We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Monte Rei Golf & Country Club
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,168 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“World Class”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Primarily it is a Golf and Country Club, but not like anywhere else in the Iberian Peninsula...other than Valderama in Spain, It is the best of the best, with one of Jack Nicklaus's great course layouts. A true test, but also very pleasurable for the higher handicap golfer as well. If you want to spoil yourself, rent one of the million euro villas, for a few nights. Very reasonable packages are available. The staff were unbelievably polite and efficient, even although we did experience a few rude golfers, who obviously left their manners behind somewhere !!!! The condition of the course was excellent, as it always has been, in my opinion.
Apart from the golf, Lora and Jamie Perez, (chef @ El Bulli before closure) run a Food and Beverage operation that is genuinely worthy of at least 2 Michelin Stars.....it is that good. The Vistas restaurant de gustation menu, is the best food I have eaten for a few years and is comparable with Michel Roux...at his best. Only at a fraction of the cost !!!!! Worth the airfare alone......if only it was open on more days of the week. I could go on and on,praising the staff and facilities, but won't.....go and see it for yourself, I am sure you won't be disappointed. As my wife said, Five Star Far East Service in The Algarve.......

Room Tip: Book when the Vistas Restaurant is open and enjoy the gastronomic experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gastronaut_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador L, General Manager at Monte Rei Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay at Monte Rei Golf & Country Club here in Tripadvisor.

I am extremely pleased to read that you truly enjoyed a great stay with us and that you position our golf and culinary experiences amongst the very best!

Your feedback has been shared with all our team who really appreciated your review.

With regards to your tip to other visitors, I would just like to add that we still offer our guests the possibility of enjoying a degustation menu prepared by our Chef Jaime Perez. during the winter months when our Vistas Restaurant is closed to the general public.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our Resort again soon.

Kind regards.

Salvador Lucena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    9
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
50
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Let's be clear I am commenting from predominantly a golfing experience and a bar/snack perspective.
This was our 4 th visit so we are able to compare and contrast.
I started to wonder when we arrived and were greeted by a rather surly and condescending lady in the pro shop who to be honest made us feel like turning around and walking out and would have done if we hadn't been here before so hopefully the course director will address customer service with the staff.
Golfing wise the attendants are knowledgeable and cannot be criticised but again small detail overall such as complimentary course planners led us to feel less special than previous years (if you have been before you will know what I mean) .
Course wise the course was ok , bearing in mind the green fees.
Condition wise quinta da ria was much much better this year and most other years has been comparable tbh.
Bar setting is nice and drinks and food are good but what you would expect for the price.
Might seem harsh this year but management need to maintain and dare i say improve, after all you don't need to travel too far, either side of the border for great golf and service.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penrhynbayred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador L, General Manager at Monte Rei Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We very much appreciate your feedback and I would like to assure you that it has been shared with our team members.

I take this opportunity to explain that it is our objective to provide the best service experience in the most friendly manner, and we certainly make it a point with our staff to make sure there is no trace of arrongance or pretentiousness in all of our service interaction.

With regards to our course guides, we have a substantial number of repeat clients in our golf course and it is our procedure to ask our repeat clients if they wish to have another course guide.

Again, thank you for your feedback, it is a great help to achieve the excellence that we permanently seek.

Myself and the entire team look very much forward to welcome you again in our resort very soon.

Kind regards,

Salvador Lucena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bletchingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Having played virtually all the Algarve courses over recent years - Monte Rei must rank number one on all sorts of levels. The course, its architecture and golfing challenge is something to behold although I would say that for Golfers above about 14 handicap it will be a bit of a challenge. I played off the whites which were lovely, the championship blues looked even better.

The customer service and experience was most impressive without being in any way nauseous.

I have a villa 35 minutes away and I look forward to my next holiday excuse for another round, which whilst expensive, is value for money.

Jeremy Waud

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level Contributor
452 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Went to a 2 day wedding here - the best ever - the food, service, entertainment etc were unbelievable. We stayed 2 days in a 3 bed villa, that was fab too.They can't do enough for you - the staff were fantastic, everything was faultless...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in September 2013, and the place is stunning, absolutely faultless.

Our apartment had 3 double bedrooms (2 en-suite, 2 with balconies, 1 double aspect), large communal living room (TV, sofa, dining table, chairs, fireplace, double aspect, patio etc), kitchen (cooker, fridge/freezer, Nespresso machine, kettle, filter coffee machine, iron, ironing board, washing machine etc), laundry room, heaps of storage space, garden, garage, driveway, basically EVERYTHING!
Anemities were all provided (Molton Brown toiletries, hairdryer, bathrobes/slippers, milk, bottled water, nespresso capsules - note, no tea bags).
The pool/bar is lovely, as are the tennis courts, spa and gymnasium. There's also a 'kids villa' with games consoles!
The MR complex is definitely a luxurious one, and has the associated price-tags - I would recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing break, leisure-break, romantic getaway, or just an excuse to flash-the-cash! Would not recommend for travellers looking for convenience, location or tight budgets. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oreo_jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Monte Rei Golf Course must be the best in Portugal.
From the minute you arrive until you leave it compares with the very best of Private Members Clubs anywhere.
Staff are well trained and the golf experience is wonderful, not one bad hole.
If you can afford the asking price, it is definitely worth it.

I would consider renting a villa in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stashic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Had a 4 night stay, which doubled as a "mini moon"! The accomodation is outstanding, we stayed in a 3 bedroom villa, which was spacious, luxurious and wonderfully comfortable! The quality of service is second to none, nothing seemed to be too much trouble. All staff were happy and friendly and knowledgable regarding the local area. The food is wonderful from the amazing breakfast, pool restaurant and main Club House restaurant Jaime Perez has delivered wonderfully! The golf course is amazing, a real stadium course, with excellent practice facilities, spectacular golf holes with wonderful views. You will need you "A" to score well, however it is a wonderful experience!!! We would and have recommended Monte Rei to all our friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Cacela
3.8 mi away
Robinson Club Quinta da Ria
Robinson Club Quinta da Ria
#1 of 2 in Vila Nova de Cacela
334 reviews
4.2 mi away
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castro Marim
244 reviews
3.8 mi away
Eurotel Altura
Eurotel Altura
#1 of 4 in Altura
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Vila Monte Farm House
Vila Monte Farm House
#1 of 4 in Moncarapacho
490 reviews
8.1 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
6.3 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#2 of 15 in Tavira
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Rei Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Rei Golf & Country Club

Property: Monte Rei Golf & Country Club
Address: Sitio do Pocinho | Sesmarias, Vila Nova de Cacela 8901-907, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vila Nova de Cacela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Vila Nova de Cacela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Rei Golf & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A choice of beautiful villas are available for short term rentals, making the ideal accommodation for families or friends who want to enjoy a world-class resort in a unique Algarvean setting. The villas offer all the comforts of a private home, whilst still providing guests with the services expected within a luxury hotel. At the heart of the village is Veranda, offering a restaurant and bar, swimming, tennis, gymnasium and spa facilities. Guests staying at Monte Rei will enjoy personalised service and privileged access to all of the resort’s facilities and state-of-the-art amenities – including fine dining at Vistas Restaurant, and our Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, recognised as the number one course in Portugal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Monte Rei Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Rei Golf & Country Club Algarve, Portugal - Vila Nova De Cacela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing