We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not as good as before.”
Review of Napoli

Napoli
Price range: $18 - $24
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good but not as good as before.”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We visited this restaurant twice in 2005. I really loved it then. I was looking forward to the revisit and we went and booked a table for the following night. We chose to sit indoors and I remembered it from before but felt it was a little darker, perhaps the tablecloths were brighter then, or maybe I just remember it as brighter!

The staff were good and very attentive. I liked the bucket whick arrived with little pieces of toast, bread rolls and the usual packets of Italian bread sticks. There were two nice dips as well as a glass each of muscatel.

I made a mistake in ordering my starter, I ordered a prawn cocktail based on my memory of this seven years ago! Then the prawns were warm and juicy with very little cocktail sauce, now the prawns were in their shells (half shelled) and there were about four of them in masses of sauce. My partner had a lovely bruschetta which was enormous. For main course I ordered a curry risotto which was ok not great....again the prawns in the disth were half shelled. The other main course was a lasagne which was "fine". We also had a dessert, an average tiramisu - very cakey, and a lovely chocolate mousse which was very moreish!!

The attention of the staff is excellent and the food, while good is quite average. There are lovely touches in the service. I was presented with a white carnation on leaving and it is not expensive. The meal for two of us with a bottle of wine was around €40.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iosaif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    86
    36
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Resturant - A Must While in Costa da Caprica”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Only stayed a week in late October and the food here was excellent so good we went back 3 times in that one week - Take my advice GO there !!!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bingleyboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good but not great Italian food.”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Napoli falls short of an authentically great or above average Italian restaurant, but as far as I could tell this was one of the only or the only one Italian restaurant in town. Many of the dishes are drowned in cheeses which may make them tastier but is not my style. It was more like a chain Italian restaurant I shall not name than real Italian cuisine. Also, the odd artwork in the bathrooms did not really fit the whole theme of the place and one would think it would be deemed unsuitable for children. Animal cartoon sex really has no place in a restaurant or maybe I am just old fashioned.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank krazeyraze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed May 13, 2011

We had a table for 4 at this restaurant which started out with a good feel. The inside had a nice feel and the menu was quite good. However the staff were so dull it was uncomfortable, they could not have been more dreary if they tried. The food was ok nothing to shout about, the water had no ice and was full of herbs and lemon, when we asked for some ice water, it never came!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pedro28Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money, great ambiance, wonderful food”
Reviewed December 7, 2010

This is family owned, you feel like you have come home. It is situated not far from the beach but can be hard to find, worth asking the way. Can't recommend it enough

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlojoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Napoli also viewed

Costa da Caparica, Setubal District
Costa da Caparica, Setubal District
 
Costa da Caparica, Setubal District
Costa da Caparica, Setubal District
 

Been to Napoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing