.....he's even been known to bring out his guitar to entertain you . You have free WiFi in the Torre Arena, you have to pay to use it if you are in the Santa Rosa.... I was told 5Euro per day when I enquired at reception. All in all,it really wasn't bad apart from the food. The weather was fantastic and there wasn't a mosquito in sight.

Room Tip: Ask when booking to record that you want a balcony,also ask for a late check out....we were able to...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shonaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Arrived home yesterday after booking our holiday at Santa Rosa and have all the paperwork saying we have booked our stay at the Santa Rosa but the staff said they were fully booked and told us to go into their sister hotel 'torre arena' across the busy road. The checking in was a slow process and the reception man hardly understood the english language. Our bedroom window view was three other hotel bedroom windows on our floor. In the night you can see other guests turning on and off their bedroom lights as it was shining through our curtains. The next morning we told the reception staff we are not happy with our rooms as all our paperwork says we meant to have stayed in the other hotel with a balcony and have a view of either the mountains or the beach. The reception staff said we cannot be moved until half way through our holiday into a balcony room in the torre arena hotel when the rooms become available again. The breakfast is awful as you have to put the same slices of bread through the toaster machine three times to have it golden brown. Not much choice for breakfast apart from cornflakes or muesli with warm milk or cheese and ham with toast and cold scrambled egg. The teabags are horrible so you couldn't have a decent cup of tea. However, the cleaners are excellent and give you fresh towels everyday. The swimming pool is on the small side but very clean. The opening and closing times of the pool were annoying as there isn't a lifeguard but towards the end of our holiday they kept the pool open throughout the day. The area that these two hotels are in are more for the spanish locals as there wasn't any entertainment or any tourist things to go and see or do throughout our stay. Personally, I would never go back to this area again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony so you can dry off towels. It is way better than having a window room...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRHoteles, Community Manager at Santa Rosa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear costumer,
Thank you for share your opinion on TripAdvisor. We like to know that you enjoy the treatment of our staff and the swimming pool. Hope to see you here again soon. You can follow our news on Facebook.
A greeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We booked 10 nights at the Santa Rosa but when we arrived at midnight was told to stay at the sister hotel Torre arena across the road which we were disappointed with because at the end of the day we did not book that hotel !

Breakfast is poorly laid out and has limited options, not everyone wants salami ham and cheese for their breakfast, the toaster is fun to use to;) lol. In fairness their evening meals are very good with numerous options.

Rooms are cleaned each day and are nice comfortable rooms, don't expect a sea view when you arrive as like I said they may move you across the road.

Location is fantastic if you want to lie on a fairly quiet beach all day and there is a small pool on the roof of the torre arena you can use if you want to cool off, however if you want a small amount of entertainment forget it there is none, bring a book. I'm 28 and I was shocked on how boring the area was so I jumped into a taxi and went to Nerja which has lively bars at night which costs around 20 euros to get there. Also a 40 minute walk up the strip from the hotel you come across some better bars and tourist shops with many street sellers with dodgy watches for sale which can get annoying when your eating or drinking in one of the joints.

The reception staff are great and seem very friendly, and if you have a problem they sort it, so there are positives. But sadly I get the impression that this hotel and the area of el morche caters for the Spanish tourist not the international holidaymaker like myself if that makes sense. Overall this place comes across tired to me and needs spruce up !

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynch44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRHoteles, Community Manager at Santa Rosa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear costumer,
Santa Rosa Hotel's team want to thank you for choosing us for your vacation. We are pleased that enjoyed the tetament of our staff, the comfort of our hotel and location. Hope to see you around here again. Remember you can book directly on our website with the best price.
A greeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrox
1.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa
0.1 mi away
Urban Dream Torrox Costa
Urban Dream Torrox Costa
#2 of 2 in El Morche
25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Costamar
Costamar
#6 of 8 in Torrox
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
BQ Andalucia Beach Hotel
BQ Andalucia Beach Hotel
#1 of 5 in Torre del Mar
432 reviews
5.3 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
6.7 mi away
Balcon de Competa Hotel and Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Rosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Rosa Hotel

Address: Crta Malaga Almeria Km 285 125, 29793, Torrox, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torrox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Torrox
Price Range: $48 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Rosa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Santa Rosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa Hotel Torrox, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing