We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst curry I have ever had”
Review of Indian Grill House

Indian Grill House
Price range: $9 - $17
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I normally don’t post reviews but I feel I have too as I am so disappointed with what I just experienced at this “curry house”.

I ordered one Chicken Madras, Tikka Masala and one Prawn curry, without a doubt the worst curry I have ever had and my family had the painful experience of eating it also.

The chicken masala first of all, the bag was burst as I opened it at home and this bag was not shaked around as I walked with it home to my apartment around two minutes away. The chicken was tasteless, the sauce was lovely along with the rice but the actual chicken was tasteless.

The prawn curry was the worst, it was so over cooked that it tasted like rubber and was not eatable, very disappointing considering that this curry on its own without rice was €13 euros so not cheap.

The madras chicken was also tasteless, the chicken felt recooked, sauce has no flavour and no spice.

Overall a shocking experience, I have visited this curry house for over 5 years everyone I visited Portugal but this experience will mean it will be my last and I would never recommend for anyone to go through the pain of eating with what they consider Indian cuisine, which they are charging top prices for, 3 curry’s and two rice for €45 euros takeaway!!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank paulocorreia96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 183 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2019

The food I had was excellent (my parents food not that much), but too bad the service was terrible. Let me give you examples :
- My starters arrived 5 minutes after my pare ts starters
- The waitor didn't serve me the right naan, so I had to order it again
- The waitor waited for us to order, but didn't serve us our drinks
- At the end we ordered coffees and the bill, and he just brought us the bill
- The whole time, he was looking at his smartphone and chilling instead of taking care of his customers.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Amandine_Pf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
905mannis, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Indian Grill House, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2019

Hello dear,

Let me explain to you, yours examples:

-we make everything at time, and sometimes food take time to preparing...maybe the starter you had take more time than your parents starter took.

-Maybe he served right naan or maybe you ordered wrong naan.

-you told him to wait....so he was waiting, that’s why he didn’t served the drinks.

-yes, you’re right he forgot about coffees, we sorry about it, restaurant was so full that night..so it’s just happened.

-Maybe you saw him checking the reservations or getting orders from clients to take away.

Anyway, thks for comment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2019

Read mixed reviews prior to visiting this restaurant but went with open mind as I love to eat and cook Indian cuisine. On the plus side it was a lovely atmospheric space with very friendly staff. I was not impressed with the food. We had poppadons to start and they did not taste or look good. I can only assume that they used oil that had already been in use as the poppadoms tasted strange and were quite brown in contrast to the normal golden colour. We both had a curry; a spicy prawn and a mild chicken korma. The sauce was like soup and was dreadful. This was probably one of the worst experiences of Indian food and an insult to Indian cusine which when done properly is in my view one of life's culinary delights.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Maura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
905mannis, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Indian Grill House, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2019
Google Translation

Ola querida Moura,

Há muito tipos de paperdams ou melhor como você escreveu poppadons, por engano eles entregaram os outros...por exemplo: uns ficam brancos, uns ficam castanhos e outros dourados etc....todos com sabores e ingredientes diferentes, o sabor que calhou a você era mesmo assim é não por falta de trocar o óleo!!

Como você disse percebe muito da cozinha, também deve saber que os pratos indianos de Camroes são bons quando comemos logo e não dar uma dentada hora em hora.

Obg por comentário
Cumprimentos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2019 via mobile

I really loved my dinner there tonight. I had daal soup and butter lamb that fell apart as it was so tender. Had pappadums to start with 3 different sauces that were each delicious and not added to my bill. I may have some spelling errors in my review of the Indian Grill but they serve up really nice food.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank gonagain2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2019 via mobile

Naan bread needed more taste (salt?). New dish I tried was vegetarian with spinach. It was a green sauce, like it was done in the mixer. White rice was served but was not enough to mix with the sauce. All in all a bit disappointing.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank MarcoStosic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Grill House also viewed

Costa da Caparica, Setubal District
Costa da Caparica, Setubal District
 
Costa da Caparica, Setubal District
Costa da Caparica, Setubal District
 
Costa da Caparica, Setubal District
Almada, Setubal District
 

Been to Indian Grill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing