We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap but cheerful”
Review of Santa Rosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Santa Rosa Hotel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Torrox
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We booked the Santa Rosa from The 5th to 12th September.... on arrival we were sent across the road to the sister hotel,Torre Arena as the SR was fully booked. We arrived at 10pm and were told to leave our luggage with reception and go for dinner... bonus after travelling . The food is not fantastic....most evenings you have salad...then fish... sometimes sardines, 2 nights swordfish( extremely bony) 5 nights out of 7 there was belly pork on the menu, one night beef and one night chicken legs. There was always soup and pudding.... mostly we stuck to fruit. Breakfasts were disgusting.... one big tray of scrambled egg which had to be reheated in the microwave, selection of bread which took ages to toast( 3 times thru the machine) and 3trays of cold meat. There would be yogurt each morning but only 15 or so, therefore if u were not down really early you got none. Our room was on the 1st floor, 4 beds ( there were 2 of us ) with a view of 4 other Windows!! We asked to be moved and were told to ask on Sunday. We did, and were moved to 2nd floor, a twin room with balcony...not big enough to sit out on but enough to let you step outside, if you looked left you would see the mountains, to the right was other balconies and straight ahead was a Wall!!! The rooms were spotless, beds made up every day, fresh towels every day too. The pool on the roof is open from 11 til 7:30, but by 6:30 hotel staff were hovering, waiting to get everything closed up. The cafe on the roof is a hit or a miss,meant to be open same as pool times, . It was often closed early afternoon and not open again. There is no bar in the hotel,there are no kettles etc in your room, and the reception has no water or drink machine, so buy water etc from the supermarket immediately next door. The hotel is In El Morche, a wee quiet village on the sea . The next main town is Torrox Costa, not a huge lot there either but the sea front is beautiful. Local buses serve the village well,and are very cheap... much cheaper than hiring a car. RAFAELS bar in El Morche is worth a visit... he is right on the sea front and open until very late ie 2am,or whenever the last customer goes home..... the food is great, wine is 1Euro per glass, free WiFi, and he plays music in the background all night.....he's even been known to bring out his guitar to entertain you . You have free WiFi in the Torre Arena, you have to pay to use it if you are in the Santa Rosa.... I was told 5Euro per day when I enquired at reception. All in all,it really wasn't bad apart from the food. The weather was fantastic and there wasn't a mosquito in sight.

Room Tip: Ask when booking to record that you want a balcony,also ask for a late check out....we were able to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shonaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 161 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

Arrived home yesterday after booking our holiday at Santa Rosa and have all the paperwork saying we have booked our stay at the Santa Rosa but the staff said they were fully booked and told us to go into their sister hotel 'torre arena' across the busy road. The checking in was a slow process and the reception man hardly understood the english language. Our bedroom window view was three other hotel bedroom windows on our floor. In the night you can see other guests turning on and off their bedroom lights as it was shining through our curtains. The next morning we told the reception staff we are not happy with our rooms as all our paperwork says we meant to have stayed in the other hotel with a balcony and have a view of either the mountains or the beach. The reception staff said we cannot be moved until half way through our holiday into a balcony room in the torre arena hotel when the rooms become available again. The breakfast is awful as you have to put the same slices of bread through the toaster machine three times to have it golden brown. Not much choice for breakfast apart from cornflakes or muesli with warm milk or cheese and ham with toast and cold scrambled egg. The teabags are horrible so you couldn't have a decent cup of tea. However, the cleaners are excellent and give you fresh towels everyday. The swimming pool is on the small side but very clean. The opening and closing times of the pool were annoying as there isn't a lifeguard but towards the end of our holiday they kept the pool open throughout the day. The area that these two hotels are in are more for the spanish locals as there wasn't any entertainment or any tourist things to go and see or do throughout our stay. Personally, I would never go back to this area again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony so you can dry off towels. It is way better than having a window room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRHoteles, Community Manager at Santa Rosa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear costumer,
Thank you for share your opinion on TripAdvisor. We like to know that you enjoy the treatment of our staff and the swimming pool. Hope to see you here again soon. You can follow our news on Facebook.
A greeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We booked 10 nights at the Santa Rosa but when we arrived at midnight was told to stay at the sister hotel Torre arena across the road which we were disappointed with because at the end of the day we did not book that hotel !

Breakfast is poorly laid out and has limited options, not everyone wants salami ham and cheese for their breakfast, the toaster is fun to use to;) lol. In fairness their evening meals are very good with numerous options.

Rooms are cleaned each day and are nice comfortable rooms, don't expect a sea view when you arrive as like I said they may move you across the road.

Location is fantastic if you want to lie on a fairly quiet beach all day and there is a small pool on the roof of the torre arena you can use if you want to cool off, however if you want a small amount of entertainment forget it there is none, bring a book. I'm 28 and I was shocked on how boring the area was so I jumped into a taxi and went to Nerja which has lively bars at night which costs around 20 euros to get there. Also a 40 minute walk up the strip from the hotel you come across some better bars and tourist shops with many street sellers with dodgy watches for sale which can get annoying when your eating or drinking in one of the joints.

The reception staff are great and seem very friendly, and if you have a problem they sort it, so there are positives. But sadly I get the impression that this hotel and the area of el morche caters for the Spanish tourist not the international holidaymaker like myself if that makes sense. Overall this place comes across tired to me and needs spruce up !

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynch44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRHoteles, Community Manager at Santa Rosa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear costumer,
Santa Rosa Hotel's team want to thank you for choosing us for your vacation. We are pleased that enjoyed the tetament of our staff, the comfort of our hotel and location. Hope to see you around here again. Remember you can book directly on our website with the best price.
A greeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have come back today from torre arena which is the sister hotel if the Santa Rosa and is directly opersite, the hotel is lovely friendly staff lovely and clean room only is what it says room only with a bathroom which has a bath and shower and does have a hair dryer the room is cleaned everyday and towels changed every day if you so which (put the dirty ones in the bath and they change them) seeiously brush up on your spanish hardely anyone spoke any english reception did a little but definatly learn the basics xx we had a beautiful roof top pool and sun terrace. Down sides to hotel food is not good we went sc but did eat in hotel once it's not nice breakfast especially it consists of bread ham salami garlic sausage peach jam cheese and scrambled egg which was like water and also the lovely bar on the terrace is only open for a few hours in the afternoon! Torrox is a beautiful place mainly Spanish locals, there is a shop to the right of the hotel entrance if you cross the road to the Santa Rosa and turn left a beautiful restaurante for coffee and best bacon butty for breakfast carry on up that road there is lots if cafes and shops with fresh fruit turn down the side street and your on the beach where they catch the fish to serve in the beach side restaurants our favourite was axarate which at the start of the strip best fresh food English menu cheep and beautiful also imatinee further along was lovely lovely pizzas and the best cedar salad I've ever had! And an indoor soft play area x every night from 9:30 a big sponge Bob bouncy castle is erected for the kids on the beach with an amazing party matmosphere! Me my hubby and two boys had a fabulous time xxx

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRHoteles, Community Manager at Santa Rosa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear costumer,
We are very grateful for your kind comments on TripAdvisor. There is nothing better than knowing that our customers have enjoyed your holiday with us. Hope to see you around here again. Remember you can book directly on our website with the best price. Follow our promotions through our Facebook.
A greeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have just got back from a 10 night half board stay at santa rosa. The hotel and rooms were lovely and clean. Room was cleaned everyday.Our room overlooked the road and mountains which was never a problem. Staff were very nice and friendly even though they seemed to work long hours! Beach was at the end of the garden which was lovely and never seemed too crowded. We also had use of sister hotel across roads roof terrace and pool which is worth a visit. Breakfast was ok but a bit more variety would have been better but the evening meal was excellent with a lot of choices for everyone! The area was very spanish and quite quiet which suited us but not ideal if your looking for nightlife! Torrox costa-bout 3 miles along coast was more touristy-If thats what you want! We had a lovely relaxing holiday. We will definately go back.

Room Tip: If you like to spend time sitting on your balcony ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank june c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRHoteles, Community Manager at Santa Rosa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear costumer,
Thank you for share your opinion on TripAdviser about Rosa Hotel. We like to know that you enjoy our hotel and that you want to come back again. You can follow our news on Facebook.
A greeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Just got home from staying at this hotel for 6 nights. Staff were very friendly, and spoke good English considering most of the guests were Spanish. Had a lovely room facing the beach, where you could see all along the cost. A good condition balcony to sit and look at the view. Our rooms were cleaned completely, every day and towels were changed every day. A lovely garden, served a variety of tasty cocktails, tables had candles bringing a very nice atmosphere. The bar staff were friendly and polite. Watching the moon shine against the waves was very relaxing and beautiful. However if you are unlucky enough to get a room facing toward the road the experience may not be the same.
We went half board, the breakfast catered for most people and was good for the money! With a choice of coffee or juice from the machines. However the evening meal quality was not as good, but again for the price we cant complain, there was a good selection of fruit. However the dinner hall felt very much like a school dinner hall.
A quiet area, was not a lot to do unless you had the money to travel a long way, but if you're just after some sun its great.
The room was very nice for a 3* hotel and I was surprised by this, however the air conditioning didn't go below 16 degrees.
I recommend this hotel to people who do not want all the noise of clubbing, and it also seemed a very safe, friendly area. If you are staying with children over 8 for more then a few days, consider how you are going to keep them entertained, you may need to be prepared to travel during your stay to visit attractions so they don't get bored.

Room Tip: Only half of the hotel faces the sea, maybe request a beach facing room so that you do not have to l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamber2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRHoteles, Community Manager at Santa Rosa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear costumer,
Thank you for share your opinion on TripAdvisor. We like to know that you enjoy our hotel. Hope to see you here again soon. You can follow our news on Facebook.
A greeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I just got back from a three week June stay at the Santa Rosa with my wife and two young sons. We had a very nice time there and felt that the hotel was extremely good value for the price. The rooms were spacious, presentable, comfortable, cleaned well on a daily basis, and the sea view from the room was excellent.

The Santa Rosa is located to the far western side of El Morche, which itself is quite a small and quiet town. The western side of El Morche is quieter than the slightly busy eastern end of the town going towards Torrox Costa, although it is essentially a continuation and is along the same one long beach. There are a few nice restaurants near the Santa Rosa (western) end of El Morche for dining out if required, although the eastern end has more options and is within about 20 minutes walking distance.

There is no pool in the Santa Rosa although it’s sister hotel (about 40 meters away) has a really nice rooftop pool and lounging area which is free to use for guests of both hotels and as the sister hotel is a taller building offers an even better view of the Mediterranean sea.
The garden of the hotel leads immediately onto the sand of El Morche beach. It was helpful to have this grassed area to rest in as it comes with free to use beach beds and parasols on the grass, yet just a few meters walk leads you directly onto the beach.

The breakfast buffet was okay, but not great. It was so inexpensive that I almost feel guilty criticising it; however some simple and inexpensive changes could make it a lot better (such as having more than 1 or 2 breakfast cereals to choose from). I was able to eat well enough each morning, but the breakfast would get a 3/5 rating from me.

The reception staff were polite and helpful if I needed anything from them.

I have given the hotel a rating of 4 based on all factors.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JayG84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRHoteles, Community Manager at Santa Rosa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear costumer,
Thanks for sharing your opinion about the Hotel Santa Rosa on TripAdvisor. We like to know that you and your family enjoyed the hotel's location, friendliness of staff and the comfort of the rooms. Hope to see you around here again soon. You can follow our news through our Facebook.
A greeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrox
1.5 mi away
Iberostar Malaga Playa
0.1 mi away
Urban Dream Torrox Costa
Urban Dream Torrox Costa
#2 of 2 in El Morche
28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Costamar
Costamar
#6 of 8 in Torrox
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
BQ Andalucia Beach Hotel
BQ Andalucia Beach Hotel
#1 of 5 in Torre del Mar
440 reviews
5.3 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
2.8 mi away
Hotel La Casa
Hotel La Casa
#2 of 8 in Torrox
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Rosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Rosa Hotel

Address: Crta Malaga Almeria Km 285 125, 29793, Torrox, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torrox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Torrox
Price Range: $47 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Rosa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Santa Rosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa Hotel Torrox, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing