We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel but area quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iberostar Malaga Playa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Torrox
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel but area quiet”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Couldn't have had better value, clean hotel, friendly staff and good food choice but resort is very residential and little to do. Request a seaview room. Nice prom runs along back of hotel with a few restaurants & bars but mostly locals at night. Easy to get to Nerja (a must) as the bus runs from outside the hotel on the road. Always check the bus timetable as some buses on the way to the caves come from a different direction and you need to walk about quarter mile down road to another bus stop. Nerja only 10mins on bus. It is beautiful, typical little spanish resort.

Room Tip: Upper floor with sea view rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lake-District1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    525
    152
    39
    20
See reviews for
682
438
30
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Just returned from a weeks holiday - the hotel is clean, the food is excellent and the staff very friendly. Torrox is a quiet town and would not suit those wishing for a frantic night life - but a great location for week away from things!

Rooms nicely appointed but recommend a room with a seaview as the other rooms appear to overlook roads,etc. Pool is large and the entertainment provided at the hotel is watchable.

This is the second Iberioostar hotel I have stayed at, and they seem to be very similar with excellent standards of service and great staff. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Budr32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piestany, Slovakia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

A very nice hotel situated not in the centre of Torrox, but close to the market and restaurants. We have enjoyed our stay for 7 nights with all inclusive catering.
The appartement we had with two bedrooms was very nice, spacious, a small kitchenette was very handy, airconditioning was working properly and a terrace with the appartment very nice.
Breakfast was slight boring, no change over the 7 nights, but sufficient for breakfast.
Swimming pool clean, not so many sun beds, so try to wake up sooner to get yours.
The beach was nice, but I do not like the gray sand, so I did not stay on the beach at all.
Kids club with very smart baby-sitters, although our son got lost... But we have found, luckily.
The animation every night was a little bit boring - average.
I reccommend this hotel for families with children.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucia1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carluke
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Just returned from this hotel, the hotel is both excellant inside and outside! we stayed in a side-sea view room overlooking the patio/pool/beach, the room was a good size, the balcony good and housekeeping was excellant (aside from not leaving a bottle of water every day!) We were all-inclusive and found the food choices to be excellant every day, a good wide choice for breakfast/lunch/evening meals, the drink choices as well were excellant all day and night. The pool is a good size and there are 2 pool bars. The beach is not so good as it is black sand which makes you very dirty!! All the staff we met were EXCELLANT!! nothing was to much trouble, I can't praise them high enough!! Daily entertainment with different activities was excellant, the daily pool aerobics were packed and led by an extremely fun young man who made it fun and entertaining!! Nightly entertainment was ok, very relaxed but did have one good party/dance night which was excellant!! On the 'down' side, the biggest single problem was the sport of 'Sunbed' bagging!! from 7am prompt people were out putting their towels on sunbeds and by 8am there was not a single bed to be had!! the hotel does have signs up to say that reserving sunbeds is not allowed, however this is not enforced by any staff and as a result if you are not up early you have no chance of 'bagging' a sunbed!! for me, this really spoilt what was to be a relaxing break as you could not enjoy a lie-in as you knew you had to be up early to get a sunbed and it is this major problem that made the choice for me never to return to this hotel no matter how excellant it is!! Out-with the hotel, the town of Torrox Costa is most definately not the nicest places to visit, their are a few supermarkets and a small number of shops. The promanade which runs from the back of the hotel is worth a long stroll but just for that. There are a few 'touristy' rubbish shops and a number of small bars and restaurants, there is really nothing out-with the hotel complex to bother with! To end, this is a 'grown-up' hotel, it's not a 'Benidorm' getting drunk all week place, It is a truely european example and not your typical 'Brit' get-away which makes it is excellant, however, due to the sunbed problem it is not a hotel I would return to! :(

Room Tip: get a room that overlooks the back of the hotel towards the beach!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jackiemcseveney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Just come home from holiday at this hotel, to describe it, in one word, MAGNIFICENT, from being met at reception with a welcoming glass of bucks fizz, the friendliness of all the staff, the cleanliness, the wonderful choice of food at all meals well cooked and presented, the chefs and waitress's greeting you as you enter the dining room with smiles, pity about the location but I think the pro's outway the con's, and really its not such a long way to other attractions. I'm in my mid seventies and consider myself well travelled and I think this is one of the nicest hotels that I have stayed in, everything is tuned to your enjoyment and anyone who can whinge at this must be very picky and very hard to please, take my tip and enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Malaga Playa, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your time in writing such a kind comment about our Iberostar Malaga Playa . It is a delight to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
Feedback like yours is very important to us, so we know what we can improve to reach an even higher and more exclusive service for our guest. We will certainly take into our consideration and we will do our utmost to improve these points.

We are delighted with your powerful and positive words describing our complete services and facilities.For us is a priority to take care of the visitors properly and fulfill our guest expectations.

Once again, we would like to thank you for your motivating words.

Yours sincerely

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I'll keep it brief, myself and 8 year old daughter are just back from 5 days all inclusive (second week of easter break 2012). Good points - Hotel is lovely, staff are friendly and food is great. Bad points - No kids club or entertainment while we were there so was really quite boring for kids, outside pool not heated and was far too cold to go into but hotel did have a small indoor heated pool. We had intended to merely relax by the pool for the 5 days but due to bad weather and boredom we ventured outside but there is absolutely nothing to do in Torrox, doesn't even have a town centre to visit or go shopping. I imagine it would be a different experience in the summer months but definitely would'nt recommend it as a family holiday outwith the summer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lesley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Malaga Playa, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all we want to apologize for all the inconveniences you had during your stay. We are very sorry to hear that the entertainment program could not fulfill your expectations.

The head departments involved have been informed about your comments. We will certainly take in our consideration and we will do our utmost to improve these points. Feedback like yours is very important to us, so we know what we can improve to reach an even higher and more exclusive service for our guest.

Some of the problems you mentioned are totally under our standards and we have already taken action in order to meet our standards again. Your comment will certainly help us to keep focus on customer satisfaction and fulfillment of our hotel standards.

It is vey important for us that our guests feel welcome and comfortable within the whole hotel area and we feel sorry to read that didn´t succeeded, especially the kids

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury st Edmunds
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We knew this hotel under previous ownership (RIU) and was pleasantly surprised to see the standard had been maintained. We stayed for 3 nights in a lovely corner room overlooking the sea. The pool looks brilliant as always ( too cold for us in March) and the hotel is bang on the beach. Most of the guests were Spanish. The only pity is that the lovely bar that was on the left hand side of the large main entrance hall has gone. Everything else is fine, I particularly like the poolside coffee shop where drinks and snacks are available during the day. There are no other hotels in Torrox (as far as I can see) lots in nearby Nerja, but I have no problems staying here again.Torrox is however a fairly quiet place and that is what we like.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, I suspect at quiet times it is not a problem. We paid E44 a night and I thought...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grobba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Malaga Playa, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Dear guest,

In first place, Thank you for choose Iberostar Málaga Playa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are glad to read that you are pleasantly surprised to see that the standard had been maintained and we assure that we will continue working with illusion to improve our hotel services and facilities, so our guest can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel. For us is very important that our guest feel welcome.

Thank you for sharing your experiences and for your motivating words

Muchas gracias,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrox
4.0 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Casa
Hotel La Casa
#2 of 7 in Torrox
268 reviews
1.5 mi away
Santa Rosa Hotel
Santa Rosa Hotel
#7 of 7 in Torrox
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,708 reviews
17.6 mi away
Playacalida Spa Hotel
Playacalida Spa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Almunecar
1,628 reviews
1.3 mi away
Costamar
Costamar
#6 of 7 in Torrox
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Malaga Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Malaga Playa

Property: Iberostar Malaga Playa
Address: Ferrara s/n, 29793, Torrox, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torrox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Torrox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Malaga Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa beach hotel is an expert at creating the best conditions to make you happy during your days of rest. The warmth of the rooms, the fun atmosphere of the entertainment activities, the pools for families, the cosy feeling of its restaurants... and, as you would expect, the best temperature in all of Europe. Discover 7 more reasons why you should choose this hotel on the Costa del Sol for your holidays. Distinctive rooms for distinctive travellers. From the most romantic Suites to enjoy a couples getaway to apartments with a kitchen. And, of course, the best views of the sea or the hotel gardens make for the best backdrop when waking up in Malaga. And recently refurbished! A few steps from the beach. The IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa enjoys direct access to over a kilometre of beach at Playa Ferrara. So you can lie down on your sun lounger and bathe in the sun's rays while sensing the Mediterranean breeze on your skin. Flavours of the world.At this hotel for children on the Costa del Sol, you not only have the best local cuisine, but you can also travel the world every evening with the themed dinners. In addition, there's a surprise for those with a sweet tooth: the wonderful desserts buffet. It’s impossible to resist the temptation of something sweet! Totally refreshing. The huge pool at this hotel in Malaga Playa will entice the whole family in for a dip. The kids can pretend to be sharks while the grownups take advantage to swim a few lengths. There's also a pool with never-ending slides so that your kids can make a splash, and another indoor pool with views of the outdoors, and a special baby pool. Non-stop activities. In the evening, the little ones can't wait for Starky and Stella to arrive at the minidisco. During the day, your kids will never get bored at the Miniclub. They will play in the pool, dress up or do handcrafts. And for you? Dance performances, live music, and much more. Enviable temperatures. The best climate in Europe is here! The average of 18º C throughout the year and the mild summers make Torrox the best place to spend your holidays. In fact, you are likely to come across inhabitants that are proud to boast about the kind of climate they enjoy. The charm of Torrox. You can't leave without being captivated by the pristine white of its houses. A stroll around its stairways and precipitous streets will invite you to disconnect and spend the afternoon trying tapas in Constitution square, or to enjoy a few laughs with your loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Iberostar Malaga Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Malaga Playa Hotel Torrox
Riu Ferrara Hotel
Riu Ferrara Torrox
Iberostar Malaga Playa Torrox, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing