We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheap but not worth the money”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Pros:
Most staff is nice.

Cons:
Rooms with poor isolation and dirty.
Very dirty corridors.
Gym not included (11 Eur /day) but not worth it as most machines are broke.
Poor breakfast.
Needs a huge refurbishment.
Got burnt in shower as occasionally very hot water came out without notice.
No food after dinner time anywhere in the hotel. Since it is in the middle of nowhere, it is a problem if you are hungry or get there late.

In sum: Very cheap hotel but not worth the money. Do not be deceived by the 4 star classification. It is a poor 3 star at most.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joao_Mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestexperienceCapuc, Gerente de relações públicas at Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thanks for your opinion, this is very important for us as we always try to do it better.
We are very sorry that you have those problems, we will do our best to do it better in the future.

Melia Aldeia dos Capuchos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    221
    130
    63
    36
See reviews for
144
262
15
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Probably the best service I have ever received in a hotel, the staff are more than happy to go out of their way to ensure you are happy. All speak very good English. The rooms are of a good standard and cleaned well every day. The Club House restaurant is also excelled value, in the evening you can have 3 course set menu for €20 this includes as much wine as you wish - bargain! The food isn't going to win any awards but it is of a decent standard. I was staying in the hotel due to it being close to where I was working but if I'm honest there isn't much to do around the hotel, in fact nothing at all. But if you're here to enjoy the golf, spa and facilities it looks superb.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are larger, more of a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s14pel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestexperienceCapuc, Gerente de relações públicas at Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thanks for your opinion. This is very important for us.
We are very glad that all was ok.
Hope to see you soon

Melia Aldeia dos Capuchos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Melia providing high quality standarts worlwide. I was expecting to see those standarts, but in fact...
Room wasnt clean properly and i am wondering if they are using cemicals for cleaning??? In total room is awerage, but good things you have fully equipment kitchen and modern apartments.
Breakfast is average ok,but if you come at 10 you have to work hard to find cup for coffe or spoon and etc..
Specially I want to tell about waiters service at breakfast - they just laughing and discussed between each other every guest. Some waiters were eating breakfast together with guests.
I think its just not acceptable!
Reception work perfect- everything you need information you can get fast and exhaustively.
Hotel is very nice and location is good,but unfortunately poor service is making feel terribly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zanka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestexperienceCapuc, Gerente de relações públicas at Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thanks for your opinion. This is very important for us.
We are very sorry that you have those problems, we will send your message to the departments involved so we can do it better in the future.
Hope to see you soon

Melia Aldeia dos Capuchos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Costa da Caparica hotels

Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Its a four star hotel with good services but the room need some improvements, in the bathroom. I loved the breakfast but all days was the same food, they need more variety. Global i liled and i recommend the price was not very expensive. And a major in your choice, the hotel have indoor pool amd spa included in the price of the room.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TiagoGomes171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestexperienceCapuc, Gerente de relações públicas at Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thanks for your opinion. This is very important for us.
We are very sorry that you have those problems, we will send your message to the departments involved so we can do it better in the future.
Hope to see you soon

Melia Aldeia dos Capuchos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We went there with a group of golfers for a week, we arrived late, the check in took forever because there was only 1 person to do the check in at that time, around 8 in the evening. Finally we could go to our room but directly we had to go for dinner, otherwise the restaurant would be closed. When we came in the restaurant.....well i don't know how to say it....there was only 1 small buffet! So it didn't take long to pick something because there was no choice! We had 2 big tables and all you could hear at that time were complaints about the food, not a good start of our week!! The breakfast should be better we heard.... it was better yes, it least you could find anything you would like for breakfast. The golfcourse was good, it was only 9 holes but pleasant an d the weather was good. To eat something for lunch was....i don't have words for it, we went to the golfbar and ordered but it took about an hour to get the food which was cold and far from good!
Now the rooms were fine but not that clean, the minibar, which was empty by the way, was dirty, leftovers from the previous guests! I don't find that acceptable!!! There was a cleaning service every day but they did cut the corners! At least on the 5th floor....
Our week wasn't bad because we were there to golf but the food could be a lot better! It could be a nice hotel because they have everything, 2^pools inside and out, wellness, gym, golfcourse.....I really hope they will improve the service!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lunaBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestexperienceCapuc, Gerente de relações públicas at Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thanks for your opinion. This is very important for us.
We are very sorry that you have those problems, we will send your message to the departments involved so we can do it better in the future.

Hope to see you soon

Melia Aldeia dos Capuchos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Excellent hotel, one of the best I have stayed at. The rooms have a kitchen and a living area, everything is very clean. We stayed in a room facing the sea, so we had a great view from the balcony. We stayed here on Valentine's day (weekend) and everything was very romantic. The staff was kind. The hotel restaurant is very good, as well as the breakfast. There is parking out side the hotel. 10min drive to the beach in Costa da Caparica. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianaForbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestexperienceCapuc, Gerente de relações públicas at Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thanks for your opinion. This is very important for us.
We are very glad that all was ok.
Hope to see you soon

Melia Aldeia dos Capuchos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Münchendorf
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I have to confess that I know this hotel since several years and have used it frequently for me an my staff. So I made an special agreement with the management. The responsible sales manager need two or three reminding emails until you may get an answer. Requests for reservations are not answered in time or bookings are not done. Last time I ordered two suites but only one was available. Come on - that is no standard. And happened already twice. Ok - it is high season - but is the management on holidays too? At the reception there are still queues as I noticed also last year. Even in the quiet season they let you just wait and some of the staff members are really unfriendly too!
The room cleaning was unsufficient. In the kitchen and bathrooms we found uncleaned stuff. In the living room we have had a non ordered bed blocking all the space. It wasn´t removed during our short stay.
The restaurant I know already from last year and I don´t use it anymore. It delivers no relation between quality and price. Any fishermen place at the coastal area of Trafaria or Porto Brandao would be better and affordable even with Taxi. The breakfast was of average hotel standard but only if you are an early bird. In peak hours tables and stuff are running out. The bar area is still in the Lobby and by far too small for high season.
The Spa and fitness area was ok so far.
For me that hotel is only interesting because of my nearby business. For golfers it may also be nice. For families and vacations - there is the pool - but the nice beaches of Costa Caparica are miles away!
The last years I recognised a severe drop in service quality and performance. I´m shocked about unsufficient cleaning. It was just another piece in this puzzle that I caught a huge cockroach in the cellars underneath the restaurant area on the way to the outside pool.
I´m considering to take another hotel for my next stay.

Room Tip: ask for higher floors, only a few rooms have fronts towards west and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beywinkler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestexperienceCapuc, Gerente de relações públicas at Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thanks for your opinion, this is very important for us.
We are very sorry that you have those problems, we will do our best to do it better in the future.
We will copy your message with your complains to the departments involved.

Melia Aldeia dos Capuchos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa da Caparica
0.8 mi away
TRYP Lisboa Caparica Mar Hotel
TRYP Lisboa Caparica Mar Hotel
#5 of 6 in Costa da Caparica
128 reviews
5.7 mi away
Evidencia Belverde Atitude Hotel
20.4 mi away
Blue & Green Troia Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residencial Mar e Sol
Residencial Mar e Sol
#2 of 6 in Costa da Caparica
137 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Praia do Sol
Hotel Praia do Sol
#6 of 6 in Costa da Caparica
90 reviews
20.5 mi away
Aqualuz Suite Hotel Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa

Property: Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa
Address: Largo Aldeia dos Capuchos | Capuchos, Costa da Caparica 2825-017, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Setubal District > Costa da Caparica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Costa da Caparica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa Hotel is located in the historic town of Vila dos Capuchos, on the Costa Caparica, 20 kilometres to the south of Lisbon and provides magnificent ocean views. Only 20 minutes from Lisbon Airport, 10 minutes from centre of Lisbon and 3km from the beaches at Costa da Caparica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Aldeia Dos Capuchos Golf Hotel Lisbon
Melia Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing