We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms and balcony, go elsewhere for nightlife” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Galileo Donovaly

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Galileo Donovaly
Ranked #2 of 7 Donovaly B&B and Inns
Cambridge
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great rooms and balcony, go elsewhere for nightlife”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

large bedrooms with a large balcony overlooking the resort but not the slopes.

Breakfast is good and the Reception desk is helpful and friendly.

If you want to catch a late drink before bed, go somewhere else before you turn in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cityhoppa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    14
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
13
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Hungary
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Spent a skiing weekend there.

Rooms
As seen on the homepage pictures, therefore no pictures shot. Was wondering because most hotels tune the pictures to the best, then you get disappointed on arrival. Here not.
Big cupboard at the door, hangers, minibar (tho the fridge worked rather as a heater), free safe, TV. The bed was a huge double, hard but comfortable.
Wifi is free and probably the best ever I found.
The rooms are overlooking a huge parking lot and the main road that goes through the mountains. Against that noise was not a problem at all.
The bathroom is quite small, weird is that there’s no curtain for the shower -- turn your back on the wall or take a bath.
Everywhere good quality materials are used, seems like recently built or renovated, a little tear and wear here and there.

Breakfast
Nice, self serving buffet breakfast. Quite wide selection of cold and hot dishes. From smoked salmon to the usual cheese, salami, salads, some sweets, fruits. Coffee is from the automat, there’s real one too, probably for some extra.

Location
A few meters walk to a ski rental house, on the way to the blue slopes. There’s a bridge over the main road, you can buy tickets right on the other side of the bridge. It’s rather far away from the kids funpark and ice skate rink.

Restaurant
They are cooking good, delicious and also not expensive. Only caveat is if it’s near full, dining time is over 2 hours. That’s unbearable with a 3 year old. Head north to the next bar/pub/building north, not exactly the same quality but fast service. Over there they serve a nice mojito.

Wellness
Free entrance for hotel guests, you get a bathrobe and a slapper free in your room. 4 types of sauna, steam bath, cool down facilities and a jacuzzi. The only thing we bumped into that it’s not all day open, but just from the afternoon, maybe 16h.

There’s a storage room for ski equipment in the basement. Skiboot warmers are just enough for everyone, last ones might not be lucky enough to get one. You can exit/enter through the garage.

Kids eye view (3 years old):
The wellness is excellent but no kids allowed under 7. Well there’s no swimming pool and sauna is not for them.
At breakfast there’s no warm (only cold) milk or cacao powder. There are a lot of various sized highchairs in the restaurant. There are I think 4 dishes for kids in the lunch/dinner menu.
Wifi all over the place makes it easy to play youtube.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank adamg_hu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitra, Slovakia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We´ve planned a holiday in Galileo hotel Donovaly long time, but it was always fully booked during winter and also summer season. I was very happy, when I finaly made our reservation. We´ve expected the best service, but were kind of disapointed... The staff was nice and polite, but the cleaness of the room was not good (dust). Room service didn´t come every day, which is kind of wierd in 4**** hotel. We have had smelly trash cans in the room for 2 days...
Breakfast buffet was various, but not 100% delicious. Dinner was ok, our kids also liked it.
Anyway, all the interior was beautiful - furniture, decorations and also wellness centre. They just should take more care about the service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katarina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

This is a hotel just off the motorway, opposite a large car park where coach loads of people stop to eat and drink in the bars and restaurants around. Consequently it is hardly romantic, nor quiet and relaxing.

The room was spacious and the bed firm, but comfortable. There was however, a bizarre shower in the bathroom.. The shower was in the bath, no attachment so you had to hold it, no shower curtain, so you soaked the floor.. I haven't had to shower sitting in a bath since 1985 in my nan's house!

The staff were indifferent, some really friendly, some serving up huge amounts disdain.

Would I go back? No, there are other places..

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lockey101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

what can I tell?Miraculous place,where every step seems to be special
enchanting countryside makes you feel like in fairytale
nice,smiling crew
delicious food and aaah-finest wine and ofcourse coffee
comfortable rooms or apartements with silky-smooth beds ;)
aand the best of everything-amaziing welness where you can find 5
different sauna including kryo-cabine,solarium,jakuzzi,inside stream
that makes u reeally cold and fresh
I have enjoyed my time there and I can say I love it!

Room Tip: rooms in the front are sunny and view out is magical
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veve_sweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

Very nice people, uncredibly atmosphere and romantic hotel. Very nice wellness with candle and nice relaxing music.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rmarko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Donovaly hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#1 of 5 in Donovaly
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.4 mi away
Patty Apartments
Patty Apartments
#3 of 5 in Donovaly
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartments Tatran
Apartments Tatran
#4 of 5 in Donovaly
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Encian
Hotel Encian
#3 of 7 in Donovaly
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Gardenia
Villa Gardenia
#1 of 7 in Donovaly
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Gloria Donovaly
Villa Gloria Donovaly
#1 of 17 in Donovaly
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galileo Donovaly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galileo Donovaly

Property: Hotel Galileo Donovaly
Address: Donovaly 196, Donovaly 976 39, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Banska Bystrica Region > Donovaly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Donovaly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galileo Donovaly 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Galileo Donovaly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing