We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nobody does it better!”

Restaurante Jose Jiminez
Ranked #2 of 153 Restaurants in Torrox
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nobody does it better!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Simply the best beach restaurant I have ever visited in Spain! The food is in a different league to other places. We go here as often as we can when in Nerja. The seafood is super fresh and cooked to perfection - my husband loves the fresh squid, I very much enjoy the sardines and our sons love the Calamares fritas and gambas al pil-pil. I am still hunting around for the olives they serve with a drink. Note that the ambience is very Spanish (and great!) so be prepared for paper tablecloths, plastic furniture, serviette dispensers - no frills apart from the amazing food and nice location on the beach. Steer clear of the pasta dishes they are awful, this is for seafood. Amazing value - every time we go we marvel at the tiny bill?!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank QWERTYLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    58
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
657 reviews
628 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 446 helpful votes
“Freshest fish, reasonable prices, views of the sea less than 50 metres away”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Merendero José Jiménez (note to Trip Advisor - typo in name - see below) is a chiringuito (beach bar/seaside restaurant) on the beach just outside Torrox (so is not on the regular tourist drag) which specialises in fresh fish and seafood and has a view of the sea less than 50 metres away. We were first introduced to this restaurant by several independent friends who regularly make a journey to come here and we have been here many times since. Of the several chiringuitos along this stretch of the beach, José Jiménez is generally considered to be the best. What keeps people returning is the freshness of the fish (Lenguado - grilled Sole especially recommended) and the reasonable prices. Our latest visit was mid August - by 3.00 pm the restaurant was packed - some tourists, but predominantly Spanish - it's always is a good indicator when the locals frequent an establishment. Even though the restaurant was full and buzzing the hard-working waiting staff coped admirably so all dishes arrived timely.

We started with Gambas a la plancha (grilled prawns - €8.75) to share. Followed by Lenguado (grilled fresh Sole €12.90 - charged by weight), Almejas (clams €7.50) small mixed salad (€3.50). Total bill for 2 people including bottle of Protos Roble Ribeiro del Duero red wine (€15.00), 2 sparkling waters (€2) bread and coffees was €52.

A leisurely lunch here on a sunny day eating good fresh food and looking out at the beach and sea is a real pleasure!

(Note to Trip Advisor - the name of this establishment is mis-typed. It is actually Merendero José Jiménez. Not JimInez with an "i")

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mw741002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We've been going there for years now and it really is one of the best Chiriguitos along that coast.

The fish "raciones" are really good and the service excellent even when they are crammed full.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank almendros21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always our first stop each year”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Jiminez has now become our first port of call each summer when we visit Nerja. After an early morning flight, lunchtime arrival at our apartment and an afternoon in the sun, it's off to Jiminez for an early dinner. The atmosphere is very relaxed and the décor may not be up to everyone's standards but don't be fooled by the appearance. The food and service here are both brilliant. The Dorada especially is a hit with our teenage kids. Once the meal is over you can relax with a nice brandy or two whilst the kids swim in the sea to cool off. You can keep an eye on the kids very easily and the terrace is almost within touching distance of the water.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Spain”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Delicious seafood in a beachside setting. The grilled sardines were AMAZING and something that every traveler should try.

Very reasonably priced. Remarkable surroundings. It gets busy so you might need a reservation.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canamuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Jose Jiminez also viewed

Torrox, Costa del Sol
Torrox, Costa del Sol
 
Torrox, Costa del Sol
 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Restaurante Jose Jiminez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing