We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our beautiful, if too brief sojourn in Torox at...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Torrox, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
avacado46
Mill Valley, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our beautiful, if too brief sojourn in Torox at the House of the Inquistion”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My husband and I spent four delightful days in Torrox, a few miles inland from the Costa del Sol. We stayed in what is known as, “The House of the Inquisition,” a beautiful white tall house clinging to the side of a beautiful canyon with views of the mountain range which practically plunges into the Mediterranean. The home boasts three flats, two of which are rented out by Ernest and Julio who occupy the middle flat, for the delight of up to 6-8 guests. We stayed on the top floor where we stayed in a charming bedroom furnished with antique furniture which is throughout the house. We enjoyed cooking in the well-equipped kitchen and found the bathroom comfortable with a well functioning shower with plenty of hot water.
The views from the enormously large living room and the patio where we ate our breakfasts competed neck and neck with the generous and warm hospitality of our delightful, engaging hosts who never stinted from offering us colorful adventures for our days there, enjoying the tales we told when we returned in the evening. Our dilemma was whether to stay in this delightful home or walk down the street two minutes to the intimate and picturesque town square with its outdoor cafes and good food!

When we return to the Costa del Sol, we will definitely stay with Ernest and Julio and with luck bring friends and family along.

Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGW2014
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Exceptional accommodation”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The Torrox Townhouse must be unique in terms of its location, the quality of the accommodation, and the wonderful owners. The apartments are in a historic town house, built round an internal atrium open to the sky. It is 2 minutes walk from Torrox town square, the hub of the village but the rear of the house looks onto the open mountainside with wonderful views. Each of the two apartments has its own private terrace with spacious accommodation delightfully furnished in Andalucian style and fully equipped with everything you might need We were joined for the Easter holiday by dear friends from California who were equally charmed. Coming to Torrox after visiting Cordoba, Granada and Seville, they pronounced Torrox the highlight of their visit to Andalucia, a real taste of Spain, and the Torrox Townhouse an experience not to be missed! Ernest and Julio are addicted collectors; the Townhouse overflows with amazing treasures, acquired over the years, almost each of which tells a story if you take time to quiz Ernest and Julio. We wined and dined locally, at what seemed to us silly prices, We visited the beautiful villages located close by, were introduced to the many rescued animals at the Donkey Sanctuary in Nerja, and ate paella on the beach at the famed Ayo's. The sun shone most of the time, the views are incredible, the local people delightful,the new Torrox swimming pool is a real bonus for the town, though cannot compete with the wonderful beach at Cantarrijan. We are looking forward to the next visit, hopefully before not too long.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spike606
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“An excellent place to base yourself and explore Andalucia”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 for a stay in November 2013

We rocked up late in the November evening tired after a long journey and crashed out early not really taking much notice of the house. The next morning we were treated to the fantastic early morning views of the mountains while eating breakfast on the patio. The apartment is full of charm, the hosts are great, the town is just what you need if you want to get away from the stereotype of the Costa Del Sol beach hell. The food in town is good, the tea shop is brilliant, the coffee is great all round town and access to the region is easy.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobM72
Erlangen, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, beautiful view, friendly owners”
Reviewed January 19, 2012 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Spent the last week of December and first week of January here. The view was beautiful, the location central to almost everything you would want to do in Torrox, the apartment spacious, and the owners really friendly and hospitable. It was also very quiet.

The main square of Torrox is less than a five minute walk away and there are several bars and restaurants within a ten minute walking distance.

Julio offers cooking lessons in Spanish cuisine and I highly recommend taking him up on this offer.

We will be staying here again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJB68
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Torrox Townhouse”
Reviewed October 4, 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Not a hotel, actually a self-catering apartment. We stayed in the top floor of this lovely 16th century building at the end of April/beginning of May 2011. Very large comfortable lounge overlooking the hills, frogs "ribetting" at night, two bedrooms, modern bathroom and neat kitchen. The open courtyard in the centre of the townhouse is a lovely feature and the owners Ernest and Julio were very welcoming. We had a great time. Thank you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENNYANN6...
HULL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our wonderful retreat”
Reviewed January 9, 2011 for a stay in June 2010
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here last June for a week, having stayed in Torrox before we knew what to expect of Torrox Pueblo. However this was our first stay in the Town House Castilette we loved the peace, the setting, the view and the books. Hope to be back in 2011 and 2012 .......................What more can we say. Ernest and Julio, Many thanks.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiercoki...
Co. Kildare
Level 6 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Total Relaxation”
Reviewed August 13, 2010 for a stay in October 2009
1
person found this review helpful

Thinking of returning here for our Autumn break and only just rememberd I hadn't reviewed last years stay, apologies.Setting:

The Town House is close to the centre of Torrox, a Pueblo Blanco (White Village) but the street it is on is navigable by car (just). It has the benefit of being in an old small working town so you are to a great extent in the ‘real’ Spain but just minutes off the motorway

There are a couple of small hotels in the town and a number of private rental accommodations. The locals are welcoming and friendly and if your Spanish isn’t great are very tolerant of pointing and hand gestures. The waiters in the restaurants are also tolerant of you referring to your dictionary, of which I’m glad I did as it saved me from tripe as a starter!

The town is 5-10 mins drive or bus from Torrox Costa and a long beach with all the usual amenities. The sea was warm enough for me to swim in October. 10 -15 min reaches Nerja.

Type of accommodation: There are 2 rental apartments as described on their website. One on the ground floor and one at the top. The owners live in the middle. This works well as they were happy to accept our late arrival and they were always there if needed but never intrusive. Nor did you feel that you were intruding in their home. The house is hundreds of years old (goes back at least to ‘the inquisition’) It has been renovated to provide all modern bathing and kitchen facilities whilst retaining its character.

Comfort : very comfortable and relaxing, loads of space.

Cleanliness: Perfectly clean

Service: Ernest and Julio are pleasant and helpful and will organise anything they can for you. We didn’t use the services but Julio will also give you Spanish lessons and/or cook.

Food: Self catering. Shops very close by, including a wonderful baker. Restaurants, bars, cafes and take away minutes on foot.

Activities: everything, from sunbathing all year round to ski-ing in the Sierra Nevada, 60-90 minutes away. Easy access to the coast for water sports, walking in the mountains driving inland, art and culture

Pluses; Lovely comfortable old house with great views and easy stroll into the centre.

Downsides; car access through the village is challenging, very narrow roads and parking is restricted but we always got a spot within a few minutes of the house. Also when we there in Oct 2009 the main square was completely dug up and this was ongoing.

Who its for. Couples or families or groups of friends looking for a quiet holiday a step away from the tourist hot spots but within easy reach of something for everyone. People who want their accommodation to have a bit of character.

Who its not for. Modern minimalists, wild nightlife, full English/Irish breakfasts and pubs. Although there is always football on in the bars in town!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing