We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to base yourself and explore Andalucia”
Review of Torrox Townhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torrox
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Torrox Townhouse
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“An excellent place to base yourself and explore Andalucia”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We rocked up late in the November evening tired after a long journey and crashed out early not really taking much notice of the house. The next morning we were treated to the fantastic early morning views of the mountains while eating breakfast on the patio. The apartment is full of charm, the hosts are great, the town is just what you need if you want to get away from the stereotype of the Costa Del Sol beach hell. The food in town is good, the tea shop is brilliant, the coffee is great all round town and access to the region is easy.

Room Tip: Not really wheelchair friendly and be prepared to have a bit of a walk to the car park. If you hire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spike606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Erlangen, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Spent the last week of December and first week of January here. The view was beautiful, the location central to almost everything you would want to do in Torrox, the apartment spacious, and the owners really friendly and hospitable. It was also very quiet.

The main square of Torrox is less than a five minute walk away and there are several bars and restaurants within a ten minute walking distance.

Julio offers cooking lessons in Spanish cuisine and I highly recommend taking him up on this offer.

We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobM72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Not a hotel, actually a self-catering apartment. We stayed in the top floor of this lovely 16th century building at the end of April/beginning of May 2011. Very large comfortable lounge overlooking the hills, frogs "ribetting" at night, two bedrooms, modern bathroom and neat kitchen. The open courtyard in the centre of the townhouse is a lovely feature and the owners Ernest and Julio were very welcoming. We had a great time. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJB68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HULL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We stayed here last June for a week, having stayed in Torrox before we knew what to expect of Torrox Pueblo. However this was our first stay in the Town House Castilette we loved the peace, the setting, the view and the books. Hope to be back in 2011 and 2012 .......................What more can we say. Ernest and Julio, Many thanks.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DENNYANN61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Kildare
Level 6 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Thinking of returning here for our Autumn break and only just rememberd I hadn't reviewed last years stay, apologies.Setting:

The Town House is close to the centre of Torrox, a Pueblo Blanco (White Village) but the street it is on is navigable by car (just). It has the benefit of being in an old small working town so you are to a great extent in the ‘real’ Spain but just minutes off the motorway

There are a couple of small hotels in the town and a number of private rental accommodations. The locals are welcoming and friendly and if your Spanish isn’t great are very tolerant of pointing and hand gestures. The waiters in the restaurants are also tolerant of you referring to your dictionary, of which I’m glad I did as it saved me from tripe as a starter!

The town is 5-10 mins drive or bus from Torrox Costa and a long beach with all the usual amenities. The sea was warm enough for me to swim in October. 10 -15 min reaches Nerja.

Type of accommodation: There are 2 rental apartments as described on their website. One on the ground floor and one at the top. The owners live in the middle. This works well as they were happy to accept our late arrival and they were always there if needed but never intrusive. Nor did you feel that you were intruding in their home. The house is hundreds of years old (goes back at least to ‘the inquisition’) It has been renovated to provide all modern bathing and kitchen facilities whilst retaining its character.

Comfort : very comfortable and relaxing, loads of space.

Cleanliness: Perfectly clean

Service: Ernest and Julio are pleasant and helpful and will organise anything they can for you. We didn’t use the services but Julio will also give you Spanish lessons and/or cook.

Food: Self catering. Shops very close by, including a wonderful baker. Restaurants, bars, cafes and take away minutes on foot.

Activities: everything, from sunbathing all year round to ski-ing in the Sierra Nevada, 60-90 minutes away. Easy access to the coast for water sports, walking in the mountains driving inland, art and culture

Pluses; Lovely comfortable old house with great views and easy stroll into the centre.

Downsides; car access through the village is challenging, very narrow roads and parking is restricted but we always got a spot within a few minutes of the house. Also when we there in Oct 2009 the main square was completely dug up and this was ongoing.

Who its for. Couples or families or groups of friends looking for a quiet holiday a step away from the tourist hot spots but within easy reach of something for everyone. People who want their accommodation to have a bit of character.

Who its not for. Modern minimalists, wild nightlife, full English/Irish breakfasts and pubs. Although there is always football on in the bars in town!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ski-er-Co.Kildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HERTFORDSHIRE, ENGLAND
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2009

We stayed at the Torrox townhouse for the first time in November, although we have been to Torrox several times before. The house is fantastic and the ground floor aprrtment, where we stayed, is perfect accommodation for 2 people. It has everything you could need for a lovely relaxing stay. The owners of the house are lovely - they even brought us a bowl of freshly picked grapes from the huge vine that provides shade on the veranda - don't worry there is a shade free area as well if you're a sun lover!! The views over the valley are beautiful. The house has an internal courtyard with a little fountain which is a gorgeous feature. The house is located just minutes from the main Plaza, but not close enough to be noisy. I can't wait until our next visit in June!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAROLWINTER21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saujon 17600
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2009

The house is absolutely wonderful - old traditional town house with a beautiful central courtyard and interior balconies a vine, laden with grapes that extends from the basement to the top of the house and exterior balconies with beautiful views.

It is furnished and decorated with very good taste. The ground floor apartment, which we occupied, had a warm relaxed feeling and the secluded balcony, which runs the length of the apartment gave us many enjoyable evenings.

The house, in the middle of the village, is on a narrow street - you can stop your car outside to unload although blocking the road. This is normal behavior here but must then drive further on to find a parking place. We always found somewhere within a couple of minutes walk and as most of the village is like this, with some streets inaccessible to motor vehicles, it is a choice you must make if you want to stay in a lovely hill town.

It was a most memorable stay and we will certainly return

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelebriant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torrox hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Casa
Hotel La Casa
#2 of 8 in Torrox
269 reviews
2.2 mi away
Iberostar Malaga Playa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Rural Cortijo Amaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Santa Rosa Hotel
Santa Rosa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Torrox
153 reviews
2.7 mi away
Costamar
Costamar
#7 of 8 in Torrox
32 reviews
2.9 mi away
Urban Dream Torrox Costa
Urban Dream Torrox Costa
#1 of 2 in El Morche
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torrox Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrox Townhouse

Property: Torrox Townhouse
Address: Calle Baja 38, Torrox, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torrox
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Torrox
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Torrox Townhouse Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing