We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Torre arena x brush up on your Spanish you will need it x”
Review of Santa Rosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Santa Rosa Hotel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Torrox
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Torre arena x brush up on your Spanish you will need it x”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have come back today from torre arena which is the sister hotel if the Santa Rosa and is directly opersite, the hotel is lovely friendly staff lovely and clean room only is what it says room only with a bathroom which has a bath and shower and does have a hair dryer the room is cleaned everyday and towels changed every day if you so which (put the dirty ones in the bath and they change them) seeiously brush up on your spanish hardely anyone spoke any english reception did a little but definatly learn the basics xx we had a beautiful roof top pool and sun terrace. Down sides to hotel food is not good we went sc but did eat in hotel once it's not nice breakfast especially it consists of bread ham salami garlic sausage peach jam cheese and scrambled egg which was like water and also the lovely bar on the terrace is only open for a few hours in the afternoon! Torrox is a beautiful place mainly Spanish locals, there is a shop to the right of the hotel entrance if you cross the road to the Santa Rosa and turn left a beautiful restaurante for coffee and best bacon butty for breakfast carry on up that road there is lots if cafes and shops with fresh fruit turn down the side street and your on the beach where they catch the fish to serve in the beach side restaurants our favourite was axarate which at the start of the strip best fresh food English menu cheep and beautiful also imatinee further along was lovely lovely pizzas and the best cedar salad I've ever had! And an indoor soft play area x every night from 9:30 a big sponge Bob bouncy castle is erected for the kids on the beach with an amazing party matmosphere! Me my hubby and two boys had a fabulous time xxx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRHoteles, Community Manager at Santa Rosa Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear costumer,
We are very grateful for your kind comments on TripAdvisor. There is nothing better than knowing that our customers have enjoyed your holiday with us. Hope to see you around here again. Remember you can book directly on our website with the best price. Follow our promotions through our Facebook.
A greeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    47
    36
    17
    31
See reviews for
41
68
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have just got back from a 10 night half board stay at santa rosa. The hotel and rooms were lovely and clean. Room was cleaned everyday.Our room overlooked the road and mountains which was never a problem. Staff were very nice and friendly even though they seemed to work long hours! Beach was at the end of the garden which was lovely and never seemed too crowded. We also had use of sister hotel across roads roof terrace and pool which is worth a visit. Breakfast was ok but a bit more variety would have been better but the evening meal was excellent with a lot of choices for everyone! The area was very spanish and quite quiet which suited us but not ideal if your looking for nightlife! Torrox costa-bout 3 miles along coast was more touristy-If thats what you want! We had a lovely relaxing holiday. We will definately go back.

Room Tip: If you like to spend time sitting on your balcony ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank june c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRHoteles, Community Manager at Santa Rosa Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear costumer,
Thank you for share your opinion on TripAdviser about Rosa Hotel. We like to know that you enjoy our hotel and that you want to come back again. You can follow our news on Facebook.
A greeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Just got home from staying at this hotel for 6 nights. Staff were very friendly, and spoke good English considering most of the guests were Spanish. Had a lovely room facing the beach, where you could see all along the cost. A good condition balcony to sit and look at the view. Our rooms were cleaned completely, every day and towels were changed every day. A lovely garden, served a variety of tasty cocktails, tables had candles bringing a very nice atmosphere. The bar staff were friendly and polite. Watching the moon shine against the waves was very relaxing and beautiful. However if you are unlucky enough to get a room facing toward the road the experience may not be the same.
We went half board, the breakfast catered for most people and was good for the money! With a choice of coffee or juice from the machines. However the evening meal quality was not as good, but again for the price we cant complain, there was a good selection of fruit. However the dinner hall felt very much like a school dinner hall.
A quiet area, was not a lot to do unless you had the money to travel a long way, but if you're just after some sun its great.
The room was very nice for a 3* hotel and I was surprised by this, however the air conditioning didn't go below 16 degrees.
I recommend this hotel to people who do not want all the noise of clubbing, and it also seemed a very safe, friendly area. If you are staying with children over 8 for more then a few days, consider how you are going to keep them entertained, you may need to be prepared to travel during your stay to visit attractions so they don't get bored.

Room Tip: Only half of the hotel faces the sea, maybe request a beach facing room so that you do not have to l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamber2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRHoteles, Community Manager at Santa Rosa Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear costumer,
Thank you for share your opinion on TripAdvisor. We like to know that you enjoy our hotel. Hope to see you here again soon. You can follow our news on Facebook.
A greeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I just got back from a three week June stay at the Santa Rosa with my wife and two young sons. We had a very nice time there and felt that the hotel was extremely good value for the price. The rooms were spacious, presentable, comfortable, cleaned well on a daily basis, and the sea view from the room was excellent.

The Santa Rosa is located to the far western side of El Morche, which itself is quite a small and quiet town. The western side of El Morche is quieter than the slightly busy eastern end of the town going towards Torrox Costa, although it is essentially a continuation and is along the same one long beach. There are a few nice restaurants near the Santa Rosa (western) end of El Morche for dining out if required, although the eastern end has more options and is within about 20 minutes walking distance.

There is no pool in the Santa Rosa although it’s sister hotel (about 40 meters away) has a really nice rooftop pool and lounging area which is free to use for guests of both hotels and as the sister hotel is a taller building offers an even better view of the Mediterranean sea.
The garden of the hotel leads immediately onto the sand of El Morche beach. It was helpful to have this grassed area to rest in as it comes with free to use beach beds and parasols on the grass, yet just a few meters walk leads you directly onto the beach.

The breakfast buffet was okay, but not great. It was so inexpensive that I almost feel guilty criticising it; however some simple and inexpensive changes could make it a lot better (such as having more than 1 or 2 breakfast cereals to choose from). I was able to eat well enough each morning, but the breakfast would get a 3/5 rating from me.

The reception staff were polite and helpful if I needed anything from them.

I have given the hotel a rating of 4 based on all factors.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JayG84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRHoteles, Community Manager at Santa Rosa Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear costumer,
Thanks for sharing your opinion about the Hotel Santa Rosa on TripAdvisor. We like to know that you and your family enjoyed the hotel's location, friendliness of staff and the comfort of the rooms. Hope to see you around here again soon. You can follow our news through our Facebook.
A greeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Quiet room with fantastic sea view. This was perfect for my mini break. The staff were all faultless and very friendly, the room was exceptionally clean, well maintained with a great little balcony. Great water pressure in the shower too! The majority of other guests at the same time were all Spanish -this was highly encouraging. The full board lunches and buffet evening meals were of great quality, freshly prepared and always hot and tasty. The best bit for me was that the hotel really is only about 15m from the sea - fantastic. I will stay again. Thanks everyone! p.s. don't expect throbbing tourist discos - thankfully it's not that type of place!!

Room Tip: Great walks along the kilometres of beach every morning, or climb up to the lookout tower! Also try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheBackAndBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRHoteles, Community Manager at Santa Rosa Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear costumer,
Thank you for recommending the Santa Rosa Hotel on TripAdvisor. We like to know that you enjoyed the cleanliness of the rooms, the location near the beach, the food and the friendliness of our staff. Forward to seeing you again very soon. You can follow our latest news through our Facebook.
A greeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The reception area is 4 star but the accomodation is 2 star...The floor had not been cleaned.The TV was filthy and poor clarity.The bath needed replacing.The bed linen was strictly something from the 1950s..However the view on the balcony was stupendous.Out of season the hotel noise was low.The location is poor as Torrox is about 4k away and El Morche is a bit of a non entity.The staff were very helpful and friendly..However no internet signal in the rooms..It is passable for a one night stay but no more

Room Tip: Do not accept any room numbers with 01 on the end eg 101 or 201 etc..The lift shaft is actually insi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david g g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRHoteles, Community Manager at Santa Rosa Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear David,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We deeply regret not meeting your expectations during your stay with us. We assure you that we will take note of all your feedback to deliver the best experience to our guests. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Turning up at 9pm, needing a room for one night due to an argument, the receptionist tells me and my boyfriend the only available room is 80 euros. 2 women go in a room with my card ad come out smirking saying it has been declined even though i had more than 80 euro in there. after going to a cash point we expected a more than standard room. We were very disappointed to find a very uncomfortable mattress, the shower is impossible unless you stand in the middle of the floor it might reach you! I couldn't sleep until 4am and by half 7, kids screaming, people talking loudly down corridors and finding out we must be directly above the restaurant with chairs squeaking and banging carrying on until we had to leave. However we did only stay the night...would not recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachel_lines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRHoteles, Community Manager at Santa Rosa Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear rachel_lines,

We regret not meeting their expectations because of the time of entry and short notice of a reservation could not accommodate you in another room that was to their liking. In our facilities we ask our clients a civic, sorry for the small inconvenience of your stay and hope to see you soon with us. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torrox hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrox
1.5 mi away
Iberostar Malaga Playa
0.1 mi away
Urban Dream Torrox Costa
Urban Dream Torrox Costa
#1 of 2 in El Morche
8 reviews
0.2 mi away
Costamar
Costamar
#7 of 8 in Torrox
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel La Casa
Hotel La Casa
#2 of 8 in Torrox
269 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#19 of 37 in Nerja
779 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Playamaro
Hotel Playamaro
#27 of 37 in Nerja
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Rosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Rosa Hotel

Property: Santa Rosa Hotel
Address: Crta Malaga Almeria Km 285 125, 29793, Torrox, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torrox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Torrox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Rosa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Santa Rosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa Hotel Torrox, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing