We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iberostar Malaga Playa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Torrox
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had a nice stay in Iberostar Malaga back in October 2012, a very well maintained and clean hotel. Room is nicely furnished, spacious & clean and I believe each of them has balcony. We had standard room near the lounge and apparently every night they're having entertainment/show for hotel guests. If you normally sleep after 11PM, this won't be a problem but if you want to rest early after a whole day out visiting places, then this might be an issue. That was the case for us(my wife mainly), and we requested at the reception if we can get another room further back, far from the lounge room. That nite they had no other room available, and they offered us to stay in one of their apartment next to the hotel. The staff kindly asked us to check them out and see if it's to our liking. The apartment located just at the front side of hotel entrance. It's similar room, nicely furnished with kitchen but in the end we decided to stay and wait for a free room the next morning. In the morning the staff informed us that they have a free room, again they asked us to check first. The new room is on 3rd floor, looked nice and bigger, and we assume far from the noises. We decided to take it and they arranged all the Luggage to be brought into the new room. Apparently the new room is a junior suite.

Buffet dinner was pretty good, they have variety of dishes, from basic italian spaghetti, pizza, to lobster, 4 colors caviar, roasted beef and some others. Desserts were abundant, but tend to be quite the same though. Breakfast is also good, lots of choice for every one. Outside of the restaurant, at the front side, there's not so many restaurant, quite similar at the boulevard at the beach, there's some restaurants spread along the beach. One thing though, I had a feeling if you stay longer than a week, they might have similar dishes all over again. On the brightside, staffs are very friendly and helpful. Food is abundant and got refilled regularly.

Hotel pool is clean but not so big, and it seemed enough sun bed but that was in october where the hotel is not fully occupied. To go to the beach, it's pretty close, just walk past the pool then there's back gate that can be opened with your hotel card. At the beach, sun bed available at charge(5Euro/day).

If you come with car, there's a free public parking space next to the hotel. Or you can also park in the basement of the hotel but they'll charge you quite a lot. Similar with Wifi, you'll have to pay.

The hotel itself located at Torrox beach, just abit outside of Torrox small town. Basically, if you want to have a quiet stay just relax by the poolside, this is a suitable hotel. But if you want to do more, it's quite in the middle of nowhere. Of course you can drive to Malaga for 45minutes or to the next big city Nerja for about 10-15 minutes. Nerja quite nice and has more to offer than Torrox. Since the hotel was previously owned by German hotel chain RiuRiu(?), most of the guest are germans and the staffs speak germans beter than english :) All and all, it was a nice stay, would go back again if we stay in that area.

Room Tip: room on the 1st floor near lounge room (which is actually below the lobby level) quite noisy if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    503
    138
    38
    19
See reviews for
643
403
28
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a really well maintained property, thoughtfully laid out, with nice outdoor pool area. staff are great, particularly with kids. generously sized and well-appointed rooms. unfortunately the wi-fi is provided by a third party and so costs extra, also cumbersome to set up and a nightmare to re-establish if something goes wrong. location is good per se, directly on the beach, but the hotel is a bit of a lone gem amidst a development stopped in its tracks by the recent crisis (or so it seems, although to be fair we only stayed a few days). We had a very pleasant stay, warm recommendation with above caveats.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 967EdB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week, ending on April 7th 2013.
I am 32, my wife is 29 and we are expecting a baby in 3 months (just to set the scene of what we would want out of a trip).

The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful, the Spanish have a warmth to them that we Brits are fairly bereft of and this makes it pleasant a visit.

The hotel itself is tired, The group went in to administration a while ago and the receivers have held on to the few which are salvageable, this one included.

Decor, curtains etc are old but clean ;
No option to watch anything on demand ;
No Sky TV in the rooms ;

The pillows are appallingly bad and seriously hampered our ability to sleep properly, but the beds were firm and fine. I'd recommend taking pillows with you on your visit here.

The food for guests who take that option, is absolutely brilliant.
The restaurant has a super ambiance and again, the staff are the asset here.

Torrox as a location is quiet, which suited us perfectly. Any teenaged visitor would be terminally frustrated at the lack of action / other teenagers to make "friends" with.
The boardwalk immediately outside the hotel is very tired and has 30 restaurants selling the same pizzas, pastas and sausage sandwiches which was disappointing.
The message is simple - take the option for hotel catering !

Nerja is a short drive away and a very pretty and quaint Spanish town with varied shops and quality restaurants, again with friendly locals and good choice of everything.

If it hadn't rained so heavily or been so windy, I may have rated this as "excellent". We all know Spain needs the sun to make it magic, and had it been sunny we wouldn't have needed to bemoan the lack of in room entertainment !
It was still a significant step up from the freezing weather in the UK and I have returned very relaxed from a cheaply priced trip.

To summarise : eat in the restaurant, don't take teenagers, bring a couple of decent books if the weather turns.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesAbika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed recently with friends. The rooms were clean and well maintained we were in the block to the front of the hotel. We travelled as a group of 6 and we were by far the youngest residents by a few years (20 to be precise) but that didn't bother us as we were looking for a relaxing break. The food was excellent, mostly traditional Spanish fair with good quality ingredients. Staff mostly accommodating although we found the bar staff a little curt in the evening. The negative comment would be the food was luke warm and could have been much hotter. The bar served branded spirits if you asked and the beer was San Miguel. The pool area was so beautiful although the weather was not on our side excluding a few hours where we took advantage of the sun. The location was right on the beach and ideal for a nice stroll along the promenade. There was a nice coffee bar we popped into across from Aldi at the bus stop to Nerja. The entertainment was geared for the majority age group so a bit of pensioners tea dance, although the Saturday night was the Jersey Boys and they were excellent!! We even danced during our stay to e Spanish slosh... We would return to this hotel and I bet it's very popular in the summer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theflees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights on a long weekend with 5 friends for our 40th birthdays. From start to finish it was faultless. We stayed in the apartments, although we were all inclusive and found them very spacious with lovely big balconies. Food was fantastic with great choices for all ages. Entertainment, although we were low season was very entertaining and seemed to be enjoyed by all the hotel guests. This is a hotel i cant wait to return to with my family!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrywinsborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piestany, Slovakia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed for a week of all incl at this hotel in a suite, as we r travelling always w/ our son and have really enjoyed the sunny terrace the suite provided, baby corner, and the friendly staff... We have already arranged the sray for this year...

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucia1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Malaga Playa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Lucia,

In the first place, we would like to thank you for your stay in our Iberostar Malaga Playa and for your praising comments. It is a pleasure for us to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We strive to ensure that the culture of warm hospitality is imbued in every person who works at the Iberostar Malaga Playa and to capture perfectly the exact balance between courtesy and friendliness which is different for each guest. We are delighted that you underlined your satisfaction with this aspect of your stay with us.

In Iberostar it is our goal to achieve that our guests enjoy a splendid and unforgettable holiday and phrases like “We have already arranged the stay for this year “show us that on this occasion we have been successful. This motivates us to keep meeting our demanding quality standards because to us there is no better reward than the affirmation of our guests that they had a lovely stay.

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed for 10 nights, 09-19/11/12. Overall, an enjoyable stay, but some minor changes would have made it an excellent one. The food quality, particularly in the evening, was disappointing. Starters and desserts were varied and tasty, however, the cooked main dishes were bland and tasteless, with the pizza / pasta section very disappointing. The cooked dishes at breakfast were better, with the omlette section a welcome addition. However, with the hotel busy, the queues at the one hot drinks machine were long, and frustrating. The grounds of the hotel are attractive, and well kept, with a lovely pool area. We booked a massage at the spa, which my wife enjoyed. The other disappointment was on checking out, we were not asked if we had a nice stay, and felt as though, for a 4 star hotel, a personal touch, and some interest in our holiday is a must!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steveomcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrox
4.0 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Casa
Hotel La Casa
#2 of 6 in Torrox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
5.0 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
1.3 mi away
Costamar
Costamar
#5 of 6 in Torrox
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Malaga Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Malaga Playa

Property: Iberostar Malaga Playa
Address: Ferrara s/n, 29793, Torrox, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torrox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Torrox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Malaga Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PLEASE NOTE: The IBEROSTAR Málaga Playa hotel will re-open next April after a major refurbishment which is being carried out mainly to upgrade the rooms and the buffet restaurant. It will also have a new water park for children where the little ones will be able to thoroughly enjoy themselves without needing to leave the hotel. The recently refurbished IBEROSTAR Málaga Playa beach hotel is an expert at creating the best conditions to make you happy during your days of rest. The warmth of the rooms, the fun atmosphere of the entertainment activities, the pools for families, the cosy feeling of its restaurants... and, as you would expect, the best temperature in all of Europe. Discover 7 more reasons why you should choose this hotel on the Costa del Sol for your holidays. Distinctive rooms for distinctive travellers. From the most romantic Suites to enjoy a couples getaway to apartments with a kitchen. And, of course, the best views of the sea or the hotel gardens make for the best backdrop when waking up in Malaga. And recently refurbished! A few steps from the beach. The IBEROSTAR Málaga Playa enjoys direct access to over a kilometre of beach at Playa Ferrara. So you can lie down on your sun lounger and bathe in the sun's rays while sensing the Mediterranean breeze on your skin. Flavours of the world.At this hotel for children on the Costa del Sol, you not only have the best local cuisine, but you can also travel the world every evening with the themed dinners. In addition, there's a surprise for those with a sweet tooth: the wonderful desserts buffet. It’s impossible to resist the temptation of something sweet! Totally refreshing. The huge pool at this hotel in Malaga Playa will entice the whole family in for a dip. The kids can pretend to be sharks while the grownups take advantage to swim a few lengths. There's also a pool with never-ending slides so that your kids can make a splash, and another indoor pool with views of the outdoors, and a special baby pool. Non-stop activities. In the evening, the little ones can't wait for Starky and Stella to arrive at the minidisco. During the day, your kids will never get bored at the Miniclub. They will play in the pool, dress up or do handcrafts. And for you? Magic shows, dance performances, live music, and much more. Enviable temperatures. The best climate in Europe is here! The average of 18º C throughout the year and the mild summers make Torrox the best place to spend your holidays. In fact, you are likely to come across inhabitants that are proud to boast about the kind of climate they enjoy. The charm of Torrox. You can't leave without being captivated by the pristine white of its houses. A stroll around its stairways and precipitous streets will invite you to disconnect and spend the afternoon trying tapas in Constitution square, or to enjoy a few laughs with your loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Malaga Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Malaga Playa Hotel Torrox
Riu Ferrara Hotel
Riu Ferrara Torrox
Iberostar Malaga Playa Torrox, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing