We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and clean”
Review of Hotel Praia do Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Praia do Sol
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Basic and clean”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Basic clean hotel with friendly cheerful staff. The location is about five minutes walk from the beach and about the same the other way to a small charming square. Our room was quite small and the view was not the best we have ever had but for a cheap break away is was ok. The one bad point without any doubt was the breakfast, it was terrible. So we had breakfast in a very good cafe on the way down to the square on the left (Forgot the name). Costa da Caparica is an ideal place for a city / beach break, Lisbon is short bus ride then ferry trip away. Probaly would not stay at Praia Do Sol again but apart from breakfast can not fault the place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank damian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    32
    27
    14
    16
See reviews for
16
43
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orkelljunga, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

A clean and basic hotel on the pedestrian street in Costa da Caparica, 2minutes from the beach. The area is nice and busy. There are a lot of shops and restaurants and people. It feels safe around the clock too. We stayed here last summer and came back again this summer. We are still very happy with the location, the service and the room! The train will take you along the coastline so that you can take a swim in the very cold water. Refreshing though! You can get a safe for a small fee per day and the room has a tv and a desk and a bed +aircon. The bathroom is big for a 2star hotel and there is always hot water. We stayed away from the breakfast and as usual we had fantastic breakfasts just around the corner in different coffeshops. There is wifi in the hotel now and the only thing missing now is a fridge!
Make sure that you go to the fantastic japanese restaurant called Fuji. It is on the same street as the hotel. We are still happy with the hotel and would go back again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anette12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Not a nice area, rats running around at night as well as a few drunks here and there. The room was cramped, dull, old and smelly (cigarettes). The towels were old, worn and frayed. The toilet rocked when sat on.
The price advertised at the hotel for bed and breakfast was the same price that we paid for bed only from a website ending in "advisor". When we asked if we could go to a better room, we were told that they were all the same, not so, I saw one that was a lot brighter and cleaner.
I have stayed in Lisbon before and I have had a lot better for the same money in the centre of town. When I booked this I must have had a brainstorm as I didn't check the location (remote) but I can't be blamed for the dodgy room as they looked alright on the photo's.

Room Tip: Go for another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robinbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Costa da Caparica hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
canvey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

just returned from this hotel needs a complete refurb states it is a 2 star but is more like a hostel/pension very old and tired the rooms we had were more like boxes smelling of old tobaco and the window looked out to an inside staicase and barbed wire asked for another room but was told they were all the same not true we had room no116 and 216 old beds covered in plastic very uncomfortable was glad we had only booked 2 days we were visiting lisbon totaley unsuitable as it is 8 kms from the centre .area not very nice either suggest you use an ibis or similar same price and modern.

Room Tip: not 116 or 216
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wavestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orkelljunga, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We arrived late to the airport and because there was no map in our rental car and we refused to get a gps for 18 Euros a day! it took some time to find the place. As soon as we got to the hotel they had maps for us so don't rent a gps-you'll manage with a map!!
The people working in the hotel were very nice and helpful-the best! I lost my key to my suitcase into the safe( beware there are nooks and crannies that small things can go into!)they really hellped! We had a basic and clean room with a nice balcony. Don't eat the breakfast!! It's very basic and not worth the 5 Euoros that it costs! Just go outside and pick any cafe and you'll have a great breakfast! The hotel has a perfect location right on the pedestrian street with all the shops and just a 2 minute walk to the beach. The sea is very cold though!! You can take the train along the beach if you want to go further away too or like we did-drive along the coast.
They have free parking at the hotel, but it's often full and there are plenty of spaces all around the area. We always found a space close by.
A do not miss, is the restaurant Fuji that is on the same street as the hotel. We ate there the first day and ended up going back every day!! It's all you can eat and you order what you want from their list for 9.90!! Their chicken teriaki and sushi are the best I've ever eaten!!! You can just go for fried meat or fish if you want to but do not miss it!!!
We had our car to go into Lissabon for sightseeing and dancing kizomba(free lesson before the dancing starts at barrio latino!) but there are buses too.
Don't forget to get a bottle of wine, bread and some fantastic cheese(the round ones..) and have a picknick on the beach!!
If you look around a bit it's cheap to eat and drink in portugal, especially compared to Spain. We had coffees for 0.65 E in Portugal and 2.50E in Spain... A pint is about 1E in both places if you aren't in an overly touristic place! And the local wine is great!!
A basic hotel, clean and nice with great staff and perfect location. Would definately stay there again!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anette12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

The room was nice and was cleaned to a good standard every day. The staff were really friendly and very helpful. They went out of their way to help us get around. The breakfast was average but not bad for the money. The hotel is only two minutes walk from the beach. Which is nice and sandy but the water was a big rough. It takes a bit of time getting to Lisbon there is a bus and short ferry ride. This is great if you want a beach holiday with a bit of sightseeing but not so good if you wanted to spend a lot of time is Lisbon as it is costly. The bus there is only 15/20 mins but coming back later you have to catch a different one that goes all round the houses and takes 45 mins. I really liked this hotel and think its great if you want a relaxing holiday. I wouldn't want to stay in Caparica again as the town is too quiet for me there are some restaurants and shops but not much else in the way of entertainment.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melmo_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2009

The location is good.Many nearby restaurants,gelato shops,4 minute walk to beach,and 3 blocks from bus routes to lisbon.The check in process was over 20 minutes as the older man could not seem to figure out how to process our orbitz booking.He would not ask for help,but then a younger man in the back office came out and proved to be very capable and helpful in giving area and bus advice.
The room was small and the bathroom shower was very small.Room was clean and daily maid service was good. No ice machine.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheapgreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa da Caparica
0.2 mi away
TRYP Lisboa Caparica Mar Hotel
TRYP Lisboa Caparica Mar Hotel
#5 of 6 in Costa da Caparica
139 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa
Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa
#1 of 6 in Costa da Caparica
588 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residencial Colibri
Hotel Residencial Colibri
#3 of 6 in Costa da Caparica
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residencial Mar e Sol
Residencial Mar e Sol
#2 of 6 in Costa da Caparica
141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#4 of 6 in Costa da Caparica
52 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mercure Lisboa Almada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praia do Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praia do Sol

Property: Hotel Praia do Sol
Address: Rua dos Pescadores 12, Costa da Caparica 2825-386, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Setubal District > Costa da Caparica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Costa da Caparica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Praia do Sol 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Praia do Sol is a 2-star Art Deco property located in the heart of Costa da Caparica village, just 15 Km from Lisbon and 100 m from one of the largest beaches in Portugal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Praia do Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praia Do Sol Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing