We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for a one night stop over but avoid Appartment 2131”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Torrox
Certificate of Excellence
Home
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Okay for a one night stop over but avoid Appartment 2131”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Not much to say on this place other than we wouldn't go back for a few reasons.

1. Its in the middle of nowhere and lacks atmosphere.
2. You need to cross a busy road to get to a small beach.
3. Small pools meaning rammed when its busy.
4. A small amount of sunbeds, take your own
5. Apartment was dirty and drab.
6. Expensive for what it was.
7. Very thin walls so you can hear next door, upstairs etc.
8. And so on

Room Tip: Do not go in apartment 2131.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATFuerteCalaceite, Manager at Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for taking your time in writing about your vacation at the Apartments Fuerte Calaceite. I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and in order to make sure that other guests make the right choice before booking I will answer some of your points as I believe they are important.

First of all I would like to point out that the apartments are not part of an hotel complex but that they are within a private community of owners and that all the apartments that we rent out are privately owned.

The apartments are situated on a hill between the two sea side towns of Torrox and Nerja and we have no restaurants or bars within the community. Also very important there are no shops or restaurants nearby or any other entertainment. Fuerte Calaceite is ideal to relax with amazing views over the Mediterranean sea. Also very important is the need to rent a car in order to go shopping or visit the typical andalusien villages of Nerja, Frigiliana or Competa that are nearby. One may also do longer trips to Granada, Malaga or Antequerra all within 1 hour distance by car.

Also the apartments are not frontline beach but front line sea as they are build on a hill and if one wants to go to the beach, which is about 300 meters from the apartments, they will need to cross a road with moderate traffic.

Within the community you will also find 2 swimming pool areas that have a great size for the community with sun beds. Unfortunately many of the sun beds broke this summer and have not been replaced yet but will be soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    103
    29
    5
    4
See reviews for
115
130
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Nice appartment with sea view and well equiped kitchen. Unfortunatelly it was not clean at the beggining. We had to clean bathrooms after previous guests. There is a very nice pool open till 22h. Underground parking with pretty small spaces, especially if you have bigger car. The closest beach was rather dirty with grey sand and stones not good for everyday use in my opion. We have used the pool instead. In general - nice for one, maybe two nights on the way to somewhere else. Not much to do on longer stay. In case of bad weather you can visit Nerja Caves (15min drive from the hotel). They were a highlight of our stay in this area.

Room Tip: Take a sea view apartment. You will be able to hear the sea also during the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomto147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATFuerteCalaceite, Manager at Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
I appreciate the time you took in describing your stay at the apartments Fuerte Calaceite. First of all I would like to apologize if your apartment was not clean on your arrival a fact that I find worrying as we do not give out apartments that have not been cleaned and checked previously. Should this happen again I advice to inform the reception immediately in order to solve that problem.

The beaches nearby have grey sand mixed with pebbles but that does not imply that they are dirty. Just a short distance by car from the apartments are very nice sandy beaches or if you prefer snorkeling there is a protected area with small coves that can only be reached by foot with cliffs and crystal clear water that is the natural habitat of a colorful flora and fauna.

Apart from relaxing there are plenty of marvelous places to visit like the typical andalusien white village of Frigiliana that has a factory that produces honey out of sugar cane, Competa famous for its Moscatel vine, Alhama de Granada that has a hot spring already used by the Arabs over 800 years ago and many other little villages that are scattered through out the Axarquia and each has something different to be discovered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks, end of August until beginning of September, in a two bedroom / two bath apartment, very well equipped, washer, drier, dishwasher, oven, iron, etc. Great for buying fresh fish and cook it in the kitchen. Nice pools, free safe street parking (a car is a must) and above all a quiet and tranquil place, no kids clubs or noisy activities. Stunning views from our terrace. Clean apartment upon arrival, housekeeping every 4 days. Good storage with big closets so you can put away your suitcases. Check-in and out was quick and easy. Nearby beach with very few people, calm and quiet to enjoy the sea with nice swimming. They accept small dogs which is great and convenient.
A perfect place to unwind.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranceSuedeSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATFuerteCalaceite, Manager at Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking your time in writing a review on your stay at the Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Clean and new. Small pool. Could do with more sun beds. Children are too noisy. Need a car. Out of hours check in a hassle. Car parking is good outside the apartments. 7 days wifi is 30euro's a bit much!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Nolan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATFuerteCalaceite, Manager at Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time in evaluating your stay at Fuerte Calaceite.

As you mentioned in your review a car is a must if you stay in one of our apartments as there are no facilities in the near surroundings, some beach restaurants at walking distance but the nearest supermarket is 2,5 km away.

Even so we have 2 pools at certain times they might get a bit overcrowded and as we all know, especially on holidays, children are on occasions a bit louder than usual. The sun beds is an issue we are aware of and we will try to solve in the next few weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Our five night stay in a two bedroom-two bath apartment during the month of June proved to be everything we expected... wonderful sea views, clean / comfortable / spacious accommodations, friendly staff, and great facilities. The complex is a bit of a maze involving steep climbs, but with plenty of elevators around and good signage, we quickly grew accustomed to it. The kitchen was well equipped; having a washer / dryer while traveling with a child was more than perfect, and we enjoyed the ability to enjoy our meals in the large balcony. There is a very quiet and relaxing atmosphere at the complex, which we very much appreciated since it really helped unwind and absorb the beauty of the surroundings. The beach is a short walk downhill; one must cross a road to get there using a pedestrian walkway; the beach is rocky and clean. There are a number of "chiringuitos" (sea side restaurants) within walking distance. Torrox is less than a five minute drive and Nerja is not that much farther away. Our only complaint... not having more time to spend at Calaceite!

Room Tip: From what we could tell, all rooms have at least a partial sea view... but spending the extra money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nesalsut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATFuerteCalaceite, Manager at Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
First of all I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Apartments Fuerte Calaceite and I thank you for taking your time in writing this wonderful review. I also hope you enjoyed the Andalusien hospitality and culture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

we have been there in May and although its a complex o 5 big blocks on the hill the whole experience was rather quiet, not sure if it becomes more busier in pick time. nice views and decent equipment in the apartment. helpful staff

second bedroom has no view at all. if you are after sunny balcony make sure you ask for it when making a booking as we had front sea view but with inner balcony, no sun shine during whole day. luckily we were offered a different one. one small pool for the whole complex. no free parking included although each apartment in this development has a parking lot allocated. also no free internet. both are rather basic these days in my opinion. overall: no value for money - basic apartment in a big block

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7kiribati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATFuerteCalaceite, Manager at Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
First of all I would like to thank you for taking your time in writing a review about your stay at the Apartments Fuerte Calaceite. As you correctly described the 2 bedroom Apartments only have direct sea view from the living room and the main bedroom and both of them lead out on to the balcony. The secondary bedroom as well as the kitchen have views to an inner patio.

Regarding the sun, most of the apartments have an orientation SSW or SSE so it is difficult to have the sun all day long and as you mentioned some of the terraces are roofed. But for all our sun lovers we have 2 pool areas with sun lounges and sun from morning till evening.

Concerning the parking our clients have the option to either park their car on the street for free or to rent an underground parking space within the enclosed community for a fee. Also to facilitate the arrival of our clients we always give the first night for free.

Internet I agree can be seen as a commodity and at the moment we are working on it.

As you mentioned in the beginning of your review you thought the complex to be very quiet and that is because out of the 198 apartments only 88 units are rented out and during your stay we had an occupancy rate of 90%. This tranquility is what many of our guests actually cherish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had 3 nights stay at this fabulous complex and can highly recommend it. We had a one bedroomed apartment which was extremely clean and very contemporary ,very spacious and fully functional with washer/drier, fridge, satellite free view tv. The views of the sea from our balcony and windows were stunning. Only one criticism there is no free wifi.
If you wish to eat out there is a great beach restaurant/bar called Pepo Oro, you can have freshly caught fish which is amazing!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crissiWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATFuerteCalaceite, Manager at Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time in writing this fabulous review on your stay at Fuerte Calaceite. I have also taken note of your suggestion to have free WIFI and we will definitely work on it. Thank you very much once again.

Also should you decide to visit us again you can book directly through our webpage www.fuertehoteles.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrox
2.1 mi away
Iberostar Malaga Playa
1.9 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Casa
Hotel La Casa
#2 of 6 in Torrox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#18 of 38 in Nerja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
3.3 mi away
Costamar
Costamar
#5 of 6 in Torrox
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite

Property: Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite
Address: Carretera Nacional 340A Km. 286,1, 29793, Torrox, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torrox
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Torrox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Fuerte Hoteles, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Fuerte Calaceite Hotel Torrox
Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite Torrox, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing