We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired”
Review of Quinta da Geia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quinta da Geia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Needs modernising and updating. Good pool and location but very tired and poor food. After arriving from a Hotel in nearby Cedeira Arganil this was a disappointment.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrandMrsSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 113 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2011

Just like to say on behalf of our group, thank you for a very pleasant stay at the Hotel.
The rooms are excellent, food excellent and the location, well excellent.
Also all the people that made the stay memorable, even if it was only one night.
We hope to be back in the future, so you are in the address book.

Hope you all have a great summer.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillS1200RT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2010

We went 4 days to Hotel Rural Quinta da Geia and it was the best small hotel we ever have been in Portugal. Everything was there to make your stay perfect. Good restaurant, big swimmingpool, special decorations, friendly staff. We would recomend this hotel to all our friends.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kikexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

My wife and I have stayed 28 times in this hotel since 2001. It is charming, staff is friendly and, within limitations of language and sometimes culture are all trying hard to please guests. Food is sometimes different from the usual Portuguese fare.If you seek tranquility and relaxation this is the place to be providing providing excellent value.
The Portuguese "gentleman" who placed a very negative review of this hotel, above, is doing this on the basis of having been thrown out for persistent drunken behaviour and attemting to buy certain substances for which he sollicited assistance from staff. It is regrettable that appropriate action by the management (removing this boor from the premises) is dubbed racism and caused other unfounded statements. I am in no way related to anybody in this hotel, have no financial interests or any other relationship, other than being a very satisfied customer.
I am sad that the operator of this site has not yet removed this loony and very bad mannered person from these pages.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cookbookcharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We had never visited this part of Portugal and I found it absolutely beautiful and this hotel is located right in the middle of it with views overlooking the valley and if you hike up to the nearest mountains you have even more incredible views. The hotel is reasonably prized and the rooms are reasonable in size even if you get the cheapest room. The bathroom in our room however could use some upgrades and paint, but everything else was fine. The hotel has a pool, one freely accessible computer with internet and a restaurant. Breakfast was ok, it was only a bit of a pity that everything seemed fresh except for the cake which for me is always the finishing touch to a breakfast but in this case I let it pass.
Note: This is not a typical Portuguese hotel and around every corner you are confronted with Dutch people, either the owners or visitors, or with Dutch influences like the way the food in the restaurant is presented or the fact that the leaflet with the walks came on several previously used crumpled A4s which we had to give back as well (as everyone knows the Dutch can be stingy!), so if you are looking for a local experience this isn't it!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cosmos_Estrela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

I have visited Quinta da Geia many times over the past years and have NEVER been let down. This is the most amazing hotel, situated in a beautiful part of Portugal. I found the food excelent and the Portuguese and Dutch staff friendly and 'bend-over-backwards' helpful. They are extreemly accomodating and will do everything they can to make your stay as pleasent as possible.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

I’ve stayed at Quinta da Geia a number of times over the years, whilst helping my brother out on a project over there. I thought it would be good to finally write them a review! I’ve always stayed in one of their apartments, which had an open log fire in the lounge, 3 bedrooms (1-ensuite) and a small kitchenette. The décor is ‘rustic chic’, as is the rest of the hotel, with its artwork and antique furnishings. It was more like staying in my own apartment, like home from home – except for the amazing surroundings! The hotel is really beautiful and the perfect place to stay if you want to explore Central Portugal and the Serra de Estrela mountain range. The views from the hotel gardens and outdoor pool are truly stunning! The bar and restaurant was also good, which is important as the local area does not have too much to choose from! The bar/café is also open to the local people from the village, which I think is really important. The Dutch owners have done a great job of integrating their business into `Aldeia das Dez’, employing mainly local Portuguese people and are really welcoming to everyone. You come away feeling like you’ve shared a part of their everyday life and home, as well as the relaxing village life in Portugal!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbunny2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oliveira do Hospital
0.8 mi away
Alva Valley Hotel
Alva Valley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oliveira do Hospital
56 reviews
17.6 mi away
Pousada Serra da Estrela
23.4 mi away
Casa Lagar da Alagoa
Casa Lagar da Alagoa
#1 of 3 in Serra da Estrela
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Luna Serra da Estrela
Luna Serra da Estrela
#2 of 3 in Serra da Estrela
244 reviews
19.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Eufemia
Hotel Santa Eufemia
#5 of 10 in Covilha
211 reviews
21.6 mi away
O Alambique de Ouro Hotel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta da Geia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Geia

Address: Largo do Terreiro do Fundo do Lugar | Aldeia das Dez, Oliveira do Hospital 3400-214, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Oliveira do Hospital
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Oliveira do Hospital
Price Range: $95 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta da Geia 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Quinta da Geia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing