We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent place to relax” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quinta da Geia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quinta da Geia
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2010

We went 4 days to Hotel Rural Quinta da Geia and it was the best small hotel we ever have been in Portugal. Everything was there to make your stay perfect. Good restaurant, big swimmingpool, special decorations, friendly staff. We would recomend this hotel to all our friends.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kikexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    39
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
44
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

My wife and I have stayed 28 times in this hotel since 2001. It is charming, staff is friendly and, within limitations of language and sometimes culture are all trying hard to please guests. Food is sometimes different from the usual Portuguese fare.If you seek tranquility and relaxation this is the place to be providing providing excellent value.
The Portuguese "gentleman" who placed a very negative review of this hotel, above, is doing this on the basis of having been thrown out for persistent drunken behaviour and attemting to buy certain substances for which he sollicited assistance from staff. It is regrettable that appropriate action by the management (removing this boor from the premises) is dubbed racism and caused other unfounded statements. I am in no way related to anybody in this hotel, have no financial interests or any other relationship, other than being a very satisfied customer.
I am sad that the operator of this site has not yet removed this loony and very bad mannered person from these pages.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookbookcharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

We had never visited this part of Portugal and I found it absolutely beautiful and this hotel is located right in the middle of it with views overlooking the valley and if you hike up to the nearest mountains you have even more incredible views. The hotel is reasonably prized and the rooms are reasonable in size even if you get the cheapest room. The bathroom in our room however could use some upgrades and paint, but everything else was fine. The hotel has a pool, one freely accessible computer with internet and a restaurant. Breakfast was ok, it was only a bit of a pity that everything seemed fresh except for the cake which for me is always the finishing touch to a breakfast but in this case I let it pass.
Note: This is not a typical Portuguese hotel and around every corner you are confronted with Dutch people, either the owners or visitors, or with Dutch influences like the way the food in the restaurant is presented or the fact that the leaflet with the walks came on several previously used crumpled A4s which we had to give back as well (as everyone knows the Dutch can be stingy!), so if you are looking for a local experience this isn't it!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosmos_Estrela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

I have visited Quinta da Geia many times over the past years and have NEVER been let down. This is the most amazing hotel, situated in a beautiful part of Portugal. I found the food excelent and the Portuguese and Dutch staff friendly and 'bend-over-backwards' helpful. They are extreemly accomodating and will do everything they can to make your stay as pleasent as possible.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Exie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2010

I’ve stayed at Quinta da Geia a number of times over the years, whilst helping my brother out on a project over there. I thought it would be good to finally write them a review! I’ve always stayed in one of their apartments, which had an open log fire in the lounge, 3 bedrooms (1-ensuite) and a small kitchenette. The décor is ‘rustic chic’, as is the rest of the hotel, with its artwork and antique furnishings. It was more like staying in my own apartment, like home from home – except for the amazing surroundings! The hotel is really beautiful and the perfect place to stay if you want to explore Central Portugal and the Serra de Estrela mountain range. The views from the hotel gardens and outdoor pool are truly stunning! The bar and restaurant was also good, which is important as the local area does not have too much to choose from! The bar/café is also open to the local people from the village, which I think is really important. The Dutch owners have done a great job of integrating their business into `Aldeia das Dez’, employing mainly local Portuguese people and are really welcoming to everyone. You come away feeling like you’ve shared a part of their everyday life and home, as well as the relaxing village life in Portugal!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbunny2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

I spent with my family the night of 24 to 25 of December on this Hotel.
The hotel is a nice and beautifull place, however the manager is the worst person to deal with public and civilized persons. It is a very rude man, a racist, and insult all the non dutch people who was on the hotel, acording to their nationatlity. This man insulted childs fron 2 years old to old people up to 93 years old.
He even try to beat a teenager. It seems like a predator who chose is victims.
The owner, is rude and behave like a animal. A place to avoid, specialy if you have childs or older people.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roninx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2008

This hotel was recommended by a friend who has a house locally. It is in a beautiful area of the country, The hotels has superb views over the Seirra do Estrella mountains. The hotel is very rustic but comfortable. We had a large room with a queen size four poster bed and a balcony with views cross the countryside and mountains. The hotel has a pool area, beautiful gardens and a terrace for drinks and meals. The hotel food is good with a great wine list. It is in a small village and ideal for exploring villages and countryside. A great place to relax after being in Porto or Coimibra. The hotel staff are friendly and knowledgable about the area and can recommend local walks.
It is good value for money and romantic
Only a couple of things- 1. No satellite TV ( the US Open was on and we wanted to watch the Murray vs Federe final), but in this day and age satellite TV is standard for any hotel. 2. Breakfast was boring and limited and lacked variety, which is fine for couple of days but beyond this can be off putting (there are only so many jam butties you can eat!) ,
We can recommend this hotel. Enjoy.
Pam & Lee, London

  • Liked — 4 poster bed and views
  • Disliked — no satellite tv and boring breakfasts
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pampamlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oliveira do Hospital
23.4 mi away
Casa Lagar da Alagoa
Casa Lagar da Alagoa
#1 of 3 in Serra da Estrela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
17.5 mi away
Pousada da Serra da Estrela
13.4 mi away
Hotel Pantanha Apartamentos
Hotel Pantanha Apartamentos
#3 of 3 in Canas de Senhorim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
O Alambique de Ouro Hotel Resort & Spa
13.9 mi away
Abrigo da Montanha Hotel Rural & Spa
19.1 mi away
TRYP Covilha Dona Maria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta da Geia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Geia

Property: Quinta da Geia
Address: Largo do Terreiro do Fundo do Lugar | Aldeia das Dez, Oliveira do Hospital 3400-214, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Oliveira do Hospital
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oliveira do Hospital
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta da Geia 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Quinta da Geia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing