We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value!”

Restaurant Taj Mahal
Ranked #16 of 153 Restaurants in Torrox
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Spain
Level Contributor
57 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Value!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Let me start by saying this is not the best Indian restaurant in the are but for value it is unbeatable.

He has a full menu but most people take the option of the €9.95 menu which essentially means you can order exactly what you want and as much as you want for that price.

When he stared this I thought he would go bust within a month but two years later he is still going strong.

The food is average with some really good dishes. The prawn Puri is excellent and so is the Dhansak. All his lamb dishes have really tender meat of high quality. There is a sameness to most of the sauces - a predominance of tomato but they are all tasty if not exceptional.

We do go to the other Indian resturants but it is sometimes difficult to justify paying at least twice as much for food that is not twice as good.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank almendros21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    39
    17
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nerja, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't even bother!!!!!!”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Went to the taj mahal after reading some good reviews on here but obviously they are fake as this was the worst curry I have ever tasted & the service was was very poor. I have had better tasting sauces out of a jar. If you are in the area & want a nice curry got to the taste of India or haveli don't ruin your holiday because of this do called Indian restaraunt !!!!!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Birdieboy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Taste of India”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Restaurant with a great style/atmosphere to it, serving good quality food and reasonably priced drinks, staff could do with a smile transplant, other than that it's a good place to go as a change from all the other places to eat around about

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jtpacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrox, Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Friends have raved about this India in Torrox. I'm afraid I found it reminiscent of the poorer Indian restaurants in UK 20 years ago.

Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Better than most in the UK”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

This place was recommended by locals and we had a fantastic meal. The owners used to have a place in Manchester UK. The selection was good and the food tasted excellent, portion size was good too. Will visit again. Service was very good, there when needed but we did not feel rushed at all.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaxHampshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Taj Mahal also viewed

Torrox, Costa del Sol
Torrox, Costa del Sol
 
Torrox, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Restaurant Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing